Best Employer of Record · Middle EastBest EOR for the Middle East: six priced
For one foreign engineer in Saudi Arabia at $60,000, the cheapest published route is RemoFirst at $5,497 a month all-in ($199 fee), then Rivermate from $349 ($5,647) and Pebl at $399 ($5,697), where Playroll's identical fee carries a deposit. Saudi statutory charges add 6.0% because a non-Saudi sits outside every social insurance branch except occupational hazards. The six priced below run from the UAE and Qatar, at least 2.9%, to Turkey at 23.8%.
Prices checked 2 Oct–3 Nov 2026 · updated 24 Sept 2026 · methodology
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
The ranking · 1 hire in Saudi Arabia at $60,000 gross / yr
12 providers with a published price, in the order the numbers put them.
| # | Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | all-in / mo | Deposit | Commitment | Countries | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | RemoFirst | from $199 | $5,497 | Deposit not stated | No minimum commitment stated | 185+ | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $5,497/mo |
| 2 | Rivermate | from $349 | $5,647 | Deposit not stated | Billing period not stated | 180+ | Get a quote from Rivermate· $5,647/mo |
| 3 | Pebl | from $399 | $5,697 | Deposit not stated | Billing period not stated | 185+ | Get a quote from Pebl· $5,697/mo |
| 4 | Playroll | from $399 | $5,697 | One month's salary, refundable≈ $5,000 for this hire | No minimum commitment stated | 180+ | Get a quote from Playroll· $5,697/mo |
| 5 | Multiplier | from $499$459 annual | $5,797 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Monthly or annual billing | 150+ | Get a quote from Multiplier· $5,797/mo |
| 6 | Papaya Global | from $499 | $5,797 | Deposit not stated | Billing period not stated | 160+ | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $5,797/mo |
| 7 | Borderless AI | $579 | $5,877 | At least 1.5 months' fully loaded cost by ACH (3 by wire), refundable≈ $8,816 for this hire | No minimum commitment stated | — | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $5,877/mo |
| 8 | Atlas HXM | from $599 | $5,897 | Deposit not stated | Billing period not stated | 160+ | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $5,897/mo |
| 9 | Deel | from $599 | $5,897 | Deposit not stated | Billing period not stated | 130+ | Get a quote from Deel· $5,897/mo |
| 10 | G-P | from $599 | $5,897 | Deposit not stated | No minimum commitment stated | 180+ | Get a quote from G-P· $5,897/mo |
| 11 | Remote | from $599 | $5,897 | No standard deposit stated | 12-month minimum | 90+ | Get a quote from Remote· $5,897/mo |
| 12 | Oyster | $699 | $5,997 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Monthly or annual billing, annual discount not published | 120+ | Get a quote from Oyster· $5,997/mo |
| — | Rippling | Quote only | $5,298 + quote | Deposit not stated | Billing period not stated | — | Get a quote from Rippling |
| — | Safeguard Global | Quote only | $5,298 + quote | Deposit not stated | Billing period not stated | 187+ | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Rule. Sorted by the all-in monthly cost of the scenario (gross salary + statutory employer charges + published EOR fee). Providers without a published price are listed last, unranked. Fees are the prices printed on each pricing page, read 2 Oct–3 Nov 2026; "from" prices vary by country. Deposits, FX margins and add-ons are shown as stated and are not added to the totals. Unranked: Rippling, Safeguard Global (no published EOR price).
Cost engine · preset to this scenario
Change the country, the salary or the headcount; the order may change too.
≈ SAR 225,000 gross / year · SAR at the official Saudi Central Bank (SAMA) parity
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $5,000 | |
| GOSI occupational hazards and additional compensations of basic | 2% | $90 |
| End-of-service award, first five years (provision) | 4.17% | $208 |
| Employer on-cost | at least +6.0% | $298 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $5,298 |
$5,497/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $65,968
- Fee share
- 3.6%
Checked 3 Nov 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$5,647/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $349
- Per year
- $67,768
- Fee share
- 6.2%
Checked 3 Nov 2026
Get a Rivermate quote$5,697/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $399
- Per year
- $68,368
- Fee share
- 7.0%
Checked 3 Nov 2026
Get a Pebl quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
Three picks, three situations.
-
#1
RemoFirst
$5,497/ month, 1 hire in Saudi Arabia
- Fee
- from $199 / employee / mo
- Fee share
- 3.6% of the invoice
Choose RemoFirst if the fee is the line you are minimising, which is the usual case in the Gulf: $199 starting price in 185+ countries, no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contract, $25 per contractor. RemoFirst says the price may vary by country, so ask for the Saudi, Emirati and Qatari figures in writing rather than the starting one.
Checked 3 Nov 2026
Get a quote from RemoFirst· $5,497/mo -
#2
Rivermate
$5,647/ month, 1 hire in Saudi Arabia
- Fee
- from $349 / employee / mo
- Fee share
- 6.2% of the invoice
Choose Rivermate if you want a second low quote and are hiring expatriates rather than nationals, which in the Gulf is the normal case: from $349 per employee per month in 180+ countries, with the price varying by country, headcount and expat versus local hire. Deposit and billing period are not stated.
Checked 3 Nov 2026
Get a quote from Rivermate· $5,647/mo -
#3
Pebl
$5,697/ month, 1 hire in Saudi Arabia
- Fee
- from $399 / employee / mo
- Fee share
- 7.0% of the invoice
Choose Pebl if the provider costs more than the country and you want that line as low as it can honestly go. In the UAE the statutory charge is about $156 a month against fees of $199 to $699, so the fee is the bill. Pebl's $399 is $200 above RemoFirst and $300 below Oyster there. Its pricing page states nothing about visa sponsorship, permits or mandatory health cover, which in the Gulf are the real per-head costs — get them quoted separately before comparing anyone's fee.
Checked 3 Nov 2026
Get a quote from Pebl· $5,697/mo
Three of these six ledgers are not taxes
The country table prices one employee at each country’s example salary through the three picks, and the statutory column is where the region stops behaving like Europe. In Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Qatar, a foreign employee generates almost no contribution to a state fund. Articles 14(1) and 43(1) of the Saudi Social Insurance Law make the annuities and unemployment branches mandatory for Saudi employees and workers, so for a foreign hire the employer pays GOSI 2% for occupational hazards and nothing else; the annuities share (10% since 1 July 2026 for a Saudi first insured from 3 July 2024, 9% for one insured before) and the 0.75% unemployment share a Saudi national costs do not arise. Article 51(2) of the Emirati Labour Relations Decree-Law gives the foreign worker an end-of-service gratuity in place of the pension legislation that applies to a national. Qatar’s retirement law is written, in its own words, for “the Qatari beneficiary”.
What the employer carries instead is an accrual. Twenty-one days of basic wage for each of the first five years in the UAE, three weeks a year in Qatar, half a month a year in Saudi Arabia: money owed to the employee at the end, not money remitted to a fund each month. Two consequences follow, and neither is visible in a percentage. The first is that somebody is holding it. If the provider accrues the gratuity on your invoice, ask what happens to the balance if you move the employee to another provider or to an entity of your own, and whether the accrual is funded or merely booked — the UAE has already answered that question for one jurisdiction, since a DIFC employer must pay at least 5.83% of basic wage into a funded qualifying scheme every month rather than accrue it. The second is that the base is basic wage, not the package.
That is why the UAE and Qatar figures are written as floors rather than totals (Israel’s is a floor for a different reason, below). Neither Emirati nor Qatari law fixes what share of a package basic pay must be, and the gratuity is computed on basic pay alone, so an identical salary split differently produces a different bill. This site models an even split and says so, which turns the UAE’s 5.75% of basic and Qatar’s 5.77% into about 2.9% of the whole package. Move the split to 70% basic and the same hire costs about 4% of package. Qatar contains the contradiction in one article: article 54 settles the gratuity on “the last Basic Wage”, while the minimum it guarantees is expressed in “Remuneration”, which article 1 defines to include every allowance on top. Saudi Arabia is modelled at 90% of gross rather than an even split, because GOSI charges basic pay plus the housing allowance and that is the share Deel’s own Saudi page implies.
Jordan, Israel and Turkey are the region’s ordinary ledgers
They are also the three that make the Gulf figures legible by contrast. Jordan is the Gulf rule reversed. Its employer pays 14.25% of gross to the Social Security Corporation — 11% for old age, disability and death, 2% work injury, 0.75% maternity and 0.5% unemployment — for foreign and Jordanian employees alike, on pay up to JOD 3,733 a month in 2026. Article 32 of the Labour Law then owes an end-of-service award only to a worker who is not covered by social security, so an insured hire accrues none: the contribution replaces the gratuity instead of sitting beside it. Israel reaches 15.2% at $75,000 and about two-fifths of that (6.4 points) is national insurance — 4.51% on the first ILS 7,703 of monthly pay and 7.6% above it. The rest is a compulsory pension at 6.5% and a severance provision at 6%, both of them, again, deferred pay to the employee rather than a state charge, and the severance owed above the provision on a dismissal is why the Israel page treats its figure as a floor.
Turkey runs a conventional social-insurance ledger too: 12% pension, 7.5% general health insurance, 2.25% for the work-accident branch and 2% unemployment, 23.75% of gross with no ceiling in sight at an engineering salary. It carries a discount most comparisons quote and this site does not: article 81(ı) of act 5510 has the Treasury cover part of the employer’s pension share, but only while the employer owes SGK nothing in premiums, fines or interest. Under an employer of record the legal employer is the provider, so you inherit the provider’s compliance record rather than building your own — and the support was cut from four points to two with effect from 1 January 2026. The ledger here carries the undiscounted rate, and a provider that promises you the two points should be asked to put its SGK standing in writing.
Where the fee sits in the invoice
In Saudi Arabia the state adds 6.0%, so a $500 gap between the cheapest and the dearest published fee is 9% of the monthly invoice. In the UAE at $65,000 the statutory charge is about $156 a month against fees of $199 to $699: the provider costs more than the country does, and by a wide margin. In Jordan at $24,000 the statutory charge is about $285 a month, above a $199 fee and below a $699 one. In Turkey at $30,000 the same $500 is 15% of a $3,293 invoice, but the statutory charge is $594 and the arithmetic reverses — the country costs more than the provider.
That is the practical rule for this region. Where the ledger is an end-of-service accrual, shop the fee hard, because the fee is the cost; where it is social insurance, as in Jordan, Turkey and Israel, the fee matters less than the base it is charged on. Both RemoFirst and Rivermate publish “from” prices that they say vary by country, and the Gulf is exactly the kind of market where a starting price and a quoted price diverge, because the visa work behind each hire is real and is not free. Ask for the country figure, not the headline one.
The costs that are not percentages
Nothing on this page prices a work permit, and in the Gulf the permit is the point. A foreign employee is resident on a sponsorship the legal employer holds, which is why the entity that owns the quota is the entity that employs — and why the entity-versus-provider question in Riyadh, Dubai and Doha is not the question it is in Warsaw. Saudi Arabia grades an establishment by the share of Saudis it employs under Nitaqat, and a first foreign hire into a new entity with no Saudi staff is the hardest case that system produces; article 40 of the Labour Law puts the visa, iqama and quota fees on the employer. Saudi Arabia’s 2024 labour amendments also added a definition of “Assignment” to article 2 — the service of providing a worker to work for a person other than the employer, through an establishment licensed for the purpose — which is the first time Saudi law names the arrangement an employer of record relies on.
The lead times follow from the same fact. Deel quotes 15 days to a first Qatari start and 20 days for both Saudi Arabia and the UAE, against one to five business days in Israel. Mandatory health cover is priced per person in every Gulf state on this page, and repatriation sits on the employer. Jordan prices its permit outright: JOD 350 a year for most non-Jordanian workers under its work-permit fee regulation, as the Ministry of Labour’s guide of 20 August 2026 reproduces it, with engineering roles also needing the Jordan Engineers Association’s prior approval. None of those fall as the salary rises, which is the opposite of how the percentage behaves, so for a senior hire the percentage understates the gap and for a junior one it overstates it.
Every rate above is sourced line by line on the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Israel and Turkey pages, and the rules behind the ledger are set out in the methodology. Two more countries that a MENA search usually means are priced on this site under Africa rather than here: Egypt at +3.7% and Morocco at +15.1%. To price a different salary, a different basic-pay split or more than one hire, use the cost calculator; to compare the provider route against an entity of your own, the EOR vs own entity instrument takes the same inputs.
Send the same scenario to the three picks.
Same country, salary and headcount to each; ask for the deposit, the FX rule, the minimum term and any mandatory add-on in writing. The fee is the only line that differs between their invoices.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an EOR cost in Saudi Arabia?
- One $60,000 hire costs $5,298 a month in salary and statutory charges — $5,000 of salary, GOSI's 2% occupational hazards contribution at $90, and the end-of-service award accrual at $208 — plus a published fee of $199 to $699, so $5,497 to $5,997 all-in. Prices checked 2 September 2026.
- Why are Gulf employer charges so much lower than European ones?
- Because for a foreign employee they are not social insurance at all. Saudi Arabia keeps non-Saudi workers outside every branch but occupational hazards, and the UAE and Qatar have no employer pension contribution for an expatriate. What the employer carries instead is an end-of-service provision: 21 days of basic wage a year in the UAE, three weeks in Qatar, half a month in Saudi Arabia for the first five years. That is deferred pay owed to the employee, not a remittance to a state fund, which is why it accrues on your books rather than leaving them each month.
- Why are the UAE and Qatar figures written as 'at least'?
- Because both compute the gratuity on basic wage and neither fixes what share of a package basic wage has to be. This site models an even split, so the UAE's 5.75% of basic and Qatar's 5.77% become about 2.9% of the whole package — and every riyal or dirham moved from allowances into basic pay raises the bill in direct proportion. Qatar is the sharper case: article 54 settles the gratuity on the last Basic Wage while the floor it sets is expressed in Remuneration, which includes every allowance. Ask each provider what basic share its Gulf contracts use.
- Which Middle Eastern countries are priced here?
- Six: the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Israel and Turkey. Three of them — Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Qatar — are GCC states; Bahrain, Kuwait and Oman are not priced on this site yet and are not counted in any figure on this page. Every line behind the six comes from the national authority: GOSI and the Social Insurance Law for Saudi Arabia, the Labour Relations Decree-Law for the UAE, the Labour Law for Qatar, the Social Security Corporation for Jordan, Bituach Leumi for Israel and SGK for Turkey. If you are searching on MENA rather than the Gulf, the North African half of that region is priced too, under Africa: Egypt at +3.7% and Morocco at +15.1%.
- Do the providers handle visas and work permits?
- That is the reason most Gulf hires use one, and it is also the part no percentage on this page captures. A foreign employee in the Gulf is resident on a permit the legal employer sponsors, so the entity that holds the permit quota is the entity that employs. Deel quotes 15 days to a first Qatari start and 20 days for both Saudi Arabia and the UAE, against one to five business days in Israel. Treat visa, permit, mandatory health cover and repatriation as per-head costs quoted separately, and ask for them in writing: none of them is a percentage of salary, and none of them falls as the salary rises.