Country fileAEAEDVerified 2026-09-20
AE AED · Asia/Dubai (UTC+4)

Employer of Record in the United Arab Emirates: what one employee really costs

United Arab Emirates, Middle East. One software engineer at $65,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, at the official Central Bank of the UAE parity. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+2.9%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$5,771 – $6,271
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
20 days
per Deel - Hire employees in United Arab Emirates ('your next hire could start in as little as 20 days with Deel')

Hiring one software engineer in the United Arab Emirates at $65,000 gross a year costs about $156 a month in statutory employer charges (+2.9%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $5,771 to $6,271 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to the United Arab Emirates

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ AED 238,713 gross / year · AED at the official Central Bank of the UAE parity

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$5,417
End-of-service gratuity, first five years (provision)5.75%$156
Employer on-cost+2.9%$156
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$5,572
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$5,771/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$69,258
Fee share
3.4%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$6,071/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$72,858
Fee share
8.2%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$6,171/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$74,058
Fee share
9.7%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in the United Arab Emirates + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $65,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $5,771 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $5,771/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $5,891 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $5,891/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $5,971 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $5,971/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $5,971 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $5,971/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $6,071 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $6,071/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $6,071 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $6,071/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $6,151 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $6,151/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $6,171 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $6,171/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $6,171 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $6,171/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $6,171 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $6,171/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $6,271 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $6,271/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $6,271 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $6,271/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What the United Arab Emirates adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Foreign full-time employee on a work permit and residence visa = 1; Basic wage as a share of the total package = 0.5.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
End-of-service gratuity, first five years (provision)Foreign full-time employees who complete one year or more of continuous service 5.75% Basic wage Article 51(2) of Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021: the foreign full-time worker who has completed one or more years of continuous service is entitled to a gratuity 'calculated according to the basic wage' of 'twenty-one (21) days for each year of the first five years of service' and 'thirty (30) days for each year in excess of that'. Twenty-one days divided by the 365-day divisor that article 66(3)(b) of the DIFC Employment Law spells out is 5.7534% of annual basic pay, and that is the rate carried here; from the sixth year it rises to 8.22% on the same base. Three conditions are worth knowing: nothing is owed before one full year of continuous service, article 51(3) then pays parts of a year in proportion, and article 51(6) caps the whole award at two years' wage. Days of unpaid absence do not count towards service under article 51(4). On the mainland this is a provision rather than a monthly payment; inside the DIFC the same entitlement is funded month by month - see the note below. Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021 Concerning Regulating Labour Relations, consolidated text as updated 29 July 20242026-09-20
DIFC Qualifying Scheme (DEWS) core benefits not in total — Carried at zero because it applies inside the Dubai International Financial Centre and not on the mainland, and because its rate runs on basic wage rather than on the gross this column measures. Article 66(7) of DIFC Employment Law No. 2 of 2019 replaced the accruing gratuity with a funded plan: the employer pays a Qualifying Scheme, every month, at least 5.83% of the employee's monthly basic wage for the first five years of service and 8.33% for each year after that. Two differences change a budget rather than a percentage. First, it is cash leaving the business every month instead of a liability that waits for a departure, so a DIFC hire costs money from month one. Second, article 66(3)(a) forbids a basic wage below 50% of the annual wage, a floor the federal law does not impose, so a DIFC employer cannot shrink the entitlement by loading the package with allowances. Where the employee is a UAE or GCC national already contributing to the GPSSA, article 65(3) requires a top-up of the difference into the scheme, provided the monthly top-up reaches AED 1,000. DIFC Employment Law No. 2 of 2019, consolidated text updated 20242026-09-20
Cabinet-approved alternative end-of-service systems not in total — Carried at zero because it is an option rather than a charge, and because the contribution rate is set by the decision that approves each system. Article 51(8) of the Decree-Law lets the Cabinet approve 'other alternative systems for the end-of-service gratuity system', with the conditions, controls and contribution mechanism specified in the approving decision. It matters to anyone comparing quotes: two providers employing in the same emirate can run the same statutory entitlement through different machinery, one as an unfunded provision and one as a monthly contribution, and only the second shows up as cash in the first year. Ask which of the two a quote reflects. Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021 Concerning Regulating Labour Relations, consolidated text as updated 29 July 20242026-09-20
Work permit and sponsorship not in total — Carried at zero because it is an amount per head that does not scale with pay. Article 6(1) of the Decree-Law is categorical: work may not be practised in the State, and the employer may not recruit or employ any worker, 'except after obtaining a work permit from the Ministry'. The permit, the residence visa attached to it and the repatriation at the end are the employer's to arrange and to fund, and they are the reason a Gulf hire is measured in weeks rather than days: Deel quotes 20 days to a first start in the UAE. Article 27 leaves a minimum wage to a Cabinet resolution, and no such resolution is in force. Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021 Concerning Regulating Labour Relations, consolidated text as updated 29 July 20242026-09-20
Health cover, and what a national costs instead not in total — Health cover is an employer obligation across the Emirates, and it is carried at zero here because it is a premium per person rather than a share of pay. In Dubai, article 10 of Law No. 11 of 2013 on health insurance requires the employer to enrol its employees, bear the cost and not charge it to them. In Abu Dhabi, the government portal u.ae states that employers and sponsors cover their employees and their families (one spouse and three children under 18). In Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah, a Cabinet decision extended the mandate from 1 January 2025: the employer buys the policy as a prerequisite for issuing or renewing the residence permit (work permits issued before that date follow at renewal), and the basic package of the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation costs AED 320 a year. Dubai and Abu Dhabi fix no price, so the premium there is quoted by insurers against age and cover. The national case is the one that changes the percentage: article 4(1) of Federal Decree-Law No. 57 of 2023 on Pension and Social Security, which defines the insured as a national, sets the employer share at 15% of the subscription account salary and the employee share at 11%, and for a private-sector employer the Government bears 2.5 points of the employer share for nationals whose subscription account salary is below AED 20,000, which leaves 12.5% below that line and 15% above it. The Decree-Law, issued on 2 October 2023, applies to nationals insured from its entry into force; those insured under Federal Law No. 7 of 1999 keep that law's rates, which were not read for this page. Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation2026-09-24
Employer on-cost at $65,000+2.9%$1,870 a year, $156 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

An Emirati payroll looks cheap and is structurally awkward, and both halves of that come from the same fact: the employee is a resident on a permit the employer sponsors. There is no employer pension contribution for a foreign hire, so the statutory percentage is small, but the employer carries the work permit, the residence visa, the health cover and the repatriation, and none of them is a percentage of anything. The other choice that decides the bill is where the entity sits. A mainland employer accrues the gratuity under article 51 and pays it when the employee leaves; a DIFC employer pays at least 5.83% of basic wage into a funded scheme every month and may not set basic pay below half the package. Compare the two routes on the whole picture rather than on the headline rate: the figure on this page is a floor of about 2.9% of salary at a package split evenly between basic pay and allowances, and it rises in direct proportion to the basic share.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in the United Arab Emirates
0$36,477$72,954$109,431$145,9081351020 0$36k$73k$109k$146k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $1,870
3 $7,164$20,844 $5,610
5 $11,940$34,740 $9,349
10 $23,880$69,480 $18,699
20 $47,760$138,960 $37,397

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
30 days
Public holidays
13
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
up to 6 months
Notice
Article 43 requires written notice of at least 30 days and at most 90 days, as agreed in the contract, with the contract remaining in force and the worker paid in full throughout. Probation runs to six months under article 9, and an employer ending the contract inside it gives 14 days' written notice. A worker who leaves during probation to depart the State gives 14 days' notice, and article 9 puts a compensation on a new employer who hires them back within three months.
Reviewed
2026-09-20

Get a quote for the United Arab Emirates.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $65,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for the United Arab Emirates: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $5,771/mo Get a Papaya quote· $6,071/mo Get a Deel quote· $6,171/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

How much does an employer of record cost in the UAE?
For one foreign employee at US$65,000 gross a year, the only statutory employer charge is the end-of-service gratuity: 21 days of basic wage for each of the first five years, which is 5.75% of basic pay, or about 2.88% of the whole package where basic pay is half of it. That is roughly US$156 a month, so the employer cost before any provider fee is at least about US$5,572 a month. Published employer-of-record fees then run from US$199 to US$699 per employee per month, which puts the all-in cost between about US$5,770 and US$6,270 a month. Work permit, residence visa and health cover sit outside that figure because they are amounts per head rather than a share of pay.
Do employers pay social security for expatriates in the UAE?
No. Article 51(1) of the 2021 Labour Relations Decree-Law sends the national worker to the pension and social security legislation, and article 51(2) gives the foreign worker an end-of-service gratuity in its place, so the expatriate an employer of record normally places generates no employer pension contribution. The national case sits in Federal Decree-Law No. 57 of 2023, which defines the insured as a national: article 4 sets the employer share at 15% of the subscription account salary, and the Government bears 2.5 points of it for a private-sector employer on subscription salaries below AED 20,000, so the employer pays 12.5% below that line. That leaves the gratuity as the single statutory employer cost on an expatriate payroll.
How is UAE end-of-service gratuity calculated?
On the basic wage alone, which article 1 of the Decree-Law defines as the contract amount excluding every allowance and benefit in kind. Article 51(2) gives 21 days of that basic wage for each of the first five years of service and 30 days for each year after; article 51(3) pays parts of a year in proportion once a full year is complete; article 51(6) caps the total at two years' wage. Because allowances are excluded, two employees on the same total package can produce very different gratuities, and that is why this page publishes a floor rather than a single number.
Does the DIFC change what an employee costs?
Yes, in two ways. Inside the Dubai International Financial Centre, article 66(7) of DIFC Employment Law No. 2 of 2019 replaces the accruing gratuity with a monthly payment into a Qualifying Scheme of at least 5.83% of monthly basic wage for the first five years and 8.33% thereafter, so the money leaves the business as the entitlement builds instead of waiting for a departure. And article 66(3)(a) sets a floor the federal law does not have: the basic wage may not be less than half the annual wage. A DIFC employer therefore cannot reduce the gratuity by loading the package with allowances, which is exactly what makes the mainland figure on this page a floor.
How much annual leave does UAE law require?
Article 29 gives at least 30 days of paid annual leave for each year of full service, two days for each month of service between six months and one year, and a pro rata entitlement for the final part-year where employment ends before the balance is used. Those are leave days as the Decree-Law counts them rather than working days, so the working-day equivalent depends on the working week in the contract. Public holidays are set by Cabinet resolution under article 28 rather than by the Decree-Law itself. Cabinet Resolution No. 27 of 2024 applies one list to the public and private sectors, and in 2026 it came to 13 days: New Year, four days for Eid Al Fitr because Ramadan ran to its thirtieth day, Arafat Day and three days of Eid Al Adha, the Hijri New Year, the Prophet's birthday and two days for National Day. In a year when Ramadan lasts 29 days the count is 12, and a holiday that falls on a weekend is not moved to another day.