Employer of Record in Argentina: what one employee really costs
Argentina, Latin America. One software engineer at $36,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the European Commission's September 2026 exchange rate. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +36.9%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $4,307 – $4,807
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 15 days
- per Deel - Hire employees in Argentina ('your next hire could start in as little as 15 days with Deel')
Hiring one software engineer in Argentina at $36,000 gross a year costs about $1,108 a month in statutory employer charges (+36.9%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $4,307 to $4,807 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Argentina
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ ARS 54,441,000 gross / year · ARS at the European Commission monthly rate for September 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $3,000 | |
| Employer contributions to the social security subsystems (SIPA, PAMI, family allowances, employment fund) | 20.40% | $612 |
| Health cover (obra social) | 6% | $180 |
| 13th-month salary (sueldo anual complementario) | flat | $250 |
| Employer contributions due on the 13th-month salary | 2.20% | $66 |
| Employer on-cost | +36.9% | $1,108 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $4,108 |
$4,307/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $51,684
- Fee share
- 4.6%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$4,607/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $55,284
- Fee share
- 10.8%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$4,707/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $56,484
- Fee share
- 12.7%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $4,307 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $4,307/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $4,427 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $4,427/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $4,507 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $4,507/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $4,507 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $4,507/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $4,607 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $4,607/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $4,607 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $4,607/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $4,687 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $4,687/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $4,707 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $4,707/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $4,707 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $4,707/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $4,707 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $4,707/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $4,807 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $4,807/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $4,807 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $4,807/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Argentina adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Employer contribution rate taken at 20.40%, the rate for a services or commerce company above the medium-enterprise tranche 2 threshold = 20.4; The occupational-risk (ART) premium is carried at zero, so the total below is a floor = 0.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Employer contributions to the social security subsystems (SIPA, PAMI, family allowances, employment fund) | 20.40% | Gross salary One rate covers four subsystems. Article 19 of Ley 27.541: 'Veinte con cuarenta centesimos (20,40%) para los empleadores pertenecientes al sector privado cuya actividad principal encuadre en el sector Servicios o en el sector Comercio ... siempre que sus ventas totales anuales superen ... los limites para la categorizacion como empresa mediana tramo 2'; 18% applies to the rest. Deel's Argentina page splits the same 20.40 into its parts - pension 12.35, Ley 19.032 1.57, family allowances 5.40 and the national employment fund 1.08. Article 22 of the same law lets the employer subtract ARS 7,003.68 per employee per month from the base before applying the rate; that deduction is not applied here, which makes this line slightly conservative, because the peso figure written into the 2019 statute is worth a fraction of a percentage point against a 2026 salary. | Ley 27.541, articulo 19 (texto actualizado, Argentina.gob.ar / InfoLEG)2026-09-21 |
| Health cover (obra social) | 6% | Gross salary Article 16(a) of Ley 23.660 reads 5% in its own text, after article 23 of Ley 25.239, but the operative rate is 6%: article 80 of Ley 25.565 (Boletin Oficial 21 March 2002) restored it, and the InfoLEG note records that restoration. The 2026 budget law, Ley 27.802 (Boletin Oficial 6 March 2026), then rewrites the paragraph itself to read 6% for contributions accruing from 1 January 2027, so the rate the employer pays does not move either side of that date. The worker pays a further 3%. | Ley 23.660, articulo 16 inciso a), with the InfoLEG notes on Ley 25.565 art. 80 and Ley 27.802 art. 165 (texto actualizado, InfoLEG)2026-09-21 |
| 13th-month salary (sueldo anual complementario) | 1 month | Added to the annual costArticle 121 of the Ley de Contrato de Trabajo: 'Se entiende por sueldo anual complementario la doceava parte del total de las remuneraciones ... percibidas por el trabajador en el respectivo ano calendario.' Article 122, as replaced by Ley 27.073, pays it in two instalments due on 30 June and 18 December, each calculated on half of the highest monthly pay of the semester. It is remuneration, so it carries the employer contributions in the line below. | Ley 20.744 (Ley de Contrato de Trabajo), articulos 121 y 122 (texto actualizado, InfoLEG)2026-09-21 |
| Employer contributions due on the 13th-month salary | 2.20% | Added to the annual costThe line most Argentine cost estimates drop. The sueldo anual complementario is pay, so the 20.40% social security contribution and the 6% obra social contribution fall on it as well: 26.40% of 8.33% of annual gross is 2.20% of annual gross. Deel's own Argentina page prints an estimated employer cost of 28.35% and lists no 13th-month line at all, which is what happens when the extra month and its charges are left out. | Ley 20.744, articulo 121, read with Ley 27.541 articulo 19 and Ley 23.660 articulo 16 (both applied to remuneration, which the SAC is)2026-09-21 |
| Occupational risk insurance (ART) not in total | — | Carried at zero because the premium under Ley 24.557 is agreed with a licensed aseguradora de riesgos del trabajo and varies with the employer's activity and claims record; no statute publishes a rate to quote. It is nonetheless compulsory, and Deel's Argentina page books it at 1.35% of salary plus a fixed ARS 1,227 a month for the profile it sells. Because it is left out, the total on this page is a floor, not a final figure. | Deel2026-09-21 |
| Compulsory collective life insurance not in total | — | Carried at zero because it is a flat peso premium per employee rather than a share of salary, and at the example salary it is worth far less than a tenth of a point. Deel's Argentina page books it at ARS 334.68 a month per employee. It is listed here so that nothing compulsory is missing from the page, not because it moves the budget. | Deel2026-09-21 |
| Employer on-cost at $36,000 | +36.9% | $13,296 a year, $1,108 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
Starting an Argentine hire takes longer and costs more at the front than the paperwork suggests. Deel's Argentina page puts its own onboarding at fifteen days, where its Chilean and Peruvian pages say three days and its Colombian page four, and it charges two one-off fees that those pages do not list: a wet-ink employment agreement handling fee and an onboarding medical check. Running your own entity means monthly filings with ARCA, an ART policy, an obra social affiliation and a peso bank account, in a currency whose monthly accounting rate moves enough that a budget written in dollars needs re-checking each month. The statutory charges are the same either way. The useful question is not the entity threshold but the termination exposure: dismissal without cause carries a seniority indemnity on top of notice, and it is funded locally.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $13,296 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $39,888 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $66,480 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $132,960 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $265,920 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 14 days
- Public holidays
- 16
- 13th month
- Mandatory
- Probation
- up to 6 months
- Notice
- Article 231(b) of the Ley de Contrato de Trabajo, as replaced by article 48 of Ley 27.802 (Boletin Oficial 6 March 2026), requires the employer to give one month's notice where service does not exceed five years and two months above that; the employee owes fifteen days. No notice is due during the probation period. Notice can be replaced by an indemnity in lieu, which is owed on top of the seniority indemnity.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-21
Get a quote for Argentina.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $36,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Argentina: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in Argentina?
- At least about 37% of gross on top of salary: 20.40% of employer social security contributions, 6% for the obra social, the 13th-month salary at 8.33% and the 2.20% of contributions that fall on that extra month. On a US$36,000 salary that is at least US$1,108 a month before the provider's fee. Published EOR fees run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost starts near $4,307 to $4,807 a month, and rises by whatever the ART premium turns out to be.
- Is there a ceiling on Argentine employer contributions?
- No. Article 9 of Ley 24.241, as replaced by Ley 26.222, applies its ceiling of seventy-five times the MOPRE 'a los fines exclusivamente del calculo de los aportes previstos en los incisos a) y c) del articulo 10' - the employee's own contribution and the self-employed contribution. The employer's contribution is inciso b), and it is not in that list. A senior hire therefore carries the same percentage as a junior one, and no peso-denominated cap has to be kept up to date for this page to be right.
- Why do providers quote around 28% when this page says about 37%?
- Because 28% is the monthly line only. Deel's Argentina page prints an estimated employer cost of 28.35% and lists pension, Ley 19.032, family allowances, the employment fund, the obra social and the ART - but no 13th-month salary. The sueldo anual complementario is one twelfth of the year's pay under article 121 of the Ley de Contrato de Trabajo, and the employer contributions fall on it too. Those two items are the nine points of difference.
- Does the 20.40% rate apply to every employer?
- No. Article 19 of Ley 27.541 sets 20.40% for private-sector employers in services or commerce whose annual sales exceed the medium-enterprise tranche 2 threshold, and 18% for everyone else. This page models the 20.40% rate because an employer of record is a services company of that size. If you are comparing against a quote from a small local employer, expect 2.4 points less on the social security line.
- Does inflation make an Argentine cost estimate unreliable?
- It makes the currency conversion time-sensitive, not the percentages. Every line on this page is a share of salary, and none of them depends on a peso amount that could go stale: the one peso figure in the statute, the ARS 7,003.68 monthly deduction in article 22 of Ley 27.541, is deliberately not applied here, and applying it would only lower the figure. What does need a date is the exchange rate used to turn a peso salary into dollars, which is why the rate and its month are printed on this page.