Country fileJOJODVerified 2026-09-24
JO JOD · Asia/Amman (UTC+3)

Employer of Record in Jordan: what one employee really costs

Jordan, Middle East. One software engineer at $24,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, at the official Central Bank of Jordan parity. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+14.3%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$2,484 – $2,984
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
7 days
per Deel - Hire employees in Jordan ('your next hire could start in as little as 7 days with Deel')

Hiring one software engineer in Jordan at $24,000 gross a year costs about $285 a month in statutory employer charges (+14.3%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $2,484 to $2,984 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Jordan

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ JOD 17,016 gross / year · JOD at the official Central Bank of Jordan parity

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$2,000
SSC old-age, disability and death insurance11%$220
SSC work injury insurance2%$40
SSC maternity insurance0.75%$15
SSC unemployment insurance0.50%$10
Employer on-cost+14.3%$285
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$2,285
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$2,484/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$29,808
Fee share
8.0%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$2,784/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$33,408
Fee share
17.9%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$2,884/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$34,608
Fee share
20.8%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Jordan + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $24,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $2,484 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $2,484/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $2,604 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $2,604/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $2,684 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $2,684/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $2,684 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $2,684/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $2,784 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $2,784/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $2,784 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $2,784/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $2,864 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $2,864/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $2,884 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $2,884/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $2,884 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $2,884/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $2,884 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $2,884/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $2,984 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $2,984/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $2,984 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $2,984/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Jordan adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Full old-age contribution, no under-30 reduction claimed = 1.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
SSC old-age, disability and death insuranceEvery insured worker aged 16 or over, Jordanian or not, on wages up to JOD 3,733 a month in 2026 11% Gross salary , capped at JOD 44,796 / yr Article 59(a)(1) of Social Security Law No. 1 of 2014, as amended by Law No. 11 of 2023: the establishment pays 11% of insured wages, and article 59(a)(2) has it withhold a further 6.5% from the employee. Article 4(a) brings every worker under the Labour Law into the scheme 'without any discrimination due to nationality', whatever the length or form of the contract, so a foreign hire costs the same percentage as a Jordanian one. Article 20(a) sets the wage ceiling at JOD 3,000 a month and article 20(b) indexes it to inflation every January; the Social Security Corporation announced on 14 May 2026 that the 2026 ceiling is JOD 3,733 a month, up from JOD 3,668 in 2025 after 1.77% inflation, which is the JOD 44,796 a year carried here. Some provider pages still print an older ceiling. Social Security Law No. 1 of 2014, consolidated by the Social Security Corporation with amendments to 16 April 2023, articles 4, 20 and 592026-09-24
SSC work injury insuranceEvery insured worker, on wages up to the SSC ceiling, paid by the employer alone 2% Gross salary , capped at JOD 44,796 / yr Article 24(a) of the Social Security Law: work injury insurance is financed by 'monthly contributions paid by the establishment at two percent of the wages of the insured'. Nothing is withheld from the employee for this branch. Article 32(b) makes an establishment that breaches occupational safety rules repay the medical costs the Corporation has paid for an injury caused by the breach, which is a liability on top of the rate rather than a change to it. Social Security Law No. 1 of 2014, consolidated by the Social Security Corporation with amendments to 16 April 2023, article 242026-09-24
SSC maternity insuranceEvery insured worker, men included, on wages up to the SSC ceiling 0.75% Gross salary , capped at JOD 44,796 / yr Article 42(a)(1) of the Social Security Law, as amended in 2019: the establishment pays 'three quarters of one percent' of insured wages. Article 43(a) applies the branch to all insured persons, so the charge is due for a male software engineer exactly as for a female one. The design matters to an employer: article 45 pays the maternity allowance out of the fund at the employee's last insured wage, so the ten weeks of leave in article 70 of the Labour Law are not a wage the employer carries itself. Social Security Law No. 1 of 2014, consolidated by the Social Security Corporation with amendments to 16 April 2023, articles 42 to 452026-09-24
SSC unemployment insuranceEvery insured worker, on wages up to the SSC ceiling 0.50% Gross salary , capped at JOD 44,796 / yr Article 48 of the Social Security Law: the establishment pays half of one percent of insured wages and withholds one percent from the employee. The unemployment benefit is drawn from the worker's own savings account in the fund, and article 58(b) stops it for a non-Jordanian insured person whose account is not in credit, so a foreign hire pays into this branch on the same terms while drawing on it under narrower ones. Social Security Law No. 1 of 2014, consolidated by the Social Security Corporation with amendments to 16 April 2023, article 482026-09-24
End-of-service award under the Labour Law not in total — Carried at zero because it does not arise for a worker enrolled with the Social Security Corporation. Article 32 of Labour Law No. 8 of 1996, in the version in force since 16 May 2019, grants an end-of-service award of one month's wage per year of service only to 'the worker who is not subject to the provisions of the Social Security Law'. Since article 4(a) of the Social Security Law enrols every worker covered by the Labour Law regardless of nationality, a salaried hire made through an employer of record is insured, and the pension contributions above take the place of the award. This is the line that separates Jordan from the Gulf ledgers on this site, where the end-of-service accrual is the employer's main charge. Separate company provident funds under article 33 remain possible by agreement and are not modelled. Labour Law No. 8 of 1996 and its amendments, consolidated text published by the Ministry of Labour (file dated 24 July 2025), article 322026-09-24
Old-age contribution reduction for Jordanians under 30 not in total — Carried at zero because it lowers a cost and depends on the provider rather than on you. Regulation No. 45 of 2024, in force from 1 August 2024 under the new article 59(c) of the Social Security Law, reduces the old-age, disability and death contributions an establishment pays by 40% for a small establishment of up to 25 workers and by 20% for a medium one of 26 to 50, on request, for an insured person who is Jordanian, has had no earlier compulsory coverage and has not reached 30. An establishment above 50 workers gets nothing, and one that grows past 50 loses the reduction for new hires. The article 59(c) ceiling on any such reduction is 50% of the contribution. Before 2023, article 4(d) instead allowed young workers in new small firms to be left out of old-age insurance altogether; the 2023 amendment removed that clause, so guides written before it describe an exemption that no longer exists. Regulation No. 45 of 2024 on reducing old-age, disability and death contributions for workers in private-sector establishments, Social Security Corporation2026-09-24
Work permit fee for a non-Jordanian employee not in total — Carried at zero because it is an amount per head, not a share of pay, and applies only to a foreign hire. Article 2 of the Regulation on work permit fees for non-Jordanians No. 142 of 2019, as amended in 2025 and reproduced in the Ministry of Labour's comprehensive guide dated 20 August 2026, sets the fee for issuing or renewing a permit at JOD 350 per worker for a year or part of a year in most sectors, about US$494 at the CBJ parity. A specialised-skills permit above the permitted share of foreign workers costs JOD 1,500 for a year. The same guide makes engineering professions subject to the prior approval of the Jordan Engineers Association. A Jordanian hire triggers none of this. Ministry of Labour, comprehensive guide to the rules for issuing work permits for non-Jordanian workers (20 August 2026), including Regulation No. 142 of 2019 as amended2026-09-24
SSC health insurance branch not in total — Carried at zero because the law names the branch but sets no rate for it. Article 3(a)(5) of the Social Security Law lists health insurance among the five branches, and article 3(c) makes it apply only from a Council of Ministers decision fixing its start date, the groups covered and the regions of each phase, with the contribution rates left to a special regulation under article 3(e). This review found no such decision or regulation in force. Private health cover is therefore a benefit the employer chooses to offer, priced per person, and not a statutory charge. Social Security Law No. 1 of 2014, consolidated by the Social Security Corporation with amendments to 16 April 2023, article 32026-09-24
Employer on-cost at $24,000+14.3%$3,420 a year, $285 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

Jordan's statutory ledger is a single payroll remittance to the Social Security Corporation: 14.25% of pay up to JOD 3,733 a month, with no end-of-service accrual behind it for an insured worker. That makes the total easy to audit, and the percentage stops growing above the ceiling, which sits near US$63,000 a year at the CBJ parity. The example salary here is about JOD 1,418 a month, a little over twice the JOD 656 the Corporation reports as the 2025 average insured wage of Jordanians, so it is a senior local salary rather than a typical one. A foreign hire adds a work permit and, for engineering roles, the approval of the Engineers Association, which is where the time goes. Setting up your own entity means registering with the Corporation and carrying these filings yourself; the headcount of that entity also decides whether a Jordanian under 30 attracts the Regulation 45 reduction, which a large provider entity may not qualify for.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Jordan
0$36,477$72,954$109,431$145,9081351020 0$36k$73k$109k$146k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $3,420
3 $7,164$20,844 $10,260
5 $11,940$34,740 $17,100
10 $23,880$69,480 $34,200
20 $47,760$138,960 $68,400

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
14 days
Public holidays
15
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
up to 3 months
Notice
Article 23 of the Labour Law: either party ending an indefinite-term contract must give the other written notice of at least one month, and the contract runs throughout the notice period. Where the employer gives notice, the worker may stop working for the last seven days of it and is still paid in full. Probation under article 35 may not exceed three months, pay during it may not fall below the minimum wage, and the employer may end it without notice or compensation; a worker kept on after probation is on an indefinite contract with the probation counted as service.
Reviewed
2026-09-24

Get a quote for Jordan.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $24,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Jordan: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $2,484/mo Get a Papaya quote· $2,784/mo Get a Deel quote· $2,884/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

How much does an employer of record cost in Jordan?
For one employee at US$24,000 gross a year, the statutory employer charges are four Social Security Corporation contributions: 11% for old-age, disability and death, 2% for work injury, 0.75% for maternity and 0.5% for unemployment, 14.25% in all. That is about US$285 a month, so the employer cost before any provider fee is about US$2,285 a month. Published employer-of-record fees then run from US$199 to US$699 per employee per month, which puts the all-in cost between about US$2,484 and US$2,984 a month. A foreign hire adds a work permit fee of JOD 350 a year.
Do you pay end-of-service gratuity in Jordan?
Not for a worker enrolled with the Social Security Corporation. Article 32 of the Labour Law grants one month's wage per year of service only to a worker who is not subject to the Social Security Law, and article 4 of that Law enrols every worker covered by the Labour Law whatever their nationality. For a salaried employee hired through a provider, the pension contributions replace the award, so there is no accrual to fund or to find at the end of the contract.
What is the social security salary cap in Jordan for 2026?
JOD 3,733 a month. Article 20 of the Social Security Law sets the ceiling at JOD 3,000 and indexes it to inflation every January, and the Social Security Corporation announced on 14 May 2026 that the 2026 figure is JOD 3,733, up from JOD 3,668 in 2025. Pay above that amount attracts no contribution, from the employer or the employee.
Are foreign employees covered by social security in Jordan?
Yes. Article 4(a) of the Social Security Law applies to workers aged 16 or over without any discrimination due to nationality, so the employer pays the same 14.25% for a foreign employee as for a Jordanian one. What differs is the paperwork: a non-Jordanian needs a Ministry of Labour work permit, at JOD 350 a year in most sectors, and engineering professions need the prior approval of the Jordan Engineers Association.
How much annual leave and notice does Jordan require?
Article 61 of the Labour Law gives 14 days of paid annual leave a year, rising to 21 days after five consecutive years with the same employer; official and religious holidays and weekly rest days are not counted in it. For 2026, the Central Bank of Jordan's holiday circular of 4 November 2025, issued under Prime Ministry communication No. 6 of 2007, lists 15 official holiday days: one each for New Year, Labour Day, Independence Day, the Hijri New Year, the Prophet's Birthday and Christmas, four for Eid al-Fitr and five for Eid al-Adha, with the lunar dates confirmed each year by the Prime Minister. Notice on an indefinite contract is at least one month from either side under article 23, and probation may not exceed three months under article 35.