Country fileCLCLPVerified 2026-09-21
CL CLP · America/Santiago (UTC-4)

Employer of Record in Chile: what one employee really costs

Chile, Latin America. One software engineer at $36,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the European Commission's September 2026 exchange rate. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+14.7%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$3,640 – $4,140
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
3 days
per Deel - Hire employees in Chile ('your next hire could start in as little as 3 days with Deel')

Hiring one software engineer in Chile at $36,000 gross a year costs about $441 a month in statutory employer charges (+14.7%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $3,640 to $4,140 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Chile

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ CLP 33,350,400 gross / year · CLP at the European Commission monthly rate for September 2026

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$3,000
Employer pension contribution (Seguro Social Previsional, disability cover included)3.50%$105
Unemployment insurance (seguro de cesantia), indefinite contract2.40%$72
Work accident insurance, basic general rate (Ley 16.744)0.90%$27
SANNA contribution (insurance for parents of seriously ill children, Ley 21.063)0.03%$1
Statutory profit share (gratificacion legal, article 50 route) capped25%$237
Employer on-cost+14.7%$441
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$3,441
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$3,640/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$43,685
Fee share
5.5%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$3,940/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$47,285
Fee share
12.7%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$4,040/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$48,485
Fee share
14.8%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Chile + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $36,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $3,640 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $3,640/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $3,760 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $3,760/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $3,840 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $3,840/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $3,840 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $3,840/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $3,940 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $3,940/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $3,940 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $3,940/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $4,020 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $4,020/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $4,040 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $4,040/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $4,040 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $4,040/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $4,040 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $4,040/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $4,140 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $4,140/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $4,140 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $4,140/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Chile adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Unidad de Fomento taken at CLP 40,983.58, its value on 21 September 2026 = 40983.58; Statutory profit share taken under article 50, at 25% of pay capped at 4.75 monthly minimum incomes a year = 4.75; The activity-rated supplement to the accident insurance is carried at zero, so the total below is a floor = 0.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
Employer pension contribution (Seguro Social Previsional, disability cover included) 3.50% Gross salary , capped at CLP 44,262,266 / yr The rate that changed on 1 August 2026. The Superintendencia de Pensiones states it plainly: 'A partir de las remuneraciones de agosto de 2026, las y los empleadores deben declarar y pagar una cotizacion equivalente al 3,5 % de la remuneracion imponible', split 0.1% to the worker's individual AFP account, 0.9% to the Cotizacion con Rentabilidad Protegida and 2.5% to the Seguro Social Previsional. That 2.5% now finances the Seguro de Invalidez y Sobrevivencia, which ChileAtiende notes is 'ahora recaudado por el IPS' - so the old separate SIS contribution is inside this figure rather than on top of it. Ley 21.735 steps the rate to 4.25% in August 2027 and to 8.5% by 2033. The base is capped at 90.0 UF a month. Superintendencia de Pensiones2026-09-21
Unemployment insurance (seguro de cesantia), indefinite contractIndefinite contracts; a fixed-term or task contract is charged 3% instead 2.40% Gross salary , capped at CLP 66,491,748 / yr Article 5 of Ley 19.728: 'b) Un 2,4% de las remuneraciones imponibles, en el caso de los trabajadores con contrato de duracion indefinida y un 3% ... para los trabajadores con contrato a plazo fijo, o por obra, trabajo o servicio determinado. Ambos, de cargo del empleador.' The worker on an indefinite contract adds 0.6%. This contribution has its own, higher ceiling: 135.2 UF a month from 1 February 2026 under Resolucion exenta 236 of the Superintendencia de Pensiones, against 90.0 UF for the pension and accident lines. Ley 19.728, articulo 5 (Superintendencia de Seguridad Social, Normativa y jurisprudencia)2026-09-21
Work accident insurance, basic general rate (Ley 16.744) 0.90% Gross salary , capped at CLP 44,262,266 / yr Article 15(a) of Ley 16.744 funds the accident and occupational-disease insurance with 'una cotizacion basica general del 0,90% de las remuneraciones imponibles, de cargo del empleador'. Paragraph (b) then adds a differentiated rate of up to 3.4% set by decree on the employer's activity; that supplement is listed outside the total on this page rather than guessed, so this line is the floor of what the insurance costs, not the whole of it. Ley 16.744, articulo 15 (Biblioteca del Congreso Nacional, version in force, consulted 21 September 2026)2026-09-21
SANNA contribution (insurance for parents of seriously ill children, Ley 21.063)Every employer, on the employee's taxable pay up to the contribution ceiling 0.03% Gross salary , capped at CLP 44,262,266 / yr Article 24(a) of Ley 21.063 funds the insurance 'con una cotizacion mensual de un 0,03% de las remuneraciones o rentas imponibles de los trabajadores dependientes e independientes, de cargo del empleador', the contribution created by article 3 of Ley 21.010. Its phase-in, set by article second transitory of Ley 21.010, rose from 0.01% in 2017 to 0.03% from 1 January 2020, which is the rate in force in 2026. It is collected by the mutual or the Instituto de Seguridad Laboral together with the accident insurance. It is charged on the same capped taxable pay as the basic accident-insurance rate, so it carries the same ceiling here. At the example salary it comes to about US$0.90 a month. Ley 21.063, articulo 24 letra a) (BCN LeyChile, version of 28 September 2023, in force), with Ley 21.010 articulos 3 y segundo transitorio2026-09-24
Statutory profit share (gratificacion legal, article 50 route)Capped at 4.75 monthly minimum incomes per worker per year, which is CLP 2,629,376 at the 2026 minimum income 25% Gross salary , capped at CLP 10,517,507 / yr Article 50 of the Codigo del Trabajo: 'El empleador que abone o pague a sus trabajadores el veinticinco por ciento de lo devengado en el respectivo ejercicio comercial por concepto de remuneraciones mensuales, quedara eximido de la obligacion establecida en el articulo 47 ... En este caso, la gratificacion de cada trabajador no excedera de cuatro y tres cuartos (4,75) ingresos minimos mensuales.' The cap is what matters above a modest salary: 4.75 x CLP 553,553 is CLP 2,629,376 a year, reached once annual pay passes CLP 10,517,507, which is the ceiling entered here. The minimum income of CLP 553,553 has applied since 1 May 2026 under Ley 21.830, published in the Diario Oficial on 22 June 2026. Codigo del Trabajo, articulos 47 y 50 (BCN, version 23 July 2026), with the minimum income from the Direccion del Trabajo (Ley 21.830)2026-09-21
Work accident insurance, activity-rated supplement not in total — Carried at zero because article 15(b) of Ley 16.744 sets it by decree on the employer's own activity and risk, anywhere from nothing to 3.4%, so it cannot be read off a salary. The older extraordinary accident-insurance contribution of Ley 19.578 no longer applies: Ley 21.010 phased it down and ended it on 31 December 2019. Deel's Chile page books the whole accident line at 0.93%, three hundredths above the basic rate charged here, the size of the SANNA contribution listed below. Because this supplement is left out, the total on this page is a floor. Ley 16.744, articulo 15 inciso b) (Biblioteca del Congreso Nacional)2026-09-21
Contributions falling on the statutory profit share not in total — Carried at zero because it cannot honestly be written as a fixed share of salary. The gratificacion is remuneration, so the pension, unemployment and accident contributions apply to it as well - but the gratificacion is capped in minimum incomes while the contributions are a percentage, so the resulting charge falls as salary rises. At the example salary it is worth about half a point of gross. It is one more reason to read the total here as a minimum. Codigo del Trabajo, articulo 50, read with the imponible base of Ley 19.728 articulo 5 and Ley 16.744 articulo 152026-09-21
Employer on-cost at $36,000+14.7%$5,297 a year, $441 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

In Chile the employee, not the employer, carries the larger part of the social security bill: the Superintendencia de Pensiones describes the worker's own pension contribution as 'la actual cotizacion individual obligatoria de 10% de la remuneracion', against a single-digit employer total. That changes where the saving from an entity comes from: not from the statutory charges, which are modest here, but from the provider fee itself. Deel's Chile page describes the alternative to a provider as 'a local office, an address registered as a subsidiary, and an account with a local bank', taking months, against a start 'in as little as 3 days' through its employer of record. Two Chilean specifics deserve a line in any model: the employer contribution is on a nine-year escalator to 8.5% under Ley 21.735, so a three-year budget should not assume today's rate, and the statutory profit share is capped in minimum incomes, so it grows with the minimum wage rather than with your salaries.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Chile
0$36,477$72,954$109,431$145,9081351020 0$36k$73k$109k$146k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $5,297
3 $7,164$20,844 $15,891
5 $11,940$34,740 $26,485
10 $23,880$69,480 $52,971
20 $47,760$138,960 $105,941

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
15 days
Public holidays
16
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
none by law; fixed-term contract may serve
Notice
Article 161 of the Codigo del Trabajo lets an employer end an indefinite contract by invoking 'las necesidades de la empresa, establecimiento o servicio'. Where the contract has run a year or more, article 163 then requires an indemnity equal to thirty days of the last monthly salary for each year of service and for any fraction above six months, unless the parties agreed a larger amount. That indemnity, rather than a notice period, is the number to model before a Chilean exit.
Reviewed
2026-09-21

Get a quote for Chile.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $36,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Chile: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $3,640/mo Get a Papaya quote· $3,940/mo Get a Deel quote· $4,040/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

How much does an employer of record cost in Chile?
At least about 14.7% of gross on top of salary at the example salary: 3.5% employer pension contribution, 2.4% unemployment insurance, 0.9% basic accident cover and the statutory profit share, which is capped at 4.75 minimum incomes and works out at about 7.9% on a US$36,000 salary. That is at least US$441 a month before the provider's fee. Published EOR fees run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost starts near $3,640 to $4,140 a month depending on the provider.
Why do provider pages still show a 1% pension reform contribution?
Because the rate changed on 1 August 2026 and some pages have not caught up. Ley 21.735 phased the employer contribution in: 1% from August 2025 to July 2026, then 3.5% from August 2026 to July 2027, 4.25% from August 2027, reaching 8.5% by 2033. The Superintendencia de Pensiones states the current figure as a total, not an addition: 'una cotizacion equivalente al 3,5 % de la remuneracion imponible'. The old separate disability-cover contribution is inside it, which is why the employer total did not rise by the full 2.5 points.
Is the statutory profit share (gratificacion) really compulsory?
The obligation is, the amount is not fixed. Article 47 of the Codigo del Trabajo requires a profitable company to distribute at least 30% of its liquid profits. Article 50 offers an alternative that nearly every employer takes: pay 25% of the year's remuneration instead, capped at 4.75 monthly minimum incomes per worker, and the profit obligation is discharged whatever the profit. At the 2026 minimum income of CLP 553,553 that cap is CLP 2,629,376 a year.
Is there a ceiling on Chilean employer contributions?
Yes, and there are two of them. From 1 February 2026 the Superintendencia de Pensiones set the monthly ceiling at 90.0 UF for the pension, health and accident contributions, and at 135.2 UF for unemployment insurance. Both are written in Unidades de Fomento, so their peso value moves every day; this page converts them at the UF value for 21 September 2026. Neither binds at the example salary.
What is missing from the total on this page?
Two things, both deliberately left at zero rather than guessed. The accident insurance carries an activity-rated supplement of up to 3.4% on top of the 0.90% basic rate, set on the provider's own classification. And the statutory profit share is itself subject to contributions, worth about half a point of gross here. The SANNA contribution of Ley 21.063, 0.03% of pay collected with the accident insurance, is in the total, about US$0.90 a month: it is the three hundredths that separate the basic rate from the 0.93% at which Deel books the whole accident line. Treat the figure on this page as a floor and ask any provider to quote both missing items in writing.