Employer of Record in Mexico: what one employee really costs
Mexico, Latin America. One software engineer at $36,000 gross per year, priced through 9 providers on 2026-09-02 exchange rates. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +29.8%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $4,094 – $4,594
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Hiring one software engineer in Mexico at $36,000 gross a year costs about $895 a month in statutory employer charges (+29.8%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $4,094 to $4,594 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Mexico
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ MXN 612,028 gross / year · MXN at ECB reference rate, 2 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $3,000 | |
| IMSS — Sickness & maternity, fixed quota (cuota fija) | flat | $43 |
| IMSS — Sickness & maternity, excess quota (cuota adicional) | 1.10% | $26 |
| IMSS — Medical expenses for pensioners | 1.05% | $32 |
| IMSS — Sickness & maternity, cash benefits (en dinero) | 0.70% | $21 |
| IMSS — Disability & life insurance | 1.75% | $53 |
| IMSS — Daycare & social benefits | 1% | $30 |
| IMSS — Retirement (Retiro) | 2% | $60 |
| IMSS — Old-age & unemployment-in-old-age (Cesantia y Vejez, CEAV) | 7.51% | $225 |
| IMSS — Occupational risk insurance (prima de riesgo) | 0.54% | $16 |
| INFONAVIT — Housing fund contribution | 5% | $150 |
| State payroll tax (impuesto sobre nominas) | 3% | $90 |
| Aguinaldo (13th-month bonus) | flat | $125 |
| Vacation premium (prima vacacional) | 0.82% | $25 |
| Employer on-cost | +29.8% | $895 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $3,895 |
$4,494/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $53,930
- Fee share
- 13.3%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quote$4,594/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- $699
- Per year
- $55,130
- Fee share
- 15.2%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Remote quote$4,394/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $52,730
- Fee share
- 11.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Multiplier quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
9 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $4,094 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $4,094/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $4,214 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $4,214/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $4,294 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $4,294/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499$459 billed annually | $4,394 | Not stated on the pricing page | 150+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $4,394/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $4,394 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $4,394/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $4,494 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $4,494/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $4,594 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $4,594/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $4,594 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $4,594/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Mexico adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| IMSS — Sickness & maternity, fixed quota (cuota fija)Fixed amount per employee, independent of salary | MXN 8,735 / yr | Fixed amount per employee 20.40% of one UMA per day, paid for every employee regardless of salary (LSS Art. 106 / Decreto DOF 16-12-2020). Modelled as a flat amount: 0.2040 x the 2026 daily UMA of MXN 117.31 x 365 = MXN 8,734.90 per year. This percentage is supported by a secondary source citing the law; the JS-rendered IMSS and DOF percentage pages were not directly retrievable when checked. | IDC Online2026-09-02 |
| IMSS — Sickness & maternity, excess quota (cuota adicional) | 1.10% | Slice of gross salary between MXN 128,454 and MXN 1,070,454 / yr 1.10% employer share on the part of the contribution base (SBC) above three times the daily UMA (the first 3 UMA are covered by the fixed quota), up to the general 25-UMA/day ceiling. Modelled exactly as a band: 3 x UMA 117.31 x 365 = MXN 128,454.45 to 25 x UMA x 365 = MXN 1,070,453.75 per year. Secondary source (see cuota fija note). | IDC Online2026-09-02 |
| IMSS — Medical expenses for pensioners | 1.05% | Gross salary , capped at MXN 1,070,454 / yr 1.05% employer share of the salario base de cotizacion (SBC), capped at 25 UMA/day. Secondary source (see cuota fija note). | IDC Online2026-09-02 |
| IMSS — Sickness & maternity, cash benefits (en dinero) | 0.70% | Gross salary , capped at MXN 1,070,454 / yr 0.70% employer share of the SBC, capped at 25 UMA/day. Secondary source (see cuota fija note). | IDC Online2026-09-02 |
| IMSS — Disability & life insurance | 1.75% | Gross salary , capped at MXN 1,070,454 / yr 1.75% employer share of the SBC, capped at 25 UMA/day. Secondary source (see cuota fija note). | IDC Online2026-09-02 |
| IMSS — Daycare & social benefits | 1% | Gross salary , capped at MXN 1,070,454 / yr 1.00% employer share of the SBC, capped at 25 UMA/day. Secondary source (see cuota fija note). | IDC Online2026-09-02 |
| IMSS — Retirement (Retiro) | 2% | Gross salary , capped at MXN 1,070,454 / yr 2.00% employer share of the SBC, capped at 25 UMA/day. Also confirmed independently by PwC Tax Summaries ("2% on the base salary of the employee is paid by the employer for the concept of retirement"). Secondary source. | IDC Online2026-09-02 |
| IMSS — Old-age & unemployment-in-old-age (Cesantia y Vejez, CEAV) | 7.51% | Gross salary , capped at MXN 1,070,454 / yr Employer CEAV quota is progressive by SBC/UMA ratio under the 2020 pension reform (Decreto DOF 16-12-2020, Art. Segundo Transitorio), rising every year to 2030. 2026 table: 1 SM = 3.150%; 1.01-1.50 UMA = 3.676%; 1.51-2.00 UMA = 4.851%; 2.01-2.50 UMA = 5.556%; 2.51-3.00 UMA = 6.026%; 3.01-3.50 UMA = 6.361%; 3.51-4.00 UMA = 6.613%; 4.01+ UMA = 7.513%. A gross salary above roughly 4.01 UMA (~$171,700 MXN, ~$10,100 USD/year at the 2026 UMA) falls in the top 7.513% bracket -- true for effectively every salary this calculator models, including the $36,000 example. Secondary sources, cross-confirmed. | Manuel Nevarez y Asociados2026-09-02 |
| IMSS — Occupational risk insurance (prima de riesgo)Class I (ordinary/office risk) minimum premium — applies to desk-based roles such as software engineers | 0.54% | Gross salary , capped at MXN 1,070,454 / yr Employer-only premium set by risk class (LSS Art. 73), ranging roughly 0.5%-15% of the SBC depending on the employer's accident record and industry. Shown here is the Class I minimum premium (0.54355%), the class for low-risk office work, capped at 25 UMA/day. A logistics, manufacturing or field-labor employer would fall into a higher class. Secondary source (specialized payroll firm). | SDV2026-09-02 |
| INFONAVIT — Housing fund contribution | 5% | Gross salary , capped at MXN 1,070,454 / yr 5.00% employer contribution to the national housing fund on the same SBC used for IMSS, capped at 25 UMA/day. Confirmed on INFONAVIT's own site ("el empleador debe aportar el 5% del salario") and by Ley del INFONAVIT Art. 29 ("cinco por ciento sobre el salario base de cotizacion"), independently corroborated by PwC Tax Summaries ("5% ... for the concept of housing must be paid by the employer"). | INFONAVIT2026-09-02 |
| State payroll tax (impuesto sobre nominas)Levied by the state where the employee works; rate set by each state | 3% | Gross salary Modelled at 3%. Each state sets its own rate (roughly 2-4% of payroll); PwC's Mexico summary (reviewed 6 Aug 2026) cites Mexico City as the example, and Mexico City raised its rate to 4% from 2025 (Codigo Fiscal CDMX art. 158, per CDMX business-chamber sources). The EOR bills the rate of the state where the employee works. Secondary source. | PwC Tax Summaries2026-09-02 |
| Aguinaldo (13th-month bonus) | 0.5 months | Added to the annual cost15 days of salary minimum, paid before 20 December (LFT Art. 87: "un aguinaldo anual ... equivalente a quince dias de salario, por lo menos"). Modeled as 15/30 = 0.5 extra month of gross pay. | Ley Federal del Trabajo, Articulo 87 (Orden Juridico Nacional, gob.mx)2026-09-02 |
| Vacation premium (prima vacacional) | 0.82% | Added to the annual cost25% premium on the pay corresponding to vacation days (LFT Art. 80: "prima no menor de veinticinco por ciento sobre los salarios"), on top of the vacation pay itself. First-year minimum is 12 paid vacation days (LFT Art. 76, "vacaciones dignas" reform, in force since 2023). Calc: 12 days x 25% = 3 days' pay equivalent = 3/365 = 0.82% of annual gross. | Ley Federal del Trabajo, Articulos 76 y 80 (Orden Juridico Nacional, gob.mx)2026-09-02 |
| Profit sharing (PTU) not in total | — | 10% of the company's adjusted taxable income is distributed among employees (LFT Art. 117-120 sets the obligation; the 10% figure is fixed by the Comision Nacional para la PTU). Per-employee payout is capped at the higher of 3 months' salary or the average PTU received over the last 3 years; not due in a company's first year of operation. Not computable from an individual salary alone, so excluded from the total (in_total: false). Secondary source (PwC Tax Summaries, an approved fallback per project rules). | PwC Tax Summaries2026-09-02 |
| Employer on-cost at $36,000 | +29.8% | $10,742 a year, $895 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
Opening a Mexican legal entity (S.A. de C.V.) plus employer registration with IMSS and INFONAVIT typically takes 3-6 months (Oyster: hiring via EOR takes "as little as 48 hours, without setting up a local entity that typically takes three to six months"; Deel cites 4-5 months for full incorporation), versus 2-5 business days through an EOR. Once headcount in Mexico is likely to stay above roughly 8-10 employees on a multi-year basis, the amortized cost of a local entity and in-country payroll provider usually undercuts per-employee EOR fees.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Papaya Global fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $5,988 | $10,742 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $17,964 | $32,227 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $29,940 | $53,711 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $59,880 | $107,422 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $119,760 | $214,845 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 12 days
- Public holidays
- 7
- 13th month
- Mandatory
- Probation
- up to 6 months
- Notice
- No statutory advance-notice period for dismissal or resignation (Remote's Mexico guide: "employers and employees have no obligation to notify the other party in advance"); unjustified dismissal instead requires severance under LFT Art. 48-50 -- about 3 months' salary plus 20 days' pay per year of service, plus the seniority premium (Art. 162).
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-02
Get a quote for Mexico from the providers that publish a price.
Totals for 1 hire at $36,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Mexico: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much do mandatory employer costs add to a salary in Mexico?
- IMSS social security, INFONAVIT housing, the state payroll tax, the aguinaldo (13th-month bonus) and the vacation premium together add roughly 28-31% on top of gross salary for an office role such as a software engineer earning around $36,000/year, before any EOR service fee. EOR vendors themselves cite employer on-cost ranges of about 20-30% for Mexico depending on state and salary.
- Is there a salary cap on IMSS and INFONAVIT contributions in Mexico?
- Yes. Most IMSS branches and INFONAVIT are calculated on a base capped at 25 times the daily UMA (about $1,070,454 MXN, roughly $63,000 USD per year at the 2026 UMA value of $117.31 MXN/day), so employer costs stop scaling linearly above that salary level.