Employer of Record in Denmark: what one employee really costs
Denmark, Europe. One software engineer at $70,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +3.3%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $6,224 – $6,724
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 1 day
- per Deel - Hire employees in Denmark ('your next hire could start in as little as 1 days [sic] with Deel')
Hiring one software engineer in Denmark at $70,000 gross a year costs about $191 a month in statutory employer charges (+3.3%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $6,224 to $6,724 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Denmark
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ DKK 456,613 gross / year · DKK at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $5,833 | |
| ATP labour market supplementary pension (employer share) | flat | $30 |
| AUB employers' education contribution, including the VEU levy | flat | $36 |
| Barsel.dk parental leave equalisation scheme | flat | $28 |
| Occupational accident insurance premium (arbejdsskadeforsikring) | flat | $28 |
| AES occupational disease contribution and workplace-injury duty | flat | $6 |
| Financing contribution (finansieringsbidrag), including the wage guarantee fund | flat | $4 |
| Holiday supplement (ferietillaeg), 1% of salary | 1% | $58 |
| Employer on-cost | +3.3% | $191 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $6,025 |
$6,224/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $74,683
- Fee share
- 3.2%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$6,524/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $78,283
- Fee share
- 7.6%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$6,624/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $79,483
- Fee share
- 9.0%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $6,224 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $6,224/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $6,344 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $6,344/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $6,424 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $6,424/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $6,424 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $6,424/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $6,524 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $6,524/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $6,524 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $6,524/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $6,604 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $6,604/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $6,624 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $6,624/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $6,624 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $6,624/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $6,624 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $6,624/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $6,724 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $6,724/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $6,724 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $6,724/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Denmark adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Salaried monthly employee, business services industry group = 1.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ATP labour market supplementary pension (employer share)Flat amount per employee working at least 117 hours a month, independent of salary | DKK 2,376 / yr | Fixed amount per employee This is the whole of Denmark's statutory pension charge on an employer, and it is a fixed sum rather than a percentage. The official rate table for monthly-paid employees on the A-sats gives, for at least 117 hours a month, an employee share of DKK 99.00, an employer share of DKK 198.00 and DKK 297.00 in total per month - so DKK 2,376 a year from the employer, whatever the salary. Below 117 hours the amount steps down in thirds and stops entirely under 39 hours. Because it is flat, ATP is a meaningful cost on a low wage and a rounding error on a high one: on the example salary here it is just over half a percent. The occupational pension of 8% to 12% that appears on most Danish offers is not this charge and is not law; it comes from collective agreements, and it is carried separately below at zero. | Virk (ATP)2026-09-20 |
| AUB employers' education contribution, including the VEU levyEvery employer that pays ATP contributions, per full-time employee | DKK 2,821 / yr | Fixed amount per employee AUB funds Denmark's vocational training system and is charged to every employer that pays ATP. The 2026 figure is stated plainly by the administering body: 'I 2026 skal I betale 2.821 kr. for hver fuldtidsansat medarbejder' - DKK 2,821 for each full-time employee - made up of a quarterly AUB contribution of DKK 596.75 and a VEU adult-training levy of DKK 108.50, DKK 705.25 a quarter in all. Two details matter under an employer of record. There is a deduction for the first employee and for every fiftieth, so a one-person company pays nothing at all - but the legal employer here is the provider, with a Danish payroll far past that threshold, so your hire is charged in full. And the separate Laerepladss-AUB bonus-malus, which rewards employers that take on apprentices, is assessed on the provider's own apprentice record, not on yours. | Virk (Arbejdsgivernes Uddannelsesbidrag)2026-09-20 |
| Barsel.dk parental leave equalisation schemeEvery private-sector employer, per full-time monthly-paid employee | DKK 2,200 / yr | Fixed amount per employee Barsel.dk spreads the cost of paid parental leave across the private sector, and it rose sharply this year: 'Fra 1. januar 2026 er bidragssatsen til Barsel.dk 2.200 kr. pr. aar (550 kr. pr. kvartal) for en fuldtidsansat, maanedsloennet medarbejder', up from DKK 1,550 in 2025 under Lov nr. 1625 of 16 December 2025. It is collected in proportion to ATP: each full quarterly ATP contribution of DKK 891 triggers one DKK 550 payment. It is compulsory - the scheme's own FAQ answers 'are we forced to pay you' with 'Ja' - unless every employee is covered by another approved parental scheme. What it buys back is a reimbursement when someone does take leave, which matters because the Funktionaer Act separately obliges the employer to pay half salary from the start of maternity leave until fourteen weeks after the birth. | Virk (Barsel.dk)2026-09-20 |
| Occupational accident insurance premium (arbejdsskadeforsikring)Compulsory for every employer, bought from a private insurer at a market premium | DKK 2,219 / yr | Fixed amount per employee secondary source: this is the one line in the ledger above whose price the state does not set, so it is modelled from a provider's published figure rather than from an authority. The obligation itself is statutory and was read at source: section 48 of the Workers' Compensation Act says every employer has a duty of cover for the people it employs, and that the duty is met 'ved at tegne forsikring mod foelgerne af arbejdsulykker' - by taking out insurance against workplace accidents - alongside joining AES for occupational disease. No Danish authority publishes a premium, because accident cover is sold on the private market and priced per employer. The amount used here is Deel's published Denmark line item, DKK 184.91 a month, read 20 September 2026, which annualises to DKK 2,219. Treat it as an order of magnitude a provider actually charges, not a rate: your own quote will differ, and a hazardous role will differ a great deal. | Deel2026-09-20 |
| AES occupational disease contribution and workplace-injury dutyEvery employer that pays ATP contributions; the amount is set by the company's industry code | DKK 457 / yr | Fixed amount per employee AES covers occupational disease, as distinct from the accident insurance above, and it is collected automatically alongside ATP. The rate is set by industry group rather than by salary, and the published 2026 table gives, for group 71 - financing and business services - an AES contribution of DKK 268 and a workplace-injury duty of DKK 189, DKK 457 a year in all per full-time employee, two kroner of administration included. The spread across industries is wide: DKK 284 for utilities, DKK 2,323 for general construction, DKK 10,892 for defence and policing. Your own figure depends on the industry code of the legal employer, which under an employer of record is the provider's, not yours. | Arbejdsmarkedets Erhvervssikring2026-09-20 |
| Financing contribution (finansieringsbidrag), including the wage guarantee fundEvery private employer registered for VAT or payroll tax, and every foreign company even without a Danish VAT registration, per person with a full ATP contribution | DKK 328 / yr | Fixed amount per employee A small joint charge with an unusually transparent breakdown. The 2026 rate is DKK 82.00 per full-time employee per quarter, DKK 328 a year, and the administering body publishes what each krone funds: DKK 55.00 to the wage guarantee fund that pays salary, pension and holiday money if an employer goes bankrupt, DKK 19.75 towards sickness benefit, DKK 13.25 towards unemployment benefit and adult-training allowance, and two negative entries, minus DKK 5.00 for parental benefit and minus DKK 1.00 for job-clarification allowance, which are refunds of earlier over-collection. Public employers do not pay it; foreign companies do, even without a Danish VAT registration. | Virk (Samlet Betaling)2026-09-20 |
| Holiday supplement (ferietillaeg), 1% of salary | 1.00% | Added to the annual costThe only part of a Danish employer's bill that is a percentage of pay, and the one line here that is genuinely additional rather than a reshuffling of salary. Section 16(1) of the Holiday Act says a monthly-paid employee entitled to full pay on public holidays and sick days 'faar loen under ferie samt et ferietillaeg paa 1 pct. af loennen' - salary during holiday plus a 1% supplement. Read the alternative carefully before comparing this figure with anyone else's. The two subsections are the Act's two regimes for the same thing - the chapter is headed 'the payment during holiday' - and they are mutually exclusive: section 16(2) gives a holiday allowance of 12.5% to an employee 'som ikke er omfattet af stk. 1', who is not covered by subsection 1. So 12.5% is what the holiday itself is paid with where there is no salary during it, not a supplement stacked on twelve months of pay. Before accepting a Danish quote that shows 12.5% above a full monthly salary, ask which of the two regimes the contract is under. The 1% supplement is paid with the May and August salaries, or as each holiday begins. | Holiday Act (Ferieloven), LBK nr. 152 of 20 February 2024, section 16(1) and 16(2)2026-09-20 |
| Occupational pension of 8-12% - collective agreement, not law not in total | — | Carried at zero because no Danish statute requires it, and named because it is the largest number anyone will quote you for Denmark. The pension the law puts on an employer is ATP, the flat contribution in the ledger above. The 8% to 12% arbejdsmarkedspension on most Danish offers comes from a collective agreement or from the individual contract, which is why it varies by sector and why a provider can price it only once it knows which agreement applies. Budget it as market cost if you want a competitive offer - on this example salary a 10% employer pension would cost several times everything in the table above put together - but do not read it as a statutory charge, and do not accept it in a quote without asking which agreement obliges it. | Virk (ATP)2026-09-20 |
| Full salary during sickness - paid by the employer not in total | — | A real and potentially large employer cost that cannot honestly be a rate, so it is named here and left out of the total. The Funktionaer Act treats illness as lawful absence, and its section 5(2) allows an employer to give one month's notice only once a salaried employee 'har oppebaaret loen under sygdom i ialt 120 dage' within twelve consecutive months - has drawn salary during sickness for 120 days - which is the Act stating, in the course of limiting it, that the employer pays. Denmark therefore differs from countries that fund sick pay through an employer contribution: here the charge arrives as salary you keep paying. Municipal sickness benefit reimburses part of it after the first weeks, and how much you end up paying depends on the person, not on the payroll. | Salaried Employees Act (Funktionaerloven), LBK nr. 1002 of 24 August 2017, section 5(2)2026-09-20 |
| Holiday fund administration fees - DKK 68 a year not in total | — | Named for completeness and carried at zero because it is too small to survive rounding, not because it does not exist. Two administration fees ride along with the quarterly Samlet Betaling collection: DKK 4 a month per employee for FerieKonto, and DKK 5 a quarter for Loenmodtagernes Feriemidler, the fund holding the holiday pay frozen during the 2019 transition. Together they come to DKK 68 a year, about US$10, or under a dollar a month - less than a rounding step on any figure on this page. The FerieKonto fee applies only where holiday pay is actually routed through FerieKonto, which is not the case for a monthly-paid employee taking paid holiday, although providers commonly bill it anyway. | Virk (Samlet Betaling)2026-09-20 |
| Employer on-cost at $70,000 | +3.3% | $2,295 a year, $191 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
Denmark taxes heavily and charges employers lightly, and the two facts are the same fact: the welfare state is funded from the employee's payslip, not from a contribution on top of it. Almost everything a Danish employer owes is a flat sum measured per employee rather than a share of pay, which has two consequences for the entity decision. The statutory charges barely grow with salary, so scaling a Danish team adds cost in a straight line with headcount and does not punish seniority; and the numbers are small enough that running your own entity saves nothing on the payroll itself. What it saves is the provider fee, which at the salary priced here runs from about the size of every statutory line put together, at its cheapest published level, to more than three and a half times it. Against that, the entity has to carry the two costs this table cannot price: salary during sickness, which the law leaves on the employer, and whichever occupational pension your offer has to match to hire at all. Both fall on you either way; a provider only spreads the administration. For one or two engineers the provider is the cheaper overhead, and a permanent Copenhagen team is a straightforward entity case.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $2,295 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $6,884 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $11,473 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $22,945 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $45,890 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 25 days
- Public holidays
- 10
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- up to 3 months
- Notice
- One month in the first six months of service, three months after six months, then one month more for every three years of service up to a maximum of six, all under section 2 of the Salaried Employees Act. During an agreed probation of no more than three months the employer's notice is fourteen days; the employee gives one month throughout.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-20
Get a quote for Denmark.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $70,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Denmark: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in Denmark?
- Statutory employer charges come to about DKK 10,400 a year in fixed contributions - ATP, AUB, Barsel.dk, AES, the financing contribution and compulsory accident insurance - plus a 1% holiday supplement on salary. On a US$70,000 salary that is roughly 3.3% in all, about US$190 a month. Published EOR fees then run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so at this salary even the cheapest published fee, $199, is about the size of every Danish statutory charge combined. Because the fixed part does not grow with pay, the statutory side overtakes a $199 fee at a salary just under $80,000.
- Why are Danish employer contributions so low when Danish taxes are so high?
- Because Denmark collects from the employee, not the employer. Income tax and the 8% labour market contribution are withheld from the salary, and they fund the welfare state that other countries finance through employer social security. What is left on the employer side is a handful of fixed amounts per employee - a pension contribution of DKK 198 a month, a training levy, a parental-leave contribution, occupational disease cover and a financing charge - none of which rises with pay. The employer cost is low; the cost of employing someone at a given take-home is not.
- Do I have to pay an 8-12% pension in Denmark?
- Not by law. The statutory pension is ATP, the flat DKK 198 a month in the table above. The 8% to 12% occupational pension that appears on most Danish offers comes from collective agreements or the individual contract, not from legislation, which is why it varies by sector. It is real market cost and you will probably have to pay it to hire, but it should be quoted as a benefit you have chosen, not as a statutory charge. Ask any provider which agreement it says obliges the figure.
- Is the Danish holiday cost 1% or 12.5%?
- Both exist and they are alternatives, not additions. A monthly-paid employee with full pay on public holidays and sick days keeps their salary during holiday and receives a supplement of 1% of pay, under section 16(1) of the Holiday Act. Everyone else gets a holiday allowance of 12.5% under section 16(2), and that 12.5% replaces salary during the holiday rather than adding to it. A quote that shows 12.5% on top of a full monthly salary is counting the holiday weeks twice. Employees earn 2.08 days a month, five weeks a year. Danish law names ten public holidays, listed in the Retail Act since Great Prayer Day was abolished in 2024, but no statute makes them paid days off: time off and pay on those days follow the collective agreement or the contract.
- What notice and probation apply in Denmark, and who pays for sick leave?
- Probation can be agreed for at most three months, during which the employer gives fourteen days' notice. After that the Salaried Employees Act sets one month's notice in the first six months, three months thereafter, and one month more for every three years of service up to six. Sick pay is the item that surprises foreign employers: a salaried employee keeps full salary while ill and the employer pays it, with municipal reimbursement only after the first weeks - there is no employer contribution that covers it in advance.