Employer of Record in Qatar: what one employee really costs
Qatar, Middle East. One software engineer at $60,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, at the official Qatar Central Bank parity. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +2.9%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $5,343 – $5,843
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 15 days
- per Deel - Hire employees in Qatar ('your next hire could start in as little as 15 days with Deel')
Hiring one software engineer in Qatar at $60,000 gross a year costs about $144 a month in statutory employer charges (+2.9%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $5,343 to $5,843 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Qatar
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ QAR 218,400 gross / year · QAR at the official Qatar Central Bank parity
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $5,000 | |
| End-of-service gratuity (provision) | 5.77% | $144 |
| Employer on-cost | +2.9% | $144 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $5,144 |
$5,343/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $64,119
- Fee share
- 3.7%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$5,643/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $67,719
- Fee share
- 8.8%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$5,743/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $68,919
- Fee share
- 10.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $5,343 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $5,343/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $5,463 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $5,463/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $5,543 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $5,543/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $5,543 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $5,543/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $5,643 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $5,643/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $5,643 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $5,643/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $5,723 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $5,723/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $5,743 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $5,743/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $5,743 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $5,743/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $5,743 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $5,743/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $5,843 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $5,843/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $5,843 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $5,843/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Qatar adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Non-Qatari employee on a work visa and residence permit = 1; Basic wage as a share of the total package = 0.5.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| End-of-service gratuity (provision)Workers who have completed one year or more of employment, paid at the date of termination | 5.77% | Basic wage Article 54 of Law No. 14 of 2004: 'The Employer shall pay at date of termination the end of service gratuity in addition to any amounts due to the Worker who spent one year or more in employment. This gratuity shall be agreed upon by the two parties, provided that it is not less than a three-week Remuneration for every year of employment... The last Basic Wage shall be taken as the basis of the calculation of the gratuity.' Three weeks in fifty-two is 5.7692% a year, and this ledger applies it to the basic wage because that is what the article's own calculation sentence says. The tension inside the article is worth knowing before signing anything: the floor is expressed in Remuneration, which includes every allowance, while the base of the calculation is the Basic Wage, which includes none of them. Read it the first way on a package split evenly and the provision doubles. Fractions of a year are owed in proportion once a full year is complete, and the employer may deduct from the gratuity what the worker owes it. Nothing in the Law requires the amount to be funded month by month, so this is a provision rather than a payment. | Law No. 14 of 2004 promulgating the Labour Law, article 54, consolidated text on the Al-Meezan legal portal (status: in force)2026-09-20 |
| Qatari retirement and pensions contribution not in total | — | Carried at zero because it does not reach the employee an employer of record places. Law No. 24 of 2002 on Retirement and Pensions states that its provisions apply to Qatari employees subject to the Civil Service Law and to Qatari public servants in public authorities, institutions and corporations; the beneficiary it defines is 'the Qatari beneficiary'. Nothing in it extends to a foreign worker in the private sector. This line is named rather than omitted because a reader comparing Qatar with Germany or France will look for the payroll contribution first and find nothing, and a missing line is easier to trust when it says why it is missing. | Law No. 24 of 2002 on Retirement and Pensions, scope of application, Al-Meezan legal portal2026-09-20 |
| Mandatory health cover and workmen's compensation not in total | — | secondary source for the prices, not the obligation: the obligation itself is read in Law No. 22 of 2021 regulating healthcare services, in force, in its official Arabic text on Al-Meezan. Health insurance is mandatory for expatriates and visitors (art. 8), no expatriate may be employed or have a residence permit issued or renewed without proof of cover for the whole stay (art. 10), and the employer pays the premiums for its workers' basic healthcare and may not recover the cost from them (art. 13). Neither the law nor its executive regulation (Minister of Public Health Decision No. 8 of 2022) sets a premium amount, so the prices rest on Deel's Qatar hiring page, read on 20 September 2026: local health insurance at QAR 3,330 to about QAR 5,150 per employee, workmen's compensation insurance at QAR 350 billed annually, and social security at 14% of basic salary and housing allowance for Qatari and GCC nationals only, which is consistent with what Law No. 24 of 2002 says about its own scope. All of it is carried at zero because each item is a price per head rather than a share of pay. At the QCB peg those charges are between about US$1,010 and US$1,510 a year for one employee, which is larger than it looks against a statutory percentage under three points. | Law No. 22 of 2021 regulating healthcare services within the State (in force), arts. 8, 10 and 13; premium levels from Deel's Qatar hiring guide2026-09-24 |
| Employer on-cost at $60,000 | +2.9% | $1,731 a year, $144 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
Qatar gives a foreign employer a very short statutory ledger and a long lead time, and the two facts are connected. There is no employer pension contribution for an expatriate, so the payroll percentage is small; what the employer carries instead is a residence permit, a work visa, mandatory health cover priced per person and a gratuity that accrues quietly until someone leaves. Deel quotes 15 days to a first Qatari start, faster than its 20 days for Saudi Arabia and the Emirates but still an order of magnitude slower than a European hire. Two questions decide whether your own entity is worth it: how many people you expect to employ, since the per-head charges do not fall with scale, and how the package is split, since every riyal moved from allowances into basic pay raises the gratuity in direct proportion. The figure on this page is a floor of about 2.9% of salary at an even split.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $1,731 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $5,192 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $8,654 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $17,308 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $34,615 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 21 days
- Public holidays
- 10
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- up to 6 months
- Notice
- Article 49 gives a worker paid monthly one month's written notice where service is five years or less, and two months where it is more. Probation may not exceed six months under article 39 and may not be imposed twice by the same employer. Article 10 is worth knowing on the way out: a claim for worker benefits is free of judicial fees and lapses one year after the contract ends.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-20
Get a quote for Qatar.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $60,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Qatar: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in Qatar?
- For one expatriate employee at US$60,000 gross a year, the only statutory employer charge is the end-of-service gratuity: three weeks of basic wage for each year of employment, which is 5.77% of basic pay, or about 2.88% of the whole package where basic pay is half of it. That is roughly US$144 a month, so the employer cost before any provider fee is at least about US$5,144 a month. Published employer-of-record fees then run from US$199 to US$699 per employee per month, which puts the all-in cost between about US$5,340 and US$5,840 a month. Mandatory health cover, workmen's compensation and visa costs sit outside that figure because they are amounts per head.
- Do employers pay social security in Qatar?
- Not for a foreign employee. Law No. 24 of 2002 on Retirement and Pensions applies to Qatari employees under the Civil Service Law and to Qatari public servants, and the beneficiary it defines throughout is the Qatari beneficiary. Deel's Qatar page, read on 20 September 2026, describes the same boundary from the employer's side: social security at 14% of basic salary and housing allowance for Qatari and GCC nationals only. For the expatriate an employer of record normally places, the end-of-service gratuity is the whole of the statutory employer cost.
- How is end-of-service gratuity calculated in Qatar?
- Article 54 of the Labour Law sets a floor of three weeks' pay for every year of employment, owed once the worker has completed one year, with fractions of a year paid in proportion. The article states the floor in Remuneration, which includes allowances, and then says the last Basic Wage is the basis of the calculation, which excludes them. This page follows the calculation sentence and applies 5.77% to basic pay, and flags the ambiguity because it is worth a written answer in a contract: on a package split evenly between basic pay and allowances, the two readings differ by a factor of two.
- How much annual leave and how many public holidays does Qatar require?
- Article 79 gives a worker who has completed a continuous year at least three weeks of paid annual leave, rising to at least four weeks from five years of service, with fractions of a year in proportion. Article 78 adds paid public holidays: three working days for Eid al-Fitr, three for Eid al-Adha, one for Independence Day and three more set by the employer, ten in all. Article 81 forbids waiving annual leave or taking cash for it during service, though untaken days are paid out when the contract ends.
- What is the minimum wage in Qatar?
- Qatar's statutory minimum is structured rather than a single figure: QAR 1,000 a month of basic pay, QAR 500 for housing and QAR 300 for food, as Deel's Qatar hiring page sets it out. That structure is useful well above the minimum, because it is the only official split of a Qatari package into basic pay and allowances, and the split is what decides the end-of-service gratuity. At the minimum, basic pay is 56% of the package; this page models a professional salary at 50% and therefore publishes a floor.