Employer of Record in Belgium: what one employee really costs
Belgium, Europe. One software engineer at $65,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +34.4%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $7,477 – $7,977
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 3 days
- per Deel - Hire employees in Belgium ('your next hire could start in as little as 3 days')
Hiring one software engineer in Belgium at $65,000 gross a year costs about $1,861 a month in statutory employer charges (+34.4%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $7,477 to $7,977 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Belgium
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ EUR 56,719 gross / year · EUR at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $5,417 | |
| ONSS employer social security contribution, for-profit private sector | 25% | $1,354 |
| Special unemployment contribution (employers of ten or more) | 1.69% | $92 |
| Double holiday pay (double pecule de vacances), 92% of a month's salary | 7.67% | $415 |
| Employer on-cost | +34.4% | $1,861 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $7,278 |
$7,477/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $89,722
- Fee share
- 2.7%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$7,777/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $93,322
- Fee share
- 6.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$7,877/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $94,522
- Fee share
- 7.6%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $7,477 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $7,477/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $7,597 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $7,597/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $7,677 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $7,677/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $7,677 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $7,677/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $7,777 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $7,777/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $7,777 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $7,777/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $7,857 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $7,857/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $7,877 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $7,877/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $7,877 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $7,877/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $7,877 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $7,877/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $7,977 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $7,977/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $7,977 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $7,977/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Belgium adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Hire is a white-collar employee (employe / bediende), not a manual worker (ouvrier / arbeider) = 1; Legal employer has ten or more employees, so the special unemployment contribution applies = 1.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ONSS employer social security contribution, for-profit private sectorEvery employee of a for-profit private-sector employer, with no salary ceiling found in the official sources read | 25% | Gross salary The national social security office states it in one line: the employer contribution for the for-profit private sector is 25%. The federal employment department adds that this figure already contains the 7.48% wage moderation contribution, so that is not an extra charge on top. The non-profit private sector pays 32.40% instead. No ceiling on the base is published on either official page; a private payroll bureau mentions a quarterly cap, which is not confirmed by either authority and is therefore not modelled. The wage moderation share is indexed and moves between quarters, so the 25% total is re-read at each data refresh. | ONSS / socialsecurity.be2026-09-20 |
| Special unemployment contribution (employers of ten or more)Only employers occupying at least ten workers; always the case when the legal employer is an EOR provider | 1.69% | Gross salary 1.60%, or 1.69% once wage moderation is added, charged for unemployment and owed only by employers with ten or more workers. It is the one Belgian line where using a provider costs more than a small entity of your own: the provider is over the threshold by definition, a two-person subsidiary is not. The same official page introduces it as one of 'une serie de petites cotisations' owed on top of the 25%, and names two others without rates - see the line below. | SPF Emploi2026-09-20 |
| Double holiday pay (double pecule de vacances), 92% of a month's salary | 7.67% | Added to the annual costThe Belgian line foreign buyers miss most often. On top of normal salary during the four weeks of leave, an employee is owed a separate annual payment of 92% of the normal monthly salary, which is 7.67% of annual gross - the same 7.67% the social security office itself prints when it decomposes exit holiday pay into a simple and a double half. One detail makes it cheaper than it looks: the social security office states that on this part of holiday pay 'les cotisations de securite sociale ne sont pas dues', so it does not carry the 25% above. What is withheld instead is a special employee contribution of 13.07%, which comes out of the employee's side and not the employer's, and which the office says does not cover the whole amount. It is paid once a year, when the main holiday is taken, pro rata for a partial year. | ONSS2026-09-20 |
| Company-closure fund and at-risk-group contributions - rates not published not in total | — | The reason the Belgian total on this page is a floor rather than a final figure. The federal employment department, on the same page that gives the 25%, says employers also owe 'une serie de petites cotisations sous certaines conditions' and names the ordinary and special contribution to the company-closure fund (fonds de fermeture d'entreprises) and the contributions for at-risk groups, without printing a rate for either. They are carried at zero because no rate is published there, not because they are nil. The gap is small and visible: Deel's Belgium page prints social security at 27.28% against the 26.69% of the two lines above, about 0.6 points. Treat the total on this page as a floor and ask the provider to itemise the rest. | SPF Emploi2026-09-20 |
| Year-end bonus / 13th month - sector agreement, not law not in total | — | Carried at zero because no Belgian statute imposes a year-end bonus on every employer. What imposes it is the collective agreement of the joint committee the hire falls under, and most committees have one, so in practice it is close to certain. The committee is therefore the question to ask, and for once a provider answers it in public: Deel states that its Belgian EOR employees sit under Joint Committee 200, the catch-all for white-collar staff, and that this raises the applicable minimum from the national EUR 2,070.48 a month to EUR 2,380.64. The same committee also governs the year-end bonus and the voucher rules, so one answer settles three lines of your offer. | Deel2026-09-20 |
| Work accident insurance - compulsory, priced by the insurer not in total | — | Compulsory for every Belgian private-sector employer under the law of 10 April 1971, from the first day of work and with an authorised insurer. Fedris, the federal agency for occupational risks, states that an employer found uninsured is affiliated automatically for the uninsured period, that Fedris pays the victim as an insurer would and recovers everything from the employer, and that criminal proceedings can follow. It is carried at zero because the premium itself is priced by the private insurer according to the risk class, and no authority publishes a tariff or an average. Fedris does publish a bound: the flat contribution charged on automatic affiliation, which it says is higher than the premium of a work accident policy, runs in 2026 from about EUR 124.66 per worker per calendar month for up to three uninsured months to EUR 297.74 beyond twelve. By Fedris's own statement, then, a regular policy costs less than the roughly EUR 124.66 per worker per month of the lowest step. | Fedris2026-09-24 |
| Meal vouchers - only where a collective agreement grants them not in total | — | Carried at zero because meal vouchers are not a legal entitlement: they exist where a sector or company agreement creates them. Where they do exist the employer's share is capped at EUR 8.91 per voucher and the employee must put in at least EUR 1.09, one voucher per day actually worked. At the ceiling that is roughly EUR 1,900 a year, so it matters to a budget even though it never appears in a statutory rate. Eco-vouchers and sport or culture vouchers work the same way, capped at EUR 250 and EUR 100 a year. | SPF Emploi2026-09-20 |
| Employer on-cost at $65,000 | +34.4% | $22,334 a year, $1,861 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
Belgium is where the entity-versus-provider arithmetic is least obvious, because one statutory line actually runs the other way. The 1.69% special unemployment contribution is owed only by employers with ten or more workers, so a provider always pays it and your own two-person subsidiary would not. Everything else points the usual way: a 25% employer contribution with no visible ceiling, double holiday pay once a year, and a joint committee that dictates minimum pay, the year-end bonus and voucher rules before you write the offer. The real cost of the entity route in Belgium is not incorporation, it is that somebody has to own the joint committee question permanently. For one or two hires a provider absorbs that; from five or more local employees the fixed fees usually tip the other way.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $22,334 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $67,002 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $111,670 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $223,340 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $446,680 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 20 days
- Public holidays
- 10
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- abolished in 2014
- Notice
- No probation period since 1 January 2014; a probation clause in a contract signed after that date is void. For contracts starting on or after 1 August 2026 the dismissal notice is one week for the first six months of service, then six weeks to nine months, rising by seniority and capped at 52 weeks from seventeen years. Contracts that began before 1 June 2026 follow the older scale, which is uncapped and reaches 65 weeks and beyond.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-20
Get a quote for Belgium.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $65,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Belgium: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in Belgium?
- Statutory employer charges come to at least 34.4% of gross salary: 25% ONSS for the for-profit private sector, 1.69% special unemployment contribution because an EOR's legal employer normally occupies ten or more workers, and 7.67% for the double holiday pay owed once a year. It is a floor, because two further small contributions are owed at rates the authority does not publish. On a US$65,000 salary that is roughly US$1,900 a month on top of salary. Published EOR fees then run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost lands near $7,500 to $8,000 a month depending on the provider.
- What is Belgian double holiday pay and who pays it?
- It is a separate annual payment worth 92% of a month's normal salary, owed on top of the salary the employee already receives during the four weeks of leave. For a white-collar employee the employer pays it directly when the main holiday is taken. No employer social security is due on it, so it costs the employer 7.67% of annual gross; the 13.07% withholding on it comes out of the employee's side. It is also the line providers leave out: Deel's Belgium page prints an employer cost of 28.38% with no mention of it, which is why a quote can look six points cheaper than the year actually costs.
- Is a 13th month mandatory in Belgium?
- Not by law, but in practice almost. There is no general statute; the obligation comes from the collective agreement of the joint committee the hire falls under, and most committees have one - committee 200, the default for white-collar staff, accrues it per fully worked month. Ask your provider which joint committee it will register the hire under before you agree a salary, because the same answer also fixes minimum pay and meal vouchers.
- Can I still use a probation period in Belgium?
- No. Probation was abolished on 1 January 2014 and a probation clause signed after that date is void. Since 1 August 2026 there is something close to it though: for contracts starting from that date, notice during the first six months of service is one week, in both directions. It is a shorter notice, not a right to end the contract without one.
- Is Belgium cheaper through my own entity than through a provider?
- On one line, yes, which is unusual. The 1.69% special unemployment contribution only applies to employers with ten or more workers, so a small subsidiary of your own escapes it while every provider pays it. Against that, the entity carries permanent local administration, starting with tracking the joint committee that governs your employee's pay and bonus. The decision pages put both routes on the same numbers.