Employer of Record in Latvia: what one employee really costs
Latvia, Europe. One software engineer at $38,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +23.6%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $4,113 – $4,613
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 3 days
- per Deel - Hire employees in Latvia ('your next hire could start in as little as 3 days with Deel')
Hiring one software engineer in Latvia at $38,000 gross a year costs about $747 a month in statutory employer charges (+23.6%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $4,113 to $4,613 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Latvia
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ EUR 33,159 gross / year · EUR at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $3,167 | |
| Mandatory state social insurance contributions (VSAOI), employer share | 23.59% | $747 |
| Employer on-cost | +23.6% | $747 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $3,914 |
$4,113/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $49,352
- Fee share
- 4.8%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$4,413/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $52,952
- Fee share
- 11.3%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$4,513/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $54,152
- Fee share
- 13.3%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $4,113 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $4,113/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $4,233 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $4,233/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $4,313 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $4,313/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $4,313 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $4,313/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $4,413 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $4,413/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $4,413 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $4,413/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $4,493 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $4,493/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $4,513 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $4,513/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $4,513 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $4,513/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $4,513 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $4,513/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $4,613 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $4,613/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $4,613 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $4,613/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Latvia adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: The employee is insured for every branch of social insurance = 1.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mandatory state social insurance contributions (VSAOI), employer shareEvery employer, on the full pay of an employee insured for all branches of social insurance | 23.59% | Gross salary This single rate is the whole employer side of a Latvian payslip. The State Revenue Service states it in one sentence - 'Obligato iemaksu likme, ja darba nemejs tiek apdrosinats visiem socialas apdrosinasanas veidiem, ir 34,09 %, no kuriem 23,59 % maksa darba devejs un 10,50 % - darba nemejs' - a total rate of 34.09%, of which the employer pays 23.59% and the employee 10.50%. One line covers pensions, health, unemployment, disability, maternity, sickness, parental cover and accidents at work; Latvia does not bill them separately the way Germany or Poland do. The modelling decision worth stating: no ceiling is applied here even though one exists. The VSAOI base is capped at EUR 105,300 a year for 2026 (it was EUR 78,100 as recently as 2024), but the same VID page explains what happens above it - 'Obligato iemaksu objekts, kas parsniedz maksimalo apmeru, ir solidaritates nodokla objekts un no si objekta veiktas obligatas iemaksas tiek novirzitas solidaritates nodoklim' - the base above the ceiling becomes the object of the solidarity tax, and the contributions paid on it are redirected to that tax. The employer keeps paying; only the name of the payment changes. Capping the line at EUR 105,300 would therefore understate a senior salary, so the rate is carried flat and the solidarity tax is named instead. | State Revenue Service (Valsts ienemumu dienests)2026-09-20 |
| Business risk state fee (uznemejdarbibas riska valsts nodeva) not in total | — | Cabinet of Ministers Regulation No. 651 of 4 November 2025, in force from 1 January 2026 to 31 December 2026, point 2: 'Valsts nodevas apmers parskata menesi ir 0,36 euro' - the fee is EUR 0.36 per reporting month for each employee with whom an employment relationship has been established; point 3 sets payment by the 23rd of the following month. Regulation No. 533 of 8 September 2026, in force from 1 January 2027, keeps the same EUR 0.36. The State Revenue Service adds that since 1 October 2023 natural persons who employ staff owe it too. It is carried at zero rather than as a contribution line for two reasons: on a EUR 33,000 salary EUR 4.32 a year is about 0.013% of pay, too small to show as its own line at any salary this page prices, and it is a flat head-count fee rather than a share of pay. Its purpose is the insolvency fund that pays wages owed when an employer fails, so under an employer of record the fee follows the provider's payroll, not yours. Expect it as a line on the invoice or folded silently into the monthly fee. | Cabinet of Ministers Regulation No. 651 (4 November 2025) on the business risk state fee in 2026, point 2, consolidated text in force (likumi.lv)2026-09-24 |
| Minimum contribution object - employer tops up below the floor not in total | — | Carried at zero because it never binds at a full-time professional salary, and named because it is the Latvian trap on part-time work. Since 1 July 2021 contributions are owed on a minimum object regardless of what was actually paid: VID gives the 2026 figure as EUR 2,340 a quarter, that is EUR 780 a month, calculated by the State Social Insurance Agency and billed to the employer afterwards. A half-time hire at EUR 600 a month is charged as though paid EUR 780. It is worth asking a provider how it handles part-time Latvian contracts, because the top-up arrives as a separate assessment rather than in the ordinary monthly run. | State Revenue Service2026-09-20 |
| Thirteenth month - not required by Latvian law not in total | — | Carried at zero because the Labour Law creates no thirteenth-month salary and no statutory holiday bonus. Annual leave is paid at average earnings under the same law, with no separate holiday supplement of the kind Sweden, Belgium or Finland add on top. Bonuses, private health insurance and a remote-work allowance are normal in the Latvian technology market and are contractual; price them as market cost in a competitive offer, not as a legal charge. | Labour Law (Darba likums), consolidated text on the official legal portal likumi.lv2026-09-20 |
| Employer on-cost at $38,000 | +23.6% | $8,964 a year, $747 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
In Latvia it is the statutory ledger, not the fee, that moves the decision. At 23.59% the employer charge on a US$38,000 salary is about US$747 a month, so an entity of your own saves nothing on it: a Latvian SIA files exactly the same single contribution on the same base. What the entity route buys is the monthly fee and the freedom to set your own payroll calendar; what it costs is registration, a Latvian accountant, monthly reporting to the State Revenue Service and the electronic declaration system, against a hire a provider says can start in about three days. The Latvian-specific point to settle before you decide is the ceiling. Above EUR 105,300 a year the contribution stops being VSAOI and becomes the solidarity tax at the employer's expense, so a senior salary does not get cheaper as it rises the way it does in Germany or Japan. Model the full-year cost of your actual band, not the marginal rate, before comparing an entity with a provider.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $8,964 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $26,893 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $44,821 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $89,642 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $179,284 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 20 days
- Public holidays
- 15
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- up to 3 months
- Notice
- One month under article 103(1)(3) of the Labour Law for the ordinary employer grounds, including a reduction in the number of employees. The same article sets ten days for several fault-based grounds, immediate notice for the gravest, and two months where the employee has been recognised as a person with a disability. An employee resigning gives one month under article 100(1) unless the contract sets a shorter period.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-20
Get a quote for Latvia.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $38,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Latvia: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in Latvia?
- The statutory employer charge is a single mandatory social insurance contribution of 23.59% of gross pay, part of a 34.09% total split with the employee's 10.50%. On a US$38,000 salary that is about US$747 a month on top of pay. Published EOR fees then run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost lands near $4,110 to $4,610 a month, and the statutory side, about US$747 a month, is larger than even the top of that fee range.
- Why is Latvia's employer cost 23.59% when Lithuania's is 1.77%?
- Because Latvia never made the transfer its neighbour made. In 2019 Lithuania moved almost the whole social insurance burden onto the employee and required gross salaries to be re-indexed by 1.289 to compensate; Latvia kept the conventional split, so its employer still carries 23.59 of the 34.09 points. Two consequences follow. A Latvian gross salary is built on a smaller base than a Lithuanian one for the same take-home pay, and comparing the two headline employer rates on the same nominal salary exaggerates the gap. Compare total cost of employment instead.
- Does the Latvian contribution ceiling reduce the cost of a senior hire?
- No, and this is the detail most comparison pages miss. The contribution base is capped at EUR 105,300 a year for 2026, but the State Revenue Service states that the base above the ceiling becomes the object of the solidarity tax and that the contributions paid on it are redirected to that tax. The employer keeps paying at the same headline percentage; only the destination of the money changes. That is why this page applies 23.59% flat instead of capping the line, and why a Latvian employer cost does not fade as pay rises the way Germany's or Japan's does.
- What else does a Latvian employer owe beyond the 23.59%?
- One small thing and one conditional thing. The business risk state fee is a flat monthly amount per employee that funds the insolvency guarantee; Cabinet of Ministers Regulation No. 651 sets it at EUR 0.36 a month for 2026, which is about 0.013% of this salary and is carried at zero here. Separately, contributions are owed on a minimum object of EUR 2,340 a quarter - EUR 780 a month in 2026 - whatever was actually paid, so a part-time Latvian hire costs more than its salary implies. Neither changes the figure on this page for a full-time professional role.
- What leave, probation and notice apply in Latvia?
- Article 149(1) of the Labour Law sets annual paid leave at not less than four calendar weeks excluding public holidays, which is twenty working days on a five-day week, and a full month for employees under eighteen. The holidays law names fifteen recurring public holiday days, among them 23 and 24 June for Ligo and Jani and three separate days at Christmas, and provides that when 4 May or 18 November falls on a Saturday or Sunday the next working day becomes a day off. Probation runs to at most three months under article 46(2), extendable to six only by a collective agreement concluded with a trade union. Employer notice is one month for the ordinary grounds.