Country fileEGEGPVerified 2026-09-21
EG EGP · Africa/Cairo (UTC+2)

Employer of Record in Egypt: what one employee really costs

Egypt, Africa. One software engineer at $18,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the European Commission's September 2026 exchange rate. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+4.2%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$1,761 – $2,261
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
10 days
per Deel - Hire employees in Egypt ('your next hire could start in as little as 10 days with Deel')

Hiring one software engineer in Egypt at $18,000 gross a year costs about $62 a month in statutory employer charges (+4.2%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $1,761 to $2,261 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Egypt

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ EGP 905,238 gross / year · EGP at the European Commission monthly rate for September 2026

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$1,500
Old-age, disability and death insurance, employer share capped12%$40
Sickness insurance, employer share capped3.25%$11
Work-injury insurance, medical treatment share capped1%$3
Work-injury insurance, cash benefits share capped0.50%$2
Unemployment insurance, employer share capped1%$3
Gratuity scheme, employer share capped1%$3
Employer on-cost+4.2%$62
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$1,562
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$1,761/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$21,135
Fee share
11.3%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$2,061/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$24,735
Fee share
24.2%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$2,161/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$25,935
Fee share
27.7%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Egypt + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $18,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $1,761 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $1,761/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $1,881 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $1,881/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $1,961 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $1,961/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $1,961 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $1,961/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $2,061 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $2,061/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $2,061 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $2,061/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $2,141 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $2,141/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $2,161 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $2,161/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $2,161 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $2,161/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $2,161 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $2,161/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $2,261 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $2,261/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $2,261 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $2,261/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Egypt adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
Old-age, disability and death insurance, employer shareEvery employer, on the contributory wage between the statutory floor and ceiling 12% Gross salary , capped at EGP 200,400 / yr, floor EGP 32,400 / yr Article 19 of Social Insurance and Pensions Law 148 of 2019 sets the employer share at 12% of the monthly wages of the insured employees, against 9% for the employee. The same article carries the escalator: contribution rates rise by one percentage point every seven years from the date the law took effect, split equally between employer and employee, until total contributions reach 26%. The law came into force on 1 January 2020, so the first step falls due on 1 January 2027 and would take this line to 12.5%. National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI)2026-09-21
Sickness insurance, employer sharePrivate-sector employees, on the contributory wage between floor and ceiling 3.25% Gross salary , capped at EGP 200,400 / yr, floor EGP 32,400 / yr Article 70 of Law 148 of 2019 splits the employer's sickness contribution by category of insured person: 3% for the categories listed at items 1 and 2 of the article 2 schedule, which are state administration and public-sector staff, and 3.25% for items 3, 4 and 5. Item 3 is 'private-sector employees subject to the Labour Law', so a private employer pays 3.25%, not 3%. The employee's own share is 1% of wages. Article 70 opens by preserving the Comprehensive Health Insurance Law 2 of 2018, which is being rolled out governorate by governorate and changes how health cover is financed where it has arrived. National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI)2026-09-21
Work-injury insurance, medical treatment shareEmployees not yet covered by the Comprehensive Health Insurance system 1% Gross salary , capped at EGP 200,400 / yr, floor EGP 32,400 / yr Article 46(1) of Law 148 of 2019 requires a monthly employer contribution of 1% of the contributory wage, paid to the health insurance authority against treatment and medical care, and it is expressly written for employees not subject to the Comprehensive Health Insurance Law 2 of 2018. Egypt is phasing that system in by governorate, so in a governorate already switched over this 1% is superseded by the new scheme's financing rather than added to it. Ask a provider which regime covers the governorate your hire lives in. National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI)2026-09-21
Work-injury insurance, cash benefits shareEvery employer, at the base rate for a low-risk activity 0.50% Gross salary , capped at EGP 200,400 / yr, floor EGP 32,400 / yr Article 46(2) of Law 148 of 2019 sets a monthly employer contribution of 0.5% of the contributory wage against the cash rights the fund owes, and then adds that the rate 'is increased up to 1% according to the risks of the establishment's activity' as prescribed by the executive regulation. This ledger prices a software or office employer at the 0.5% base rate and says so rather than picking the middle of a band: a hazardous activity carries up to 1%, which would take the Egyptian employer total from 18.75% to 19.25%. The rate is a property of the establishment, not of the individual hire. National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI)2026-09-21
Unemployment insurance, employer sharePrivate and public-sector employees; employer pays the whole of it 1% Gross salary , capped at EGP 200,400 / yr, floor EGP 32,400 / yr Article 86 of Law 148 of 2019 finances unemployment insurance from 'the share borne by the employer at 1% of the wages of the insured persons employed by him, monthly'. There is no employee share of this branch. Article 85 applies the chapter to the categories at items 2 and 3 of the article 2 schedule, which includes private-sector employees under the Labour Law, while excluding casual, seasonal and contracting labour. National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI)2026-09-21
Gratuity scheme, employer shareEmployees in the article 2 'employees of others' category 1% Gross salary , capped at EGP 200,400 / yr, floor EGP 32,400 / yr Article 36 of Law 148 of 2019 creates a gratuity scheme funded by two equal shares of 1% of the contributory wage, one from the employee and one from the employer. The money is held in a personal account in the employee's name and invested by the authority, and the balance is paid out when the insurance entitlement falls due. At 1% it is one of the smaller employer lines and the least familiar to anyone reading Egypt through an older payroll guide. National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI)2026-09-21
Contributory wage floor and ceiling for 2026: EGP 2,700 and EGP 16,700 a month not in total — Carried at zero because it is the band the rates apply to, not a charge of its own - but it is the number that decides the Egyptian employer cost. NOSI announced on 30 November 2025 that from 1 January 2026 the minimum contributory wage rises from EGP 2,300 to EGP 2,700 and the maximum from EGP 14,500 to EGP 16,700, under Law 148 of 2019 and its executive regulation. Because the ceiling is low against a software salary, the whole 18.75% applies to at most EGP 16,700 a month: the employer charge stops at EGP 3,131 a month no matter how high the salary goes. The band is revised each January, so a page quoting EGP 14,500 is a year out of date. National Organization for Social Insurance2026-09-21
Employee contribution of 11% - deducted from pay, not an employer charge not in total — Carried at zero because it comes out of the employee's pay. Law 148 of 2019 puts 9% on the employee for old-age, disability and death (article 19), 1% for sickness (article 70) and 1% for the gratuity scheme (article 36), which is the 11% usually quoted next to the employer's 18.75%. Both are charged on the same capped contributory wage, so the two together stop at EGP 4,968 a month. National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI)2026-09-21
Per-head fixed fees a provider may add on top of the percentage not in total — Carried at zero because these are amounts in Egyptian pounds per employee per month rather than a share of salary, and because they are the provider's list rather than a single statutory schedule. Deel publishes four of them next to the 18.75%: a training and rehabilitation fund contribution of EGP 0.833, an emergency fund contribution of EGP 29.80, a social, health and cultural services fund contribution of EGP 1.33, and a disability workforce contribution of EGP 425 per employee per month. The last one dwarfs the others and relates to Egypt's disability employment quota, so it is worth asking any provider whether it is charging it and on what basis. Deel2026-09-21
Thirteenth month pay - not required by Egyptian law not in total — Carried at zero because Labour Law 14 of 2025 does not require a thirteenth month. What it does require is an annual periodic raise, and a three-month notice period on an open-ended contract that applies from the first day after probation rather than building up with seniority. Ministry of Labour2026-09-21
Employer on-cost at $18,000+4.2%$747 a year, $62 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

Egypt looks expensive and prices cheaply, because of one number. The statutory employer rate is 18.75% - 12% pension, 3.25% sickness, 1.5% work injury, 1% unemployment and 1% gratuity, each traceable to its own article of Law 148 of 2019 - but every one of them applies to a contributory wage capped at EGP 16,700 a month from 1 January 2026. That ceiling is worth roughly USD 332 a month at the September 2026 accounting rate, so the entire employer charge stops at about EGP 3,131 a month. Against a software salary the effective on-cost is therefore a few per cent, and it falls further with every raise. Two things follow for a hiring decision. First, the percentage you see quoted for Egypt (18.75%) and the percentage you will actually pay are different numbers, and anyone budgeting from the headline will over-provision. Second, the real variables are elsewhere: the three-month notice period that Labour Law 14 of 2025 applies uniformly from day one after probation, the per-head fixed fees a provider may add, and the currency itself - the Egyptian pound is flagged as volatile in this site's exchange-rate file, so a dollar budget set today can drift with the January revision of the wage band. Running your own entity changes none of the statutory rates; it changes who carries the registration, the monthly filing and the governorate-by-governorate question of which health insurance regime applies.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Egypt
0$36,477$72,954$109,431$145,9081351020 0$36k$73k$109k$146k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $747
3 $7,164$20,844 $2,241
5 $11,940$34,740 $3,736
10 $23,880$69,480 $7,472
20 $47,760$138,960 $14,943

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
21 days
Public holidays
not recorded
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
up to 3 months
Notice
Three months on an open-ended contract, for either side, under article 156 of Labour Law 14 of 2025 - a flat period that does not step up with seniority. Article 161 forbids agreeing a shorter one or waiving it, though the parties may agree a longer one and the employer may release a resigning employee from serving it. The contract stays alive throughout the notice period under article 160.
Reviewed
2026-09-21

Get a quote for Egypt.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $18,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Egypt: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $1,761/mo Get a Papaya quote· $2,061/mo Get a Deel quote· $2,161/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

How much does an employer of record cost in Egypt?
On a USD 18,000 salary the gross is about $1,500 a month and statutory employer charges add about $62, so payroll lands near $1,562 before the provider fee. Add the fee: about $1,761 a month with Remofirst at $199, about $2,161 with Deel at $599. The employer charge is small in dollars because the whole 18.75% applies to at most EGP 16,700 of monthly wage.
What is the employer cost in Egypt as a percentage of salary?
About 4.2% at a USD 18,000 salary, against a statutory rate of 18.75%. The gap is the contributory wage ceiling: from 1 January 2026 the rates apply to no more than EGP 16,700 a month, so the employer charge is capped at roughly EGP 3,131 a month. Double the salary and the dollar charge does not move, so the percentage halves.
What makes up the Egyptian employer contribution of 18.75%?
Five separate branches of Law 148 of 2019: 12% for old-age, disability and death under article 19, 3.25% for sickness under article 70, 1.5% for work injury under article 46 (1% towards medical treatment and 0.5% towards cash benefits), 1% for unemployment under article 86 and 1% for the gratuity scheme under article 36. A higher-risk activity carries up to 1% on the work-injury cash line, taking the total to 19.25%.
Is the Egyptian contribution rate going up?
Yes, on a schedule written into the law. Article 19 raises total contributions by one percentage point every seven years from the date Law 148 of 2019 took effect, split equally between employer and employee, until the combined rate reaches 26%. The law came into force on 1 January 2020, so the first step is due on 1 January 2027 and would move the employer share from 18.75% to 19.25%. The wage band is separately revised each January.
What leave and notice apply in Egypt?
Labour Law 14 of 2025 gives 15 days of paid annual leave in the first year and 21 days from the second, rising to 30 days after ten years of service or at age 50. Probation is capped at three months and may be used only once with the same employer. Notice on an open-ended contract is three months for either party, and it cannot be shortened or waived by agreement.