Country fileILILSVerified 2026-09-20
IL ILS · Asia/Jerusalem (UTC+2/+3)

Employer of Record in Israel: what one employee really costs

Israel, Middle East. One software engineer at $75,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+15.4%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$7,412 – $7,912
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
1–5 days
per Deel - How to Hire Using an Employer of Record (EOR) in Israel (2026)

Hiring one software engineer in Israel at $75,000 gross a year costs about $963 a month in statutory employer charges (+15.4%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $7,412 to $7,912 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Israel

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ ILS 227,827 gross / year · ILS at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$6,250
National insurance (Bituach Leumi), reduced rate capped4.51%$114
National insurance (Bituach Leumi), full rate7.60%$282
Compulsory pension, employer contributions (tagmulim) capped6.50%$295
Compulsory severance provision (pitzuim) capped6%$272
Employer on-cost+15.4%$963
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$7,213
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$7,412/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$88,947
Fee share
2.7%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$7,712/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$92,547
Fee share
6.5%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$7,812/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$93,747
Fee share
7.7%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Israel + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $75,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $7,412 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $7,412/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $7,532 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $7,532/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $7,612 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $7,612/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $7,612 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $7,612/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $7,712 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $7,712/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $7,712 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $7,712/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $7,792 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $7,792/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $7,812 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $7,812/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $7,812 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $7,812/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $7,812 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $7,812/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $7,912 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $7,912/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $7,912 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $7,912/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Israel adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Israeli resident aged 18 to retirement age (column 1 of form 102) = 1.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
National insurance (Bituach Leumi), reduced rateIsraeli resident employees aged 18 to retirement age, on the part of the salary below the reduced collection step 4.51% Slice of gross salary between ILS 0 and ILS 92,436 / yr The employer pays 4.51% on the part of the salary up to the reduced collection step, which the National Insurance Institute sets at ILS 7,703 a month from 1 January 2026, so ILS 92,436 a year. The employer rate for this band has been 4.51% since 1 January 2025. There is no employer health-insurance contribution in Israel: the health levy of 3.23% and 5.17% is deducted from the employee alone, which is why the employee side of an Israeli payslip is far heavier than the employer side. National Insurance Institute2026-09-20
National insurance (Bituach Leumi), full rateThe slice of salary between the reduced collection step and the maximum income liable for contributions 7.60% Slice of gross salary between ILS 92,436 and ILS 622,920 / yr The employer pays 7.6% only on the slice of salary between the reduced step (ILS 7,703 a month) and the maximum income liable for contributions, which the same table sets at ILS 51,910 a month from 1 January 2026, so ILS 622,920 a year. Nothing is charged above that ceiling, and the employer rate for this band has been 7.6% since 1 January 2019. Because both ends are fixed in shekels, the effective national-insurance rate on a senior Israeli salary is well under 7.6% and keeps falling as pay rises. National Insurance Institute2026-09-20
Compulsory pension, employer contributions (tagmulim)Insured salary, which is the salary paid or the national average wage, whichever is lower 6.50% Slice of gross salary between ILS 0 and ILS 165,228 / yr Israel has no pension law: the obligation comes from an extension order issued under the Collective Agreements Law, which is why guides miss it. The employer deposits 6.5% to the retirement component, a rate in force since 1 January 2017 and recited in a Supreme Court judgment of 4 November 2025 as part of the 18.5% minimum (6% employer severance, 6.5% employer contributions, 6% employee). The base is capped: section 6(c) of the consolidated order applies the duty to 'the salary paid to the employee, or the average wage in the economy as updated from time to time, whichever is the lower'. That average wage, under section 2 of the National Insurance Law, is ILS 13,769 a month from 1 January 2026, so nothing is statutory above ILS 165,228 a year. Israeli employers customarily insure the whole salary; the part above the cap is contractual, not statutory, and is not modelled here. Supreme Court of Israel2026-09-20
Compulsory severance provision (pitzuim)Insured salary, which is the salary paid or the national average wage, whichever is lower 6% Slice of gross salary between ILS 0 and ILS 165,228 / yr The same extension order makes the employer deposit 6% to the severance component every month, at the rates in the section 6(d) table since 1 January 2014, on the same insured salary capped at the average wage. This is a real monthly cash cost, not a provision you can postpone. Section 7 is the catch: those deposits stand in place of severance under section 14 of the Severance Pay Law only 'in respect of the salary, the components, the periods and the rates for which the provision was made', so an employer who deposits the 6% minimum on a capped base has not discharged the whole severance entitlement. See the severance top-up line below. Ministry of Labour2026-09-20
Severance top-up to 8.33% - the gap this page does not add not in total — Section 9 of the extension order lets the employer raise the severance component to 8.33% of the pay elements it contributes on, and section 7 limits the substitution for statutory severance to what was actually provisioned. Provider quotes for Israel carry the full 8.33% on the whole salary, which is the single largest reason their published statutory range (Deel: 19.34% to 23.43%) sits above the figure on this page. The 2.33 points shown here are the gap inside the extension order, on the same capped insured salary; the uncapped part of the severance entitlement is a further liability that falls due on dismissal. Ask any provider whether its Israeli quote provisions 6% or 8.33%, and on the capped or the whole salary - the answer is worth several points of payroll. Ministry of Labour2026-09-20
Travel allowance (dmei nesiaa) not in total — The extension order on the employer's share of travel to and from work, signed on 8 August 2016 and applying to all employees and employers in Israel from 1 February 2016, sets the reimbursement at up to ILS 22.60 per working day. Every employee who needs transport to reach the workplace is entitled to it for each day actually worked, priced at the discounted bus fare or discounted monthly pass from home to work; it is not paid to an employee the employer transports, and it is halved when transport is provided one way. It is carried at zero because it is a reimbursement per day of attendance, capped in shekels, not a percentage of salary, and it does not scale with pay. It is named because it is a genuine employer cost that appears on an Israeli EOR invoice and in none of the top-ranked guides for this query. A provider guide prints it as a flat ILS 323 a month, a figure the order does not contain. Ministry of Labour2026-09-24
Convalescence pay (dmei havraa) not in total — Owed to private-sector employees once they complete a first year of service, then pro rata for part years, normally paid once a year between June and September. The days come from the 2016 extension order on convalescence and recreation expenses: 5 days in the first year, 6 in years two and three, 7 in years four to ten, 8 in years eleven to fifteen, 9 in years sixteen to nineteen and 10 from the twentieth year, pro rata for part-time. The day rate is set each year: an extension order signed by the Minister of Labour on 16 August 2026, extending the general collective agreement of 22 June 2026, fixes the rate for the 2026 convalescence year at ILS 451.50 a day, so a full-time employee in the second year of service is owed ILS 2,709. It is carried at zero because it is a number of days at a shekel rate, not a percentage of salary. Budget it as a real annual cost from the first full year of service. Ministry of Labour2026-09-24
Study fund (keren hishtalmut) - not required by law not in total — Carried at zero because no Israeli statute or general extension order requires it. Deel's Israel guide describes it as an optional but common tech-sector benefit with an employer contribution around 7.5%, either capped at a salary of ILS 15,712 or uncapped. It is close to unavoidable in a competitive Tel Aviv offer, so treat it as market cost, not as a legal charge - the same treatment this site gives the Swedish occupational pension. Deel2026-09-20
Employer on-cost at $75,000+15.4%$11,559 a year, $963 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

Deel's Israel guide, dated 9 June 2026, puts its own estimate for your own Israeli entity at ILS 118,380 of one-off registration, legal and banking cost plus ILS 125,517 a year of bookkeeping, audit, payroll and corporate tax, against ILS 24,233 a year per employee for its employer-of-record service, and one month to the first hire against one business day. Those are Deel's figures for its own comparison, not an independent estimate, and they exclude the thing that actually decides the question in Israel: labour-court exposure. Israeli labour courts reclassify contractors readily and dismissal requires a documented hearing, so the first two or three hires usually sit better inside a provider's entity than inside a new one of your own. Compare the two routes on the right basis: the figure on this page is at least 15% of salary, a floor rather than a total, because the severance owed above the capped monthly provision falls due on dismissal whoever the legal employer is - it follows the hire, not the structure.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Israel
0$60,684$121,367$182,051$242,7351351020 0$61k$121k$182k$243k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $11,559
3 $7,164$20,844 $34,676
5 $11,940$34,740 $57,794
10 $23,880$69,480 $115,588
20 $47,760$138,960 $231,176

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
12 days
Public holidays
9
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
no statutory maximum
Notice
Notice builds up during the first year - one day for each of the first six months of service, then 2.5 days for each further month - and is 30 days once a full year is complete. Payment in lieu or garden leave is allowed. There is no statutory probation period in Israel; probation is whatever the contract says.
Reviewed
2026-09-20

Get a quote for Israel.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $75,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Israel: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $7,412/mo Get a Papaya quote· $7,712/mo Get a Deel quote· $7,812/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

How much does an employer of record cost in Israel?
For one employee at US$75,000 gross a year (about ILS 228,000), the statutory employer charges are national insurance at 4.51% on the first ILS 7,703 a month and 7.6% up to ILS 51,910 a month, plus 6.5% pension and 6% severance on the insured salary capped at the national average wage. That comes to at least 15% on top of salary, and the words matter: it is a floor, not a final figure, because the severance owed above the capped monthly provision falls due on dismissal and is not counted here. Published employer-of-record fees then run from US$199 to US$699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost starts at roughly US$7,400 a month and reaches about US$7,900 with the most expensive provider, before that severance tail.
Why is this figure lower than the 19% to 23% providers quote for Israel?
Because the extension order that creates the Israeli pension duty caps the insured salary at the average wage in the economy, ILS 13,769 a month from 1 January 2026, and because its minimum severance rate is 6%, not 8.33%. Provider quotes apply both pension and severance to the whole salary and use 8.33% for severance, which is lawful, common and more generous than the statute requires. This page shows the floor Israeli law compels, which is why it is published as 'at least' rather than as a total; the difference is contractual, and it is worth asking each provider which of the two it has priced.
Is the compulsory pension in Israel really capped?
Yes, for the statutory minimum. Section 6(c) of the consolidated extension order applies the pension duty to the salary paid or the average wage in the economy, whichever is lower, so the mandatory 6.5% and 6% stop at ILS 165,228 a year. That is well below a senior Tel Aviv salary, which is why Israel's statutory on-cost falls as pay rises. Most Israeli employers insure the whole salary anyway, by contract or collective arrangement, and any offer competitive in the tech market will do the same.
How many paid vacation days does Israeli law require?
The Annual Leave Law gives 16 leave days a year for each of the first five years of service, rising to 18 in the sixth year, 21 in the seventh and one more day a year after that up to 28. Those are leave days rather than working days: only one weekly rest may be counted for every seven leave days, so on the standard Sunday-to-Thursday week the first-year entitlement works out at 12 working days off, which is the figure used here.
Is a 13th-month salary mandatory in Israel?
No. Israel has no 13th-month entitlement. What it has instead, and what foreign employers routinely miss, is a set of annual obligations that are not a percentage of the payslip: convalescence pay scaled by seniority, a travel allowance per working day, and in the tech market a study fund that is optional in law and close to compulsory in practice. None of the three is counted in the total on this page, and all three will appear on a real Israeli invoice.