Employer of Record in Thailand: what one employee really costs
Thailand, Asia. One software engineer at $30,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +1.1%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $2,726 – $3,226
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Hiring one software engineer in Thailand at $30,000 gross a year costs about $27 a month in statutory employer charges (+1.1%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $2,726 to $3,226 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Thailand
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ THB 1,000,654 gross / year · THB at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $2,500 | |
| Social security contribution (เงินสมทบประกันสังคม), employer share capped | 5% | $26 |
| Workmen's Compensation Fund (กองทุนเงินทดแทน), employer only capped | 0.20% | $1 |
| Employer on-cost | +1.1% | $27 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $2,527 |
$2,726/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $32,717
- Fee share
- 7.3%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$3,026/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $36,317
- Fee share
- 16.5%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$3,126/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $37,517
- Fee share
- 19.2%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $2,726 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $2,726/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $2,846 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $2,846/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $2,926 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $2,926/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $2,926 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $2,926/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $3,026 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $3,026/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $3,026 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $3,026/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $3,106 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $3,106/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $3,126 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $3,126/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $3,126 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $3,126/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $3,126 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $3,126/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $3,226 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $3,226/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $3,226 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $3,226/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Thailand adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Workmen's compensation main rate 0.2% (office and business services class) = 0.2.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Social security contribution (เงินสมทบประกันสังคม), employer shareSection 33 insured employees; charged on monthly wages between THB 1,650 and THB 17,500 | 5% | Gross salary , capped at THB 210,000 / yr, floor THB 19,800 / yr Five per cent in three pieces, all on the same capped base: 1.5% for sickness, invalidity, death and maternity and 3% for child allowance and old age, both from the 2012 ministerial regulation's schedule C in force since 1 January 2013, plus 0.5% for unemployment from the 2003 regulation in force since 1 January 2004. The ceiling is the whole story on an engineer's salary. It had been THB 15,000 a month since 1995; a ministerial regulation published in the Government Gazette on 12 December 2025 raised it to THB 17,500 from 1 January 2026, then THB 20,000 from 2029 and THB 23,000 from 2032. The employer's bill therefore stops at THB 875 a month, up from THB 750 in 2025. | Ministerial Regulation prescribing the minimum and maximum wages used as the base for calculating contributions of insured persons under section 33, B.E. 2568 (2025)2026-09-20 |
| Workmen's Compensation Fund (กองทุนเงินทดแทน), employer onlyEmployer-only work-injury cover; base capped at THB 240,000 of annual pay per employee | 0.20% | Gross salary , capped at THB 240,000 / yr The Social Security Office states that the employer alone pays this fund, that the contribution is the year's total wages per employee capped at THB 240,000 multiplied by a main rate of 0.2% to 1.0% by business type, and that from the fifth year the rate is adjusted by the employer's own claims experience — up to 50% above the main rate for a loss-making record, down for a clean one. At the office class the whole line is THB 480 a year, under US$15. | Social Security Office notice on the criteria and method for calculating the loss ratio, with the accompanying explanation of experience-rated contributions2026-09-20 |
| Provident fund contribution not in total | — | Carried at zero because no statute creates it. Thailand has no mandatory occupational pension on top of social security: a provident fund is voluntary, set up by agreement between employer and employees and typically 3% to 5% matched. Providers often quote one as part of a benefits package; that is a contractual cost, not a legal charge, so publishing it as law would publish a quote as the rule. | Ministerial Regulation prescribing the social security contribution rates B.E. 2555 (2012), schedule C2026-09-20 |
| Statutory severance pay on dismissal without cause not in total | — | Real and large, but contingent rather than recurring, so it is named here and left out of the monthly on-cost. Section 118 owes severance only when the employer ends the contract, in six steps by uninterrupted service: 30 days of the last wage from 120 days to under one year, 90 days from one to three years, 180 days from three to six, 240 days from six to ten, 300 days from ten to twenty, and 400 days from twenty years. That first threshold is why probation periods in Thailand are usually written as 119 days. Budget for it as an exit cost, and ask the provider whether it funds the accrual or invoices it when the hire ends. | Labour Protection Act B.E. 2541 (1998) as amended to the Labour Protection Act (No. 7) B.E. 2562 (2019), official English translation published by the Department of Labour Protection and Welfare, section 1182026-09-24 |
| Statutory annual leave (6 days after one year) not in total | — | Paid time inside the salary rather than an extra contribution. Section 30 gives an employee with one year of uninterrupted service annual holidays of not less than six working days a year, fixed in advance by the employer or by agreement, and lets the employer grant more from the following year; most provider contracts offer more, and a Thai employment contract usually sets 10 to 15 days. Sick leave is separate and paid for up to 30 days a year. | Labour Protection Act B.E. 2541 (1998) as amended to the Labour Protection Act (No. 7) B.E. 2562 (2019), official English translation published by the Department of Labour Protection and Welfare, section 302026-09-24 |
| Employer on-cost at $30,000 | +1.1% | $329 a year, $27 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
A Thai company means Ministry of Commerce registration, a foreign business licence or BOI promotion for a foreign-owned entity, a tax ID, and registration with the Social Security Office within 30 days of the first hire. Statutory employer charges are not the reason to open one: they are capped at THB 875 a month for social security plus a work-injury line of a few hundred baht a year. The reasons are work permits — which need an entity with paid-up capital and a Thai-to-foreign headcount ratio — and the severance exposure, which is the real money at the end of a Thai contract.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $329 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $988 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $1,646 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $3,292 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $6,584 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 6 days
- Public holidays
- 13
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- no statutory maximum; severance from 120 days
- Notice
- No fixed statutory maximum for probation, and no at-will termination: dismissal must rest on cause, and dismissal without cause requires notice of one full payment cycle — in practice one month — plus statutory severance that rises in steps with length of service once 120 days of work are complete. An employee resigns on the same one payment cycle of notice.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-20
Get a quote for Thailand.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $30,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Thailand: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much do statutory employer contributions add to a salary in Thailand?
- Very little on a professional salary, because the base is capped. At this page's example of US$30,000 — about THB 83,000 a month — the employer pays the social security maximum of THB 875 a month plus about THB 40 a month for the Workmen's Compensation Fund: roughly US$27 a month, or 1.1% of pay. On a salary at or below the THB 17,500 ceiling the same 5% rate costs the employer the full 5%.
- Did the Thai social security ceiling change in 2026?
- Yes. The wage base had been capped at THB 15,000 a month since 1995. A ministerial regulation published in the Government Gazette on 12 December 2025 raised it to THB 17,500 from 1 January 2026, and sets THB 20,000 from 2029 and THB 23,000 from 2032. The employer's maximum monthly contribution therefore went from THB 750 to THB 875 — about US$26 — and will reach THB 1,150 in 2032. Pages quoting THB 750 are working from the old regulation.
- Does Thailand have a mandatory 13th month or pension fund?
- Neither. There is no statutory 13th-month pay, though a discretionary annual bonus is common and usually written into the contract. There is no mandatory occupational pension either: a provident fund is voluntary and set up by agreement, typically 3% to 5% matched. Old-age cover sits inside the 5% social security contribution, which is why the employer's statutory bill stops where it does.
- What is the real cost of ending a Thai contract?
- Severance, not notice. Thailand has no at-will termination: dismissal must rest on just cause, and dismissal without cause needs one full payment cycle of notice plus statutory severance that steps up with length of service once 120 days of work are complete. That is why Thai probation periods are usually written as 119 days. Ask the provider whether it accrues the severance monthly or invoices it at the end.
- What does an employer of record in Thailand actually charge on top?
- The provider fee, and it dwarfs the statutory charges here. At US$30,000 the employer on-cost is about US$27 a month, while published EOR fees run to several hundred dollars a month — several times the entire statutory bill. That makes the fee, and any deposit, FX margin or benefits add-on, the number to negotiate in Thailand rather than the payroll charges themselves. Compare the all-in monthly totals in the table above, which already include both.