Playroll · Employer of Record pricingPlayroll: $399, plus one month's salary.
Playroll lists its Employer of Record 'starting at $399 per month' with 'no minimum commitments', no onboarding or offboarding fees, in 180+ countries, shown in USD, EUR (379), GBP (319), AUD (619) and CAD (549). It is the only provider on this site that publishes its deposit formula: a fully refundable security deposit equal to one month's salary per employee. One engineer in India at $30,000 costs $3,040 a month all-in (fee 13%) plus a $2,500 deposit at signature.
Checked 2 Sept 2026 on playroll.com · updated 2026-09-05
- Published EOR fee
- $399
- starting price
- Price position
- 3/8
- among providers with public prices
- Published coverage
- 180+
- countries claimed by Playroll
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Every number on the Playroll pricing page.
Per employee or contractor per month unless stated. 'Hire employees in 180+ countries' (EOR pricing page).
| Plan | Price / mo | Billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Employer of RecordEOR | from $399 | monthly | 'Starting at $399 per month. No minimum commitments.' Displayed in USD, EUR (379), GBP (319), AUD (619), CAD (549). No onboarding or offboarding fees; statutory employment costs and country-specific government charges billed separately; FX fees not published. |
- Deposit
- Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page).
- FX
- No percentage published on the pricing page
- Minimum term
- none
- Countries
- 180+
One employee through Playroll, in every country covered here.
| Country | Example salary | Employer on-cost | Playroll fee / mo | All-in / mo | Fee share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IN India | $30,000 | +5.6% | $399 | $3,040 | 13% |
| PH Philippines | $20,000 | +14.3% | $399 | $2,304 | 17% |
| CA Canada | $70,000 | +8.1% | $399 | $6,704 | 6% |
| MX Mexico | $36,000 | +29.8% | $399 | $4,294 | 9% |
| NL Netherlands | $65,000 | +26.0% | $399 | $7,223 | 6% |
| SG Singapore | $70,000 | +17.2% | $399 | $7,233 | 6% |
| GB United Kingdom | $60,000 | +16.4% | $399 | $6,219 | 6% |
| IE Ireland | $65,000 | +12.8% | $399 | $6,506 | 6% |
| DE Germany | $75,000 | +22.3% | $399 | $8,040 | 5% |
| AU Australia | $65,000 | +18.0% | $399 | $6,788 | 6% |
| ES Spain | $45,000 | +32.2% | $399 | $5,355 | 7% |
| IT Italy | $55,000 | +37.4% | $399 | $6,697 | 6% |
| PL Poland | $45,000 | +21.0% | $399 | $4,936 | 8% |
All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges + the published fee. "From" fees are the provider's floor; the invoice may be higher in some countries.
Run Playroll against two others in the cost engine · 1 hire in India at $30,000, every line editable Who Playroll fits, and who it does not.
Both sentences are built from the terms printed on the pricing page, not from opinions about the service.
- Choose Playroll if
- you want the third-lowest published fee with the deposit rule written down before the demo, monthly billing with no minimum commitment, and the price displayed in your own currency. Statutory costs are billed separately at cost, as with every provider.
- Look elsewhere if
- cash at signature is the constraint: the refundable deposit is one month of each employee's salary, $2,500 for a $30,000 hire and $6,250 for a $75,000 hire, which is why Playroll ranks below Multiplier and Papaya on the cash-to-start rule despite a lower fee. FX fees are not published.
The pricing page, in its own words
Employer of Record ‘starting at $399 per month. No minimum commitments’, in 180+ countries, displayed in USD, EUR 379, GBP 319, AUD 619 and CAD 549. No onboarding or offboarding fees. Statutory employment costs and country-specific government charges billed separately. Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month’s salary when onboarding an employee. Read on 2 September 2026.
The deposit, quantified
Playroll is the only provider on this site whose deposit can be computed from the page: one month of gross salary per employee, refundable. The best-for pages that rank on cash to start add it to the first month’s invoice, which is why Playroll drops behind providers with a higher fee and no stated deposit on those pages, and stays third on the all-in monthly total.
The fee in the whole hire
At $399 the fee is 13% of a $3,040 monthly invoice in India at $30,000 and 5% of $8,040 in Germany at $75,000. FX fees are not published; ask for the conversion rule in writing.
Compared head to head
Every priced provider is listed below, cheapest first. The best EOR for startups ranking, sorted on the all-in total, places Playroll third behind RemoFirst and Rivermate.
Providers that publish a price, cheapest first.
- RemoFirstfrom $199Not stated on the pricing page
- Rivermatefrom $319Not stated on the pricing page
- Multiplierfrom $499Not stated on the pricing page
- Papaya Globalfrom $499Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required').
- Deelfrom $599Not stated on the pricing page
- Oyster$699Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ).
- Remote$699No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ).
Get a Playroll quote for your scenario.
Ask for the deposit, the FX rule and any mandatory add-ons for your country in writing; those are the lines the price list leaves out.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
How we are paid by Playroll
Playroll runs its own referral programme ($1,000 per EOR customer after first payment ($800 global payroll, $30 contractor)). We have not yet applied; links currently go to the provider's own quote page. If we are admitted, we will earn a fee when a visitor becomes a customer; it will never change the price you pay or the numbers here. Full disclosure
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does Playroll cost?
- Starting at $399 per employee per month, no minimum commitments, no onboarding or offboarding fees; EUR 379, GBP 319, AUD 619 or CAD 549 in the other currencies displayed (checked 2 September 2026). Statutory employment costs and country-specific government charges are billed separately.
- Does Playroll require a deposit?
- Yes: a fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee, per the pricing page. For a $30,000 hire that is $2,500; for a $75,000 hire, $6,250. It is the only deposit formula published by any provider tracked here.
- Is Playroll cheaper than Deel?
- On the published fee, yes: $399 against Deel's $599 starting price, $200 a month or $2,400 a year per employee. Playroll asks for a refundable deposit of one month's salary; Deel does not state a deposit policy. Both are 'starting at' prices that can vary by country.
- What does one employee cost through Playroll?
- Salary plus statutory employer charges plus $399. In India at $30,000 that is $3,040 a month (fee 13%); in Germany at $75,000, $8,040 (fee 5%). Add the one-month deposit at the start, refundable at the end.