Country fileSASARVerified 2026-09-20
SA SAR · Asia/Riyadh (UTC+3)

Employer of Record in Saudi Arabia: what one employee really costs

Saudi Arabia, Middle East. One software engineer at $60,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, at the official Saudi Central Bank (SAMA) parity. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+6.0%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$5,497 – $5,997
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
20 days
per Deel - Hire employees in Saudi Arabia ('your next hire could start in as little as 20 days with Deel')

Hiring one software engineer in Saudi Arabia at $60,000 gross a year costs about $298 a month in statutory employer charges (+6.0%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $5,497 to $5,997 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Saudi Arabia

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ SAR 225,000 gross / year · SAR at the official Saudi Central Bank (SAMA) parity

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$5,000
GOSI occupational hazards and additional compensations2%$90
End-of-service award, first five years (provision)4.17%$208
Employer on-cost+6.0%$298
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$5,298
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$5,497/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$65,968
Fee share
3.6%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$5,797/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$69,568
Fee share
8.6%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$5,897/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$70,768
Fee share
10.2%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Saudi Arabia + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $60,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $5,497 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $5,497/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $5,617 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $5,617/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $5,697 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $5,697/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $5,697 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $5,697/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $5,797 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $5,797/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $5,797 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $5,797/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $5,877 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $5,877/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $5,897 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $5,897/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $5,897 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $5,897/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $5,897 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $5,897/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $5,997 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $5,997/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $5,997 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $5,997/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Saudi Arabia adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Non-Saudi employee on a work visa and iqama = 1; Basic pay plus housing allowance as a share of gross = 0.9.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
GOSI occupational hazards and additional compensationsEvery employee and worker in the Kingdom, Saudi or foreign, on basic pay plus housing allowance up to SAR 45,000 a month 2% Basic wage , capped at SAR 540,000 / yr This is the only social insurance branch a foreign employee triggers. Article 28 of the Social Insurance Law makes the occupational hazards branch mandatory for 'all employees who work in the Kingdom' and 'all workers who work in the Kingdom', with no nationality condition, and article 29(1) sets the contribution at 'two percent of the contributory wage or salary', borne by the employer alone. Article 8(2) caps the contributory wage at SAR 45,000 a month, so SAR 540,000 a year. Two conditions can move the rate: article 29(1) lets the Board double it for an employer who refuses to comply with safety instructions, and article 29(2) lets the Council of Ministers amend it on an actuarial study. A Saudi national on the same payroll costs 11% for the annuities branch under article 15 and 1% for unemployment insurance under article 44 on top of this line. Social Insurance Law, Royal Decree M/273 of 26/12/1445H (2 July 2024), Bureau of Experts official translation2026-09-20
End-of-service award, first five years (provision)Every employee, accruing from the first day and paid when the employment relation ends 4.17% Gross salary Article 84 of the Labor Law: 'the employer shall pay the worker an end-of-service award equivalent to the amount of a half-month wage for each of the first five years and a one-month wage for each of the following years', calculated 'on the basis of the last wage', with the portions of a year owed in proportion to time served. Half a month a year is 4.1667% of annual pay, and that is the rate modelled here; from the sixth year it doubles to 8.33%, so a long tenure costs an employer twice what this line shows. The base is the wage, not basic pay: article 2 defines the wage as everything given to the worker for the work, and the 2024 amendment to article 61 requires housing and transport to be provided or paid as a cash allowance 'to be included in their wage'. Article 86 is the one lawful narrowing: the parties may agree to leave commissions and sales percentages out of the calculation. This is a provision, not a monthly payment: Saudi law does not require it to be funded month by month, which is why a provider's invoice and a company's own accounts can differ on when it appears. Labor Law, Royal Decree M/51 of 23/8/1426H (27 September 2005), consolidated with its amendments, Bureau of Experts official translation2026-09-20
Resignation discount on the end-of-service award not in total — Carried at zero because it lowers a cost rather than adding one, and because no employer can plan on it. Article 85 of the Labor Law gives a worker who resigns one third of the award after two to five continuous years, two thirds after five to ten, and the whole of it after ten. Article 87 cancels that reduction where the worker leaves through force majeure, and for a female worker who ends her contract within six months of marriage or three months of childbirth. The practical consequence for a budget: the 4.1667% provision above is what a dismissal costs, and what a resignation costs is a fraction of it that depends on the calendar. Labor Law, Royal Decree M/51 of 23/8/1426H (27 September 2005), consolidated with its amendments, Bureau of Experts official translation2026-09-20
Work permit, iqama and repatriation costs not in total — Carried at zero because these are amounts per head, not a share of one salary, and they do not scale with pay. Article 40(1) of the Labor Law puts them all on the employer: 'the fees pertaining to the recruitment of non-Saudi workers, the fees for issuing and renewing residence permit (Iqama) and work permit, and the fines resulting from their delay, as well as the fees pertaining to change of profession, exit and re-entry visas, and return tickets to the worker's home country at the end of the relation'. Article 40(3) adds the transfer fee when a worker moves to a new sponsor. These are the charges that make a Gulf employer-of-record quote larger than its percentage suggests, and the reason a hire here takes weeks rather than days. Ask any provider which of them are inside its monthly fee and which are billed on. Labor Law, Royal Decree M/51 of 23/8/1426H (27 September 2005), consolidated with its amendments, Bureau of Experts official translation2026-09-20
Employer-provided health care not in total — Carried at zero because it is a premium per head and per dependant, set by an insurer against the employee's age and cover, not a percentage of pay. Article 144 of the Labor Law requires the employer to 'provide his workers with preventive and therapeutic health care in accordance with the standards set forth by the Minister, taking into consideration whatever is provided for by the Cooperative Health Insurance Law'. Budget it as a real annual cost from day one, and as one that grows with the number of dependants rather than with pay. Labor Law, Royal Decree M/51 of 23/8/1426H (27 September 2005), consolidated with its amendments, Bureau of Experts official translation2026-09-20
Housing and transport, or an allowance in their place not in total — Carried at zero because the amount is whatever the employer and employee agree, not a rate. Royal Decree M/44 of 8/2/1446H (12 August 2024) added paragraphs 5 and 6 to article 61 of the Labor Law, requiring the employer to 'provide appropriate housing for his workers, or pay adequate cash allowance in lieu of housing to be included in their wage', and the same for transport. Read the last six words: whatever the employer pays under this heading is part of the wage, so it lifts the base of the end-of-service award and, where it is the housing allowance, the GOSI base as well. This is the newest item on the page and the one most likely to be missing from guides written before 2025. Labor Law, Royal Decree M/51 of 23/8/1426H (27 September 2005), consolidated with its amendments, Bureau of Experts official translation2026-09-20
Employer on-cost at $60,000+6.0%$3,580 a year, $298 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

The statutory percentage is not what decides a Saudi hire. A foreign employee needs a work visa, an iqama and a block visa quota against the employer's Nitaqat band, and article 40 puts every one of those fees on the employer; that is why Deel quotes 20 days to a first Saudi start. Setting up your own entity means holding that quota yourself, in a nationalisation system that grades an establishment by the share of Saudis it employs, and a first foreign hire in a new entity with no Saudi staff is the hardest case the system produces. The 2024 labour amendments also added a definition of 'Assignment' to article 2 - the service of providing a worker to work for a person other than the employer through an establishment licensed for the purpose - which is the first time Saudi law names the arrangement an employer of record relies on. Compare the two routes on the whole cost: the figure on this page is a floor of about 6% of salary, and the per-head charges beside it are what actually decide the budget.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Saudi Arabia
0$36,477$72,954$109,431$145,9081351020 0$36k$73k$109k$146k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $3,580
3 $7,164$20,844 $10,740
5 $11,940$34,740 $17,900
10 $23,880$69,480 $35,800
20 $47,760$138,960 $71,600

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
21 days
Public holidays
10
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
up to 6 months
Notice
For an indefinite-term contract paid monthly, article 75 as amended in 2024 gives the employer a 60-day written notice period and the employee 30 days. Where the wage is not paid monthly, either side gives 30 days. Probation runs to 90 days and may be extended by written agreement to 180 days in total, excluding the Eid holidays and sick leave; termination inside probation carries no compensation and no end-of-service award.
Reviewed
2026-09-20

Get a quote for Saudi Arabia.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $60,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Saudi Arabia: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $5,497/mo Get a Papaya quote· $5,797/mo Get a Deel quote· $5,897/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

How much does an employer of record cost in Saudi Arabia?
For one foreign employee at US$60,000 gross a year, the statutory employer charges are GOSI's 2% occupational hazards contribution on basic pay plus housing allowance, and a half-month end-of-service award for each of the first five years. That comes to about 6% on top of salary, or roughly US$298 a month, so the employer cost before any provider fee is about US$5,298 a month. Published employer-of-record fees then run from US$199 to US$699 per employee per month, which puts the all-in cost between about US$5,500 and US$6,000 a month. Work permit, iqama, health cover and repatriation costs sit outside that figure because they are amounts per head rather than a share of pay.
Do you pay GOSI for a foreign employee in Saudi Arabia?
Only the occupational hazards branch. Article 28 of the Social Insurance Law applies that branch to all employees and workers in the Kingdom without a nationality condition, and article 29(1) sets it at 2% of the contributory wage, paid by the employer alone. Article 5(b) keeps non-Saudi workers outside the other branches, so the 11% employer share of the annuities branch and the 1% employer share of unemployment insurance apply to Saudi nationals and not to the foreign hire an employer of record usually places. The contributory wage is capped at SAR 45,000 a month.
Is the end-of-service award in Saudi Arabia a real monthly cost?
It accrues monthly and falls due at the end. Article 84 sets it at half a month's wage for each of the first five years and a full month for each year after that, calculated on the last wage, which is why this page carries 4.1667% and warns that it doubles to 8.33% from the sixth year. Saudi law does not require the employer to fund it month by month, unlike the Israeli severance deposit or the Brazilian FGTS, so it is a provision on the balance sheet rather than a payment. Article 85 then cuts it to one third where the worker resigns after two to five years, so what a departure actually costs depends on who ends the contract and when.
What does Saudi law say about housing for an employee?
Since the 2024 amendment brought in by Royal Decree M/44, article 61 requires an employer to provide appropriate housing and transport, or to pay an adequate cash allowance in their place, and states that the allowance is included in the wage. That last point is what matters to a budget: the allowance becomes part of the base for the end-of-service award, and the housing element is part of the GOSI base as well. It is carried at zero in the ledger above only because the amount is agreed between the parties rather than fixed by a rate.
How much annual leave and notice does Saudi Arabia require?
Article 109 gives at least 21 days of paid annual leave a year, rising to at least 30 days once the worker has completed five consecutive years with the same employer. Eid and other occasions are paid leave under article 112, with the list set by the implementing regulations rather than by the Law itself. Article 24 of the regulations in force since 19 February 2025 sets 10 days: four for Eid al-Fitr, four for Eid al-Adha starting on the day of Arafat, one for National Day and one for Founding Day on 22 February. A holiday day that falls on the weekly rest day is compensated before or after, except where National Day or Founding Day falls inside an Eid holiday. Notice on an indefinite monthly contract is 60 days from the employer and 30 days from the employee under article 75 as amended in 2024.