Employer of Record in Greece: what one employee really costs
Greece, Europe. One software engineer at $40,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +21.8%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $4,259 – $4,759
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 5 days
- per Deel - Hire employees in Greece ("your next hire could start in as little as 5 days with Deel")
Hiring one software engineer in Greece at $40,000 gross a year costs about $726 a month in statutory employer charges (+21.8%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $4,259 to $4,759 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Greece
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ EUR 34,904 gross / year · EUR at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $3,333 | |
| Main state pension (kyria syntaxi), employer share | 13.33% | $444 |
| Health care in kind (asthenia se eidos), employer share | 3.80% | $127 |
| Sickness cash benefit (asthenia se chrima), employer share | 0.25% | $8 |
| Auxiliary pension (epikouriki asfalisi, TEKA), employer share | 3% | $100 |
| Unemployment and other DYPA funds, employer share | 1.41% | $47 |
| Employer on-cost | +21.8% | $726 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $4,060 |
$4,259/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $51,104
- Fee share
- 4.7%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$4,559/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $54,704
- Fee share
- 10.9%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$4,659/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $55,904
- Fee share
- 12.9%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $4,259 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $4,259/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $4,379 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $4,379/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $4,459 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $4,459/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $4,459 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $4,459/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $4,559 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $4,559/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $4,559 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $4,559/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $4,639 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $4,639/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $4,659 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $4,659/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $4,659 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $4,659/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $4,659 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $4,659/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $4,759 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $4,759/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $4,759 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $4,759/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Greece adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: The annual salary is the Greek fourteen-payment total, not twelve monthly payments = 14; Ordinary business, coverage package KPK 101 (employer 21.79%, employee 13.37%) = 21.79.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Main state pension (kyria syntaxi), employer shareAll private-sector employees, on every payment, up to the insurable earnings ceiling | 13.33% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 108,667 / yr The Ministry of Labour states it directly: the main pension contribution for private-sector employees insured with e-EFKA is 20% in total, of which the employee bears 6.67% and the employer 13.33%. It is by far the largest of the five Greek employer lines - more than half the package on its own. | Ypourgeio Ergasias kai Koinonikis Asfalisis2026-09-20 |
| Health care in kind (asthenia se eidos), employer shareAll private-sector employees; 4.75% instead for construction work | 3.80% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 108,667 / yr Cut on 1 January 2025 by article 12 of law 5162/2024. e-EFKA's circular gives the new split for ordinary businesses: 1.65% employee and 3.80% employer, 5.45% together. Construction sites pay 4.75% on the employer side, which is why builders' quotes look different. | e-EFKA circular 38/2024 (ADA 971Y46MAPS-348), health branch table for koines epicheiriseis from 01.01.2025: asthenia se eidos employee 1.65% / employer 3.80% / total 5.45%2026-09-20 |
| Sickness cash benefit (asthenia se chrima), employer shareAll private-sector employees, on every payment, up to the ceiling | 0.25% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 108,667 / yr The smaller half of the health branch and the one line in Greece where the employee pays more than the employer: 0.40% against 0.25%, 0.65% together. Funds the cash paid during sick leave rather than the treatment itself. | e-EFKA circular 38/2024 (ADA 971Y46MAPS-348), health branch table for koines epicheiriseis from 01.01.2025: asthenia se chrima employee 0.40% / employer 0.25% / total 0.65%2026-09-20 |
| Auxiliary pension (epikouriki asfalisi, TEKA), employer shareAll private-sector employees, on the same earnings as the main pension, up to the ceiling | 3% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 108,667 / yr Greece's second pension pillar is compulsory, not a benefit: 6% in total since 1 June 2022, split equally between employer and employee. Anyone first insured from 1 January 2022 is enrolled in TEKA, the funded auxiliary scheme, rather than the old pay-as-you-go one; the rate is the same either way. | Ypourgeio Ergasias kai Koinonikis Asfalisis2026-09-20 |
| Unemployment and other DYPA funds, employer shareAll private-sector employees, on every payment, up to the ceiling | 1.41% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 108,667 / yr The balance of the official package, and the one line here that is a subtraction rather than a quotation. e-EFKA publishes the KPK 101 employer total, 21.79%, but not a public breakdown of this last item; 21.79 minus pension 13.33, health 3.80 + 0.25 and auxiliary 3.00 leaves 1.41%, which funds unemployment benefit and the smaller DYPA schemes. Deel's own Greece page lists exactly 1.41% for unemployment, so the subtraction lands where a provider's payroll lands. | e-EFKA circular 38/2024 (ADA 971Y46MAPS-348), Pinakas 1 of active coverage packages from 01.01.2025: KPK 101 MIKTA, IKA-TEAM2026-09-20 |
| Christmas and Easter bonuses and the holiday allowance - inside the annual salary, not on top not in total | — | Greece pays fourteen times a year. The Ministry of Labour, applying the 1981 joint ministerial decision, gives a Christmas bonus "equal to one monthly salary" and an Easter bonus "equal to half a monthly salary"; the holiday allowance rests on paragraph 16 of article 3 of law 4504/1966 and adds the other half. The Ministry's own severance page puts the arithmetic beyond doubt: the monthly proportion of the bonuses and the holiday allowance increases regular pay by one sixth, which is exactly two extra months. They are carried at zero here because the example annual salary already contains them, the same convention this site uses for Spain and Italy - and they do carry the full 21.79% of employer contributions, which the ledger above already charges. | Ypourgeio Ergasias kai Koinonikis Asfalisis2026-09-20 |
| Teleworking allowance - a monthly amount, not a share of pay not in total | — | Article 67 of law 4808/2021 makes the employer carry the cost teleworking imposes on the employee - equipment, telecommunications, maintenance and repairs - and states that these sums are not pay, are exempt from tax and carry no social contributions for either side. Because it is a fixed monthly amount rather than a percentage, it is carried at zero here. Deel prices it at EUR 28 per employee per month on its Greece page, about EUR 336 a year. Almost every EOR hire in Greece is a home worker, so expect this line in the quote. | Law 4808/2021 (FEK A 101/19.06.2021), article 67 paragraph 4: the employer bears the cost of equipment, telecommunications, maintenance and repairs; the sums are not pay and carry no employer or employee contributions2026-09-20 |
| Severance on dismissal - contingent, not a running cost not in total | — | Not a monthly charge, but the Greek number most often missed at budget time. The Ministry's table gives, for dismissal without notice, two months' pay after one completed year, three after four years, four after six, six after ten, and twelve from sixteen years. Give notice instead - one month between one and two years of service, two months to five, three months to ten, four months beyond - and the payment halves. Because the severance base includes the monthly proportion of the bonuses and the holiday allowance, it is a sixth larger than a month's salary looks. | Ypourgeio Ergasias kai Koinonikis Asfalisis2026-09-20 |
| Occupational hazard contribution of 1% - not owed for office work not in total | — | An employer-only contribution of 1% paid by businesses listed in the 1961 royal decree, where the work itself endangers life or health. Software and office work is not among them, so it is carried at zero - but it is the difference between coverage package 101 at 21.79% and package 102 at 22.79%, and it is worth checking which one a provider has used, because a point of gross is a point of gross. | Ypourgeio Ergasias kai Koinonikis Asfalisis2026-09-20 |
| Employer on-cost at $40,000 | +21.8% | $8,716 a year, $726 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
Greece is administratively lighter than its reputation: a private company can be incorporated through the one-stop service, and the employer's statutory side is one monthly filing, the APD, listing every employee under a coverage package code. The friction is in the details rather than the totals - the fourteen payments, the separate ceiling that applies to each bonus, the ERGANI declarations that must be filed before an employee starts and every time hours or terms change, and the digital work card that logs clock-in and clock-out for a growing list of sectors. There is no legal limit on how long an EOR may employ someone in Greece, and no equivalent of the German leasing clock, so the case for your own entity is cost per head and control rather than a deadline. Two things to settle in writing with any provider: which coverage package your employee is registered under, and whether the teleworking allowance and the bonuses are inside the quoted employer cost or added to it.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $8,716 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $26,148 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $43,580 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $87,160 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $174,320 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 20 days
- Public holidays
- 9
- 13th month
- Mandatory
- Probation
- up to 6 months
- Notice
- Greece abolished the distinction between salaried staff and manual workers for notice and termination on 1 January 2022, so one scale applies to everyone. The Ministry's table sets the employer's notice at one month once a year of service is complete, two months from two years, three months from five and four months from ten; giving notice halves the severance otherwise due. Below one completed year there is no statutory notice and no severance. Probation is capped at six months on an open-ended contract: article 4 of law 5053/2023 inserted article 1A into the Individual Labour Law Code, allowing the parties to agree a trial period 'of up to six (6) months', after which a successful hire's service counts from the original start date and an unsuccessful one ends automatically with the time served counting for accrued rights and on what legal basis.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-20
Get a quote for Greece.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $40,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Greece: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much do employer contributions add to a salary in Greece?
- 21.79% of gross, on every payment, up to an insurable earnings ceiling of EUR 7,761.94 a month. It breaks down as main pension 13.33%, health care in kind 3.80%, sickness cash 0.25%, auxiliary pension 3.00% and 1.41% for unemployment and the other DYPA funds. On this page's example of US$40,000, about EUR 34,904, that is roughly US$8,700 a year, or US$726 a month, before any provider fee. Employees pay a further 13.37%, which comes out of the same salary rather than on top of it.
- Does a Greek salary really mean fourteen payments?
- Yes, and it is the mistake that wrecks Greek budgets. On top of twelve monthly salaries the law requires a Christmas bonus of one month, an Easter bonus of half a month and a holiday allowance of half a month. The Ministry of Labour puts it as arithmetic: the monthly proportion of those three raises regular pay by one sixth. The example on this page is already the fourteen-payment total, so the figures above are complete - but if a recruiter quotes you EUR 2,500 a month, your annual cost starts at EUR 35,000, not EUR 30,000.
- Is there a ceiling on Greek employer contributions?
- EUR 7,761.94 of insurable earnings a month in 2026, raised from EUR 7,572.62 by a ministerial decision published on 29 January 2026. The catch is that the ceiling is applied separately to each of the fourteen payments, including the Christmas and Easter bonuses and the holiday allowance, so the annual equivalent is about EUR 108,667 rather than twelve times the monthly figure. Below that level the employer rate is a flat 21.79% with no tapering at all.
- Why do Greek EOR quotes differ from each other?
- Three things move. The coverage package: an ordinary employee sits at 21.79%, but a business classed as hazardous pays 22.79% and providers sometimes register conservatively. The teleworking allowance, which the law makes compulsory for home workers and which Deel prices at EUR 28 per employee per month. And whether the fourteen payments are inside the salary the provider quoted you or added to it - a difference of one sixth of payroll. Ask for all three in writing before comparing two Greek quotes.
- What does it cost to end a contract in Greece?
- Nothing in the first year: below twelve months of service there is no statutory notice and no severance. After that, dismissal without notice costs two months' pay, rising to three months after four years, four after six, six after ten and twelve from sixteen years. Give the notice instead - one month after a year, two after two, three after five, four after ten - and the payment halves. Note that the severance base includes the monthly proportion of the bonuses and the holiday allowance, so it is a sixth larger than a monthly salary.