Employer of Record in South Africa: what one employee really costs
South Africa, Africa. One software engineer at $35,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +1.6%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $3,161 – $3,661
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 2 days
- per Deel - Hire employees in South Africa ('your next hire could start in as little as 2 days with Deel')
Hiring one software engineer in South Africa at $35,000 gross a year costs about $45 a month in statutory employer charges (+1.6%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $3,161 to $3,661 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to South Africa
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ ZAR 569,535 gross / year · ZAR at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $2,917 | |
| Unemployment Insurance Fund (UIF), employer share capped | 1% | $11 |
| Skills Development Levy (SDL) | 1% | $29 |
| COIDA assessment (Compensation Fund), Class A office tariff | 0.18% | $5 |
| Employer on-cost | +1.6% | $45 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $2,962 |
$3,161/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $37,932
- Fee share
- 6.3%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$3,461/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $41,532
- Fee share
- 14.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$3,561/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $42,732
- Fee share
- 16.8%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $3,161 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $3,161/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $3,281 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $3,281/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $3,361 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $3,361/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $3,361 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $3,361/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $3,461 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $3,461/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $3,461 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $3,461/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $3,541 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $3,541/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $3,561 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $3,561/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $3,561 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $3,561/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $3,561 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $3,561/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $3,661 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $3,661/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $3,661 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $3,661/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What South Africa adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: COIDA is assessed at the Class A office tariff of 0.18% = 1.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unemployment Insurance Fund (UIF), employer shareEvery employer, on each employee's remuneration up to the earnings ceiling | 1% | Gross salary , capped at ZAR 212,544 / yr SARS states the split and the ceiling in the same passage: 'The amount of the contribution due by an employee, must be 1% of the remuneration paid by the employer to the employee. The employer must pay a total contribution of 2% (1% contributed by the employee and 1% contributed by the employer)', and a contribution does not apply to remuneration exceeding 'R 17 712 per month (R 212 544 annually)' with effect from 1 June 2021. SARS spells out what that means in cash: 'the maximum contribution which can be deducted, for employees who earn more than R17 712 per month, is R177,12 per month'. This is the line that makes a South African professional hire cheap. The ceiling has not moved since June 2021 while salaries have, so the effective rate keeps falling: at the salary on this page the 1% is worth about 0.37% of pay, and at twice this salary it would be about 0.19%. Any page that prints '1% + 1% UIF' without the ceiling is describing a minimum-wage hire, not an engineer. | SARS2026-09-20 |
| Skills Development Levy (SDL)Employers whose total leviable payroll over the next 12 months exceeds R500,000, which an employer of record's South African payroll always does | 1% | Gross salary SARS puts the rate plainly - '1% of the total amount paid in salaries to employees (including wages, overtime payments, leave pay, bonuses, fees, commissions and lump sum payments)' - and it carries no ceiling, which is why it overtakes UIF as soon as a salary passes about R17,712 a month. The threshold is the part worth understanding before you compare an EOR with your own entity: SARS exempts 'Any employer whose total remuneration subject to SDL (leviable amount) paid/due to all its employees over the next 12 month period won't exceed R500 000', and such employers need not even register. A company making its first one or two South African hires might sit under that line and owe no SDL at all. A provider's South African payroll never does, so the levy is always charged on an EOR hire even where a small entity of your own would owe nothing. Belgium's special unemployment contribution, charged because the legal employer has ten or more staff, works the same way. | SARS2026-09-20 |
| COIDA assessment (Compensation Fund), Class A office tariffEvery employer, on each employee's earnings up to the prescribed maximum | 0.18% | Gross salary , capped at ZAR 668,000 / yr The tariff is the Class A rate of 0.18% in Schedule A of the Regulations on the Compensation Fund's Tariffs of Assessment, made by the Minister under sections 97(2) and 83(1) of the Act (Government Notice 1282, Gazette 43959, 3 December 2020); Class A lists finance, beauty and hair salons, medical specialists, consultants, admin consultants, education services and organisations, all phased from their 2020 rates to 0.18% by the 2025 assessment year. No later tariff regulation was found. The subclass is the provider's, and the figure previously modelled here from a provider guide was 0.2%. The ceiling is read from the Minister's own notice. That notice, signed on 21 April 2026 under sections 83(8) and 83(2)(b) of the Compensation for Occupational Injuries and Diseases Act 130 of 1993 and published as General Notice 3910 of 2026 in Government Gazette 54577 of 24 April 2026, prescribes 'The amount of R668 000 per employee per annum as the maximum amount of earnings on which an assessment of an employer shall be calculated; this amount being effective from 1st March 2026', together with a minimum assessment of R1,621 for employers and R560 for domestic employers. It replaced the R633,168 ceiling that had applied from 1 March 2025, and the Minister re-prescribes the maximum by Gazette notice for each assessment year, so confirm the current figure before relying on it for a salary near the ceiling; at the salary on this page the ceiling does not bind. Unlike UIF and SDL, COIDA is assessed annually on a Return of Earnings rather than deducted monthly, so it appears on a provider's invoice as a spread cost or not at all. | Department of Employment and Labour2026-09-24 |
| UIF employee share - deducted from pay, not an employer cost not in total | — | Carried at zero because it is the employee's money, and named because SARS describes the contribution as a total of 2% and several comparison pages read that as the employer's charge. The employer pays 1% and withholds another 1% from the employee, both stopping at the same R17,712 monthly ceiling, and remits 2% in one payment. Only the first 1% is your cost. The employer is the one who has to get the ceiling right in both directions, since over-deducting from an employee above the ceiling is a payroll error you would be liable to correct. | SARS2026-09-20 |
| COIDA minimum assessment - a floor on the employer, not on the salary not in total | — | Carried at zero because it is charged once per employer per year rather than per employee. The same ministerial notice that sets the earnings maximum prescribes 'A Minimum Assessment of R1 621 for employers with effect from 1st March 2026' and R560 for domestic employers. The ceiling rose for the 2026/2027 assessment year while this floor stayed at the same R1,621 it had the year before. For a one-person South African entity of your own this is the floor your COIDA bill cannot fall below, which matters when you model the entity route on a single hire; under an employer of record the provider's payroll clears it many times over and you never see it. It is the kind of small fixed amount that makes a first direct hire more expensive than a spreadsheet suggests. | Department of Employment and Labour2026-09-22 |
| Thirteenth cheque - not required by South African law not in total | — | Carried at zero because the Basic Conditions of Employment Act creates no thirteenth cheque and no holiday bonus, although a December bonus is common enough in the South African market that a candidate may expect one. What the Act does require instead is annual leave on full remuneration and, where an employee works a public holiday they would ordinarily work, payment for that day. Treat a thirteenth cheque as a market cost in the offer, not as a legal charge, and say so explicitly in the contract if you are not paying one - a silence here is read locally as a yes. | Basic Conditions of Employment Act 75 of 1997, Government Gazette No. 18491 of 5 December 19972026-09-20 |
| Employer on-cost at $35,000 | +1.6% | $544 a year, $45 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
South Africa is the case where the ceilings do the work. Three employer lines that read as '1% + 1% + a bit' come to about 1.6% at this salary, because UIF stops at R17,712 a month and COIDA stops at R668,000 a year while only SDL runs uncapped. That leaves the provider fee as almost the whole of what an employer of record costs you here: at US$35,000 the statutory charge is about US$45 a month against published fees of US$199 to US$699. On the face of it that is a strong argument for your own entity, and there is a second one most pages miss - SDL is not owed at all by an employer whose leviable payroll stays under R500,000 a year, so your first South African hire through a company of your own might carry no SDL, while the same hire through a provider always does, because the provider's payroll is far past the threshold. Against that sit the things the entity actually brings: registering with SARS for PAYE, UIF and SDL, registering with the Compensation Fund and filing a Return of Earnings each year with its R1,621 minimum assessment, and South African employment law's own protections on dismissal, which are enforced through the CCMA and do not soften for a foreign parent. One or two hires still favour a provider on speed; a team you mean to keep is a real entity case.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $544 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $1,631 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $2,718 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $5,436 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $10,872 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 15 days
- Public holidays
- 12
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- no statutory maximum
- Notice
- Four weeks once the employee has a year or more of service, under section 37(1)(c) of the Basic Conditions of Employment Act; two weeks between four weeks and one year of service, and one week in the first four weeks. A collective agreement may shorten these periods, and section 37(3) forbids any agreement that requires a longer notice from the employee than from the employer. The Act sets no maximum probation period - probation is governed instead by the Labour Relations Act's Code of Good Practice, which requires it to be of reasonable length for the job and to be used for assessment rather than as a licence to dismiss.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-22
Get a quote for South Africa.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $35,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for South Africa: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in South Africa?
- The statutory employer charge is about 1.6% of gross pay at this salary: UIF at 1% but capped at R17,712 a month, the Skills Development Levy at 1% uncapped, and a COIDA assessment at the Class A office tariff of 0.18% up to R668,000 a year. On a US$35,000 salary that is roughly US$45 a month on top of pay. Published EOR fees then run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost lands near $3,160 to $3,660 a month and the fee is far larger than the tax.
- Why is the South African employer cost so much lower than 2%?
- Because two of the three lines are capped and the caps are low. SARS states that UIF does not apply to remuneration above R17,712 a month, and that the most an employer contributes for such an employee is R177,12 a month - a figure unchanged since June 2021 while salaries have risen. COIDA is assessed only up to R668,000 a year. Only the Skills Development Levy runs on the whole salary. On a professional wage the UIF line is worth about 0.37% rather than 1%, so reading the three rates as uncapped gives 2.2% against the 1.6% actually owed.
- Would my own South African entity pay the Skills Development Levy?
- Possibly not, and it is the one line of this ledger where the provider route costs more in statutory terms than a small entity of your own. SARS exempts any employer whose total leviable payroll over the next twelve months will not exceed R500,000, and says such employers need not register for SDL at all. One or two hires through a company of your own could sit under that line. An employer of record's South African payroll is far past it, so the 1% is always charged on an EOR hire. On this salary that is about US$29 a month - real, but small against the fee difference.
- Who bears the COIDA rate under an employer of record?
- The provider. The Compensation Fund assesses the legal employer, applying the tariff of the subclass that employer's business falls into and adjusting for its own claims record, so the rate on an EOR hire reflects the provider's operation rather than your industry. The Minister also sets a minimum assessment - R1,621 a year for employers - which the provider's payroll clears many times over. Ask which subclass your provider is registered under if you want to check the 0.18% office tariff used here against its actual tariff.
- What leave, public holidays and notice apply in South Africa?
- Section 20(2) of the Basic Conditions of Employment Act requires 'at least 21 consecutive days' annual leave on full remuneration in respect of each annual leave cycle', which is fifteen working days on a five-day week. The Public Holidays Act 36 of 1994 lists twelve public holidays in its Schedule 1, including Human Rights Day on 21 March, Freedom Day on 27 April and the Day of Reconciliation on 16 December. Notice under section 37 is one week in the first four weeks, two weeks up to a year and four weeks thereafter. There is no statutory maximum probation period; the Labour Relations Act's Code of Good Practice requires it to be of reasonable length for the job.