Employer of Record in Germany: what one employee really costs
Germany, Europe. One software engineer at $75,000 gross per year, priced through 9 providers on 2026-09-02 exchange rates. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +22.3%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $7,840 – $8,340
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Hiring one software engineer in Germany at $75,000 gross a year costs about $1,391 a month in statutory employer charges (+22.3%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $7,840 to $8,340 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Germany
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ EUR 64,778 gross / year · EUR at ECB reference rate, 2 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $6,250 | |
| Statutory pension insurance (Rentenversicherung), employer half | 9.30% | $581 |
| Unemployment insurance (Arbeitslosenversicherung), employer half | 1.30% | $81 |
| Statutory health insurance (Krankenversicherung), employer half incl. average supplementary rate | 8.75% | $547 |
| Long-term care insurance (Pflegeversicherung), employer share | 1.80% | $113 |
| Maternity levy (Umlage U2), Techniker Krankenkasse rate | 0.44% | $28 |
| Insolvency levy (Insolvenzgeldumlage, U3) | 0.15% | $9 |
| Statutory accident insurance (Berufsgenossenschaft VBG), hazard class 0.70 | 0.51% | $32 |
| Employer on-cost | +22.3% | $1,391 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $7,641 |
$8,240/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $98,876
- Fee share
- 7.3%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quote$8,340/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- $699
- Per year
- $100,076
- Fee share
- 8.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Remote quote$8,140/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $97,676
- Fee share
- 6.1%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Multiplier quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
9 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $7,840 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $7,840/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $7,960 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $7,960/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $8,040 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $8,040/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499$459 billed annually | $8,140 | Not stated on the pricing page | 150+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $8,140/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $8,140 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $8,140/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $8,240 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $8,240/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $8,340 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $8,340/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $8,340 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $8,340/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Germany adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Employee's health fund charges the 2026 average supplementary rate of 2.9% (employer half 1.45%) = 2.9; Employee works outside Saxony (employer long-term-care share 1.8%, not 1.3%) = 1; Accident insurance at VBG hazard class 0.70 (staff-leasing tariff item 11.1, office and service work) = 0.7.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Statutory pension insurance (Rentenversicherung), employer halfAll employees; base capped at the 2026 contribution ceiling of EUR 8,450 a month | 9.30% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 101,400 / yr 18.6% in total, 9.3% employer and 9.3% employee, unchanged for 2026. The ceiling rose from EUR 8,050 to EUR 8,450 a month (EUR 101,400 a year) on 1 January 2026. | Deutsche Rentenversicherung2026-09-05 |
| Unemployment insurance (Arbeitslosenversicherung), employer halfAll employees; same EUR 101,400 ceiling as the pension line | 1.30% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 101,400 / yr 2.6% in total, split 1.3% employer and 1.3% employee, confirmed for 2026. | BMAS2026-09-05 |
| Statutory health insurance (Krankenversicherung), employer half incl. average supplementary rateEmployees in the statutory scheme; base capped at EUR 5,812.50 a month in 2026. Privately insured employees (above EUR 77,400 a year and opted out) receive an employer subsidy of up to the same amount instead | 8.75% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 69,750 / yr General rate 14.6% plus the 2026 average supplementary rate of 2.9% = 17.5%, shared equally (SGB V section 249): 7.3% + 1.45% = 8.75% for the employer. Health funds set their own supplementary rate, so the exact line depends on the employee's fund. | Bundesministerium für Gesundheit2026-09-05 |
| Long-term care insurance (Pflegeversicherung), employer shareAll employees outside Saxony; same EUR 69,750 ceiling as health insurance | 1.80% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 69,750 / yr 3.6% in total since 1 January 2025, split 1.8% employer and 1.8% employee; the childless surcharge (0.6%) and the reductions for parents of several children touch only the employee share. In Saxony the employer pays 1.3%. | Bundesministerium für Gesundheit2026-09-05 |
| Maternity levy (Umlage U2), Techniker Krankenkasse rateEvery employer, whatever its size, at the rate of the employee's health fund | 0.44% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 69,750 / yr Refunds 100% of maternity-pay top-ups. TK charges 0.44% in 2026; other funds sit between roughly 0.2% and 0.7%. The sick-pay levy U1 only applies to employers with up to 30 employees, so an EOR entity is outside it. | Techniker Krankenkasse2026-09-05 |
| Insolvency levy (Insolvenzgeldumlage, U3)Every employer; base capped at the pension ceiling | 0.15% | Gross salary , capped at EUR 101,400 / yr Set by law at 0.15% (SGB III section 360) and confirmed for 2026. | SGB III section 360 Umlagesatz (0.15%), gesetze-im-internet.de2026-09-05 |
| Statutory accident insurance (Berufsgenossenschaft VBG), hazard class 0.70Employer-only, on the full salary; the VBG insures staff-leasing companies and office-based businesses | 0.51% | Gross salary Computed from the VBG's published 2025 contribution factor: hazard class 0.70 x EUR 4.40 per 1,000 = 0.31%, plus the cost-sharing surcharges (EUR 1.7851 per 1,000 of pay above a EUR 270,000 allowance and EUR 0.3445 per 1,000 contribution units) = about 0.51%. Secondary source for the hazard class: the VBG 2022 tariff as quoted by zeitarbeit-und-recht.de (item 11.1 = 0.70). Deel's German page shows 1.14% for accident insurance. | VBG2026-09-05 |
| 18-month staff-leasing limit (AÜG section 1(1b)) not in total | — | Not a cost line but a hard constraint: an EOR in Germany is a licensed staff-leasing company, and it may not lease the same employee to the same client for more than 18 consecutive months (gaps of up to three months count as continuous). Before month 19 the hire has to move to your own entity or another arrangement. Budget the entity, or the switch, into the total. | Arbeitnehmerüberlassungsgesetz (AÜG) section 1 paragraph 1b, gesetze-im-internet.de2026-09-05 |
| Employer on-cost at $75,000 | +22.3% | $16,688 a year, $1,391 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
A German GmbH needs EUR 25,000 of share capital (half paid in), a notarised deed, commercial-register entry, and then registrations with a health fund, the pension insurer, the accident insurer and the tax office; count several weeks and a local payroll provider. The stronger argument for an entity is the leasing law: an EOR hire is a leased worker who must be moved after 18 months with the same client, and after nine months the equal-pay rule ties pay and conditions to your comparable staff. For a permanent German team the entity is the destination; the EOR is the bridge for the first year and for one-off hires. For scale, one provider prints its own estimate: Deel's Germany guide (read 19 September 2026) puts a German entity at EUR 61,446 in one-off costs and EUR 45,187 a year, against an EOR service fee of EUR 6,250 per employee per year. That is a provider's sales figure, not an official or independently checked cost; ask your adviser for a written quote.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Papaya Global fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $5,988 | $16,688 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $17,964 | $50,063 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $29,940 | $83,438 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $59,880 | $166,875 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $119,760 | $333,750 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 20 days
- Public holidays
- 9
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- up to 6 months
- Notice
- Four weeks to the 15th or the end of a month during the first two years; the employer's notice then grows with service from one month (after 2 years) to seven months (after 20 years), always to a month end; two weeks during an agreed probation of up to six months (BGB section 622).
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-05
Get a quote for Germany from the providers that publish a price.
Totals for 1 hire at $75,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Germany: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much do statutory employer contributions add to a salary in Germany?
- About 22% for a salary under the ceilings: pension 9.3%, health 8.75% (7.3% plus half of the 2.9% average supplementary rate), long-term care 1.8%, unemployment 1.3%, maternity levy 0.44%, insolvency levy 0.15% and accident insurance about 0.5%. On this page's example of US$75,000, roughly EUR 64,800, that is about US$16,700 a year before the provider's fee.
- Where do German employer contributions stop growing?
- At two ceilings. Health, long-term care and the maternity levy are charged on pay up to EUR 69,750 a year (EUR 5,812.50 a month) in 2026; pension, unemployment and the insolvency levy stop at EUR 101,400 (EUR 8,450 a month). Above EUR 101,400 only accident insurance keeps growing, so the employer's marginal rate on a EUR 150,000 salary is about 0.5% and the average rate falls to roughly 13%.
- Why do EOR quotes for the same German salary differ?
- Three moving parts. The employee's health fund sets the supplementary rate (about 2.2% to 4.4% in 2026, of which the employer pays half), Saxony charges employers 1.3% instead of 1.8% for long-term care, and each provider's accident-insurance class and maternity-levy rate depend on its own entity and health fund. Deel, for instance, publishes 1.14% for accident cover where the VBG staff-leasing office class computes to about 0.5%.
- Can an EOR employ someone in Germany indefinitely?
- No. German EOR employment is staff leasing under the AÜG, and the same worker may not be leased to the same client for more than 18 consecutive months; assignments separated by less than three months are added together. Providers handle this with a break, a transfer to your entity or a change of arrangement, each of which has a cost. Plan a German entity if the role is meant to last beyond a year and a half.
- Does Germany require a 13th salary or long paid leave?
- No 13th salary is required by law; Christmas or holiday bonuses exist only by contract or collective agreement. Statutory leave is 24 working days on a six-day week, 20 days for a five-day week, and there are nine nationwide public holidays with up to four more depending on the state. Both are paid time inside the annual salary rather than extra contributions.