Employer of Record in Finland: what one employee really costs
Finland, Europe. One software engineer at $65,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +19.3%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $6,662 – $7,162
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 1 day
- per Deel - Hire Employees in Finland ('your next hire could start in as little as 1 days [sic] with Deel')
Hiring one software engineer in Finland at $65,000 gross a year costs about $1,047 a month in statutory employer charges (+19.3%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $6,662 to $7,162 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Finland
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ EUR 56,719 gross / year · EUR at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $5,417 | |
| Earnings-related pension insurance (TyEL, employer share) | 17.10% | $926 |
| Employer's health insurance contribution (sairausvakuutusmaksu) | 1.91% | $103 |
| Unemployment insurance contribution (tyottomyysvakuutusmaksu, employer share) | 0.31% | $17 |
| Employer on-cost | +19.3% | $1,047 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $6,463 |
$6,662/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $79,946
- Fee share
- 3.0%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$6,962/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $83,546
- Fee share
- 7.2%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$7,062/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $84,746
- Fee share
- 8.5%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $6,662 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $6,662/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $6,782 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $6,782/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $6,862 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $6,862/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $6,862 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $6,862/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $6,962 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $6,962/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $6,962 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $6,962/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $7,042 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $7,042/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $7,062 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $7,062/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $7,062 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $7,062/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $7,062 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $7,062/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $7,162 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $7,162/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $7,162 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $7,162/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Finland adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Employee is 35 years old, so all three Finnish employer contributions apply in full = 35; TyEL priced at the published average employer rate for a contract employer, 17.10% of wages in 2026 = 17.1; Unemployment insurance priced at the lower tier, 0.31%, on the assumption the legal employer's Finnish payroll stays under EUR 2,509,500 a year = 0.31.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Earnings-related pension insurance (TyEL, employer share)Employees from the month after their 17th birthday to the upper age limit set by year of birth, with no ceiling on the contribution base | 17.10% | Gross salary Four fifths of the Finnish employer cost, and it is paid to a private pension company rather than to the state. The Finnish Centre for Pensions publishes the 2026 figures: the average total contribution under the Employees Pensions Act is 24.40% of wages, the basic contribution for an employer with an insurance contract is 24.85%, the worker's share is 7.30 percentage points, and the average employer's share is 17.10%. The Tax Administration's own table gives the same 17.10% as the average rate for a contract employer. The employer pays the whole contribution to the insurer and withholds the employee's 7.30% from the payslip, so the 17.10% modelled here is the employer's own cost. There is no ceiling: unlike Germany or Japan, the rate applies to the whole salary however high it goes. The rate fell from 17.38% in 2025. Two things move a real invoice off the average and neither is published per employer: the pension company's management cost, added, and its client bonuses, deducted. See the assumptions above for the size effect. | Finnish Centre for Pensions (ETK)2026-09-20 |
| Employer's health insurance contribution (sairausvakuutusmaksu)Employees aged 16 to 67 covered by Finnish social insurance, with no ceiling | 1.91% | Gross salary Paid to the Tax Administration rather than to an insurer, which makes it the one Finnish employer line with a single published national rate and no company-specific variation. The Tax Administration's rate table gives 1.91% for 2026, up from 1.87% in 2025. It is due for employees aged 16 to 67 and is payable even when no tax can be withheld, for instance where pay is given as a fringe benefit. Vendor pages are behind on this one: Deel's Finland page still lists a 'Social Security' line of 1.16%, the rate from two years ago. | Finnish Tax Administration2026-09-20 |
| Unemployment insurance contribution (tyottomyysvakuutusmaksu, employer share)Employees aged 18 to 64, where the employer's total wages for the year exceed EUR 1,500 | 0.31% | Gross salary Paid to the Employment Fund, which publishes the rates itself: for 2026 the employer's contribution is 0.31% of wages up to a payroll limit of EUR 2,509,500 and 1.23% on the part above it, with the employee paying 0.89%. The Tax Administration prints the same pair. The limit is on the employer's total annual payroll rather than on the individual salary, which is why it is modelled as a declared assumption above rather than as a cap on this line. It rose sharply from 2025, when the employer paid 0.20% and 0.80%. It may fall again: on 27 August 2026 the Employment Fund's Supervisory Board approved a proposal to the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health to cut the aggregate contribution by 0.3 percentage points for 2027, which would put the employer's lower rate at 0.26% and the higher at 1.04%. That is a proposal, not law, so the engine keeps the 2026 rates until it is confirmed. | Employment Fund2026-09-20 |
| Workers' compensation insurance (tyotapaturmavakuutus) not in total | — | Compulsory for every Finnish employer whose wages for the year exceed EUR 1,500, and effective from the day employment begins - but there is no rate to publish for one employer, so it is named here and left out of the total. The Tax Administration states that 'the accident insurance contribution varies by line of business and by company' and that the insurance company invoices it. The Workers' Compensation Center (TVK), which coordinates the scheme, says the premium is set by each insurer and varies between them, and publishes only an average across all employers: 0.48% of wages for 2026, a forecast last updated on 13 August 2026 (0.51% in 2024, 0.50% forecast for 2025). That average mixes every line of business, office work and construction alike, so it describes the market rather than your hire; at 0.48% the example hire would cost about US$310 a year. Deel's Finland page, read 20 September 2026, prices it at 0.324% of salary, below that average. Ask the provider for the rate its own policy carries. | Workers' Compensation Center (TVK), Tyotapaturmatieto2026-09-24 |
| Employees' group life insurance (ryhmahenkivakuutus) not in total | — | Small, usually unavoidable and still not statutory in its own right. The Tax Administration's wording is precise: you may have to take out a group life policy 'if it is so agreed in the collective labour agreement that applies to you', and the insurer collects it together with the workers' compensation contribution. So it exists because of a collective agreement rather than because of a statute. The Workers' Compensation Center (TVK) publishes the average premium, weighted by the member insurers' market shares: 0.053% of wages for 2026 (a forecast added on 12 January 2026) and 0.054% for 2025, roughly US$34 a year on this page's example hire. Carried at zero because whether it is owed depends on the collective agreement the provider applies, and the average is not the rate any one policy carries. | Workers' Compensation Center (TVK), Tyotapaturmatieto2026-09-24 |
| Holiday bonus (lomaraha) not in total | — | A Finnish cost that often surprises a foreign buyer, and one this site genuinely cannot price. Finnish employees commonly receive a holiday bonus on top of holiday pay, but it does not come from the Annual Holidays Act. The occupational safety authority says so in terms: the holiday bonus 'ei perustu vuosilomalakiin', is not based on the Annual Holidays Act, and is an addition agreed in collective agreements, 50% of holiday pay being its example, usually paid with the summer holiday. Both whether a holiday bonus is owed and how big it is therefore come from the collective agreement that applies to the role, and which agreement applies to an employer-of-record hire is for the provider to state. It is carried at zero rather than estimated because guessing an agreement would be inventing the number. Put it in writing when you ask for a quote: which collective agreement the provider applies, and whether a holiday bonus sits inside the quoted employer cost or outside it. | Occupational Safety and Health Administration (tyosuojelu.fi)2026-09-24 |
| Occupational health care (tyoterveyshuolto) not in total | — | secondary source: a per-head service fee rather than a payroll percentage, which is why it is carried at zero. Finnish employers arrange preventive occupational health care for their staff and are billed for it by the provider of that care; a share of the cost is reimbursed by the social insurance institution. Deel bills EUR 3.00 for it on its Finland page, about EUR 36 a year, and lists occupational health insurance among the benefits included for Finnish hires. It is small enough not to change a decision and large enough to belong on an invoice line rather than inside a blended percentage. | Deel2026-09-20 |
| Employer on-cost at $65,000 | +19.3% | $12,558 a year, $1,047 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
Finland is unusually cheap to enter and unusually awkward to run, and the two pull in opposite directions. Cheap, because the statutory employer side is three lines and 19.3%, below Poland and far below Sweden's 32.3% despite the same Nordic reputation, and because a hire through a provider can start in a day. Awkward, because almost nothing about Finnish employment is a number you can look up. Pension goes to a private insurer whose rate depends on your own disability experience and your own client bonus; workers' compensation and group life are insurer quotes; the unemployment rate depends on your total payroll crossing a EUR 2.5 million line; and the terms that decide what an employee actually earns - the holiday bonus above all - live in a collective agreement that you have to choose and then follow. An entity of your own has to take all of that on, plus registration with the Incomes Register and monthly reporting into it. The case for the entity is strongest when the same collective agreement and the same insurers will cover a whole Finnish team, which is to say five or more permanent staff; for one or two engineers in Helsinki, the provider is carrying a real administrative load rather than only a payroll run. One point cuts the other way and is worth checking: because the unemployment tier follows the employer's payroll, a large provider may be paying 1.23% where your own small entity would pay 0.31%.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $12,558 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $37,674 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $62,790 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $125,580 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $251,160 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 25 days
- Public holidays
- 13
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- up to 6 months
- Notice
- Set by the Employment Contracts Act unless the contract or the collective agreement says otherwise. The employer gives 14 days up to one year of service, one month from one to four years, two months from four to eight, four months from eight to twelve and six months beyond twelve. The employee gives 14 days up to five years of service and one month after that. An agreed notice period may never exceed six months, and the employee's may never be longer than the employer's.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-20
Get a quote for Finland.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $65,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Finland: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in Finland?
- Statutory employer charges come to 19.3% of gross pay, with no ceiling: earnings-related pension at 17.10%, the employer's health insurance contribution at 1.91% and unemployment insurance at 0.31%. On a US$65,000 salary that is about US$1,050 a month on top of salary. Published EOR fees then run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost lands near $6,660 to $7,160 a month depending on the provider. Two insurance premiums and a possible holiday bonus sit outside that figure because no public schedule sets them.
- Why is Finland cheaper than Sweden on employer charges?
- Because most of the Finnish pension system is an insurance contract rather than a tax, and part of it is charged to the employee. The total earnings-related pension contribution is 24.85% of wages in 2026, but the employee pays 7.30 points of it, leaving the employer an average of 17.10%. Sweden by contrast charges its employers 31.42% of payroll in social contributions and a general payroll tax that no employee shares, which is why the same hire shows 32.3% there and 19.3% here. The comparison is honest on the statutory lines and incomplete on the rest: Finnish workers' compensation and group life premiums, and any holiday bonus in the applicable collective agreement, are real costs that no public schedule prices for a given employer: the Workers' Compensation Center publishes only market averages, 0.48% of wages for workers' compensation and 0.053% for group life in 2026, and the holiday bonus depends on the agreement.
- Does the employee's age change the employer's cost in Finland?
- Less than it used to. Through 2025 the employee's own pension share was 7.15% under 53 and 8.65% between 53 and 62, and the employer paid the rest, so a 55-year-old was cheaper for the employer. For 2026 the employee's share is a flat 7.30% at every age, which removes that step; any guide still quoting 7.15% and 8.65% is quoting last year. Age still switches lines on and off: pension insurance is compulsory from the month after the 17th birthday, the unemployment contribution is paid only for employees aged 18 to 64, and the health insurance contribution for those aged 16 to 67. Hiring at 66 therefore drops the unemployment line and about 0.31 points.
- What is the two-tier unemployment contribution, and which tier applies to me?
- The Employment Fund charges an employer 0.31% of wages up to a payroll limit of EUR 2,509,500 a year and 1.23% on the part above it. The limit is on the employer's whole annual payroll, not on one person's salary, so under an employer of record it depends on how big the provider's Finnish payroll is - a fact no provider page we read discloses. This page prices the lower tier, which is what every employer pays on the first EUR 2.5 million and what Deel's published Finland breakdown uses. If your provider is over the limit the charge on your hire is 1.23%, about US$600 a year more on the example above. Ask before you sign. The Employment Fund proposed cutting both rates for 2027, to 0.26% and 1.04%, but that proposal is not yet law.
- What leave and notice apply in Finland?
- Annual holiday accrues over a holiday credit year running from 1 April to 31 March: two days a month while the employment has lasted under a year, two and a half days a month once it has lasted at least a year, which is thirty Finnish holiday days or five working weeks. Finnish law names thirteen public holidays - the eleven church holidays of the Church Act plus Independence Day and May Day, which the Annual Holidays Act adds - but makes none of them a paid day off: which days are paid time off follows the collective agreement, and the Working Hours Act lets an employer require work on a Sunday or a national holiday only by contract or with the employee's consent, at double pay. A trial period may last up to six months. Notice from the employer runs from 14 days under one year of service to six months beyond twelve years; from the employee, 14 days up to five years and one month after.