Country fileHKHKDVerified 2026-09-20
HK HKD · Asia/Hong_Kong (UTC+8)

Employer of Record in Hong Kong: what one employee really costs

Hong Kong, Asia. One software engineer at $75,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+3.1%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$6,640 – $7,140
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
2 days
per Deel - Hire employees in Hong Kong, stated onboarding time

Hiring one software engineer in Hong Kong at $75,000 gross a year costs about $191 a month in statutory employer charges (+3.1%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $6,640 to $7,140 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Hong Kong

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ HKD 588,370 gross / year · HKD at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$6,250
MPF mandatory contribution (employer share) capped5%$191
Employer on-cost+3.1%$191
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$6,441
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$6,640/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$79,682
Fee share
3.0%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$6,940/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$83,282
Fee share
7.2%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$7,040/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$84,482
Fee share
8.5%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Hong Kong + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $75,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $6,640 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $6,640/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $6,760 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $6,760/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $6,840 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $6,840/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $6,840 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $6,840/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $6,940 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $6,940/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $6,940 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $6,940/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $7,020 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $7,020/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $7,040 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $7,040/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $7,040 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $7,040/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $7,040 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $7,040/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $7,140 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $7,140/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $7,140 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $7,140/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Hong Kong adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: The hire is aged 18 to 64 and stays longer than 60 days = 1.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
MPF mandatory contribution (employer share)Every employee aged 18 to 64 engaged for 60 days or more, on relevant income up to HKD 30,000 a month 5% Gross salary , capped at HKD 360,000 / yr The whole employer side of a Hong Kong payslip is this one line, and the ceiling is what makes it small. The MPFA states that employers and employees each contribute 5% of relevant income, and that the current maximum relevant income level is HKD 30,000 a month, which caps the employer at HKD 1,500 a month whatever the salary. Those levels have applied to contribution periods commencing from 1 June 2014, per the MPFA's own table of legislative amendment history; the minimum level of HKD 7,100 a month governs the employee's contribution, not the employer's, who pays 5% of relevant income below it too. Relevant income is all monetary payments including a 13th month where the contract provides one, and it expressly excludes severance payments and long service payments. The practical consequence is worth stating plainly: Deel's Hong Kong page estimates the employer cost at about 5.777% of salary with 'Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) - 5%' listed uncapped, but the ceiling means that at the example salary on this page the MPF is nearer 1.5% of gross, and it keeps falling as pay rises. MPFA2026-09-20
Long service payment and severance payment not in total — Real, statutory, and impossible to express honestly as a share of one salary, so it is carried at zero and left out of the total. The Employment Ordinance makes a long service payment or a severance payment due on certain terminations after a qualifying period of service, and the MPFA states that both are excluded from relevant income, so no MPF is charged on them. What they cost depends on why and when the employment ends, not on what the job pays this year. Ask any provider how it funds them before signing. MPFA2026-09-20
Employees' compensation insurance not in total — Compulsory for every employer in Hong Kong, but it is an insurance premium set by an insurer rather than a rate set by statute, so there is no official percentage to publish and it is carried at zero. Deel's Hong Kong page prices it at about 0.4% of salary as part of its own 5.777% estimate, and adds a 0.60% administrative fee of its own on top; neither figure is a statutory charge, which is why neither is in the ledger above. Deel2026-09-20
Employer on-cost at $75,000+3.1%$2,294 a year, $191 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

Hong Kong is one of the cheaper places to incorporate in the region, so the entity question here is less about statutory cost than about who carries the employment obligations: the mandatory employees' compensation insurance, the MPF enrolment, and the long service and severance payments that fall due on termination. Under an employer of record the provider is the legal employer and carries all three. The ledger above is short enough that a provider's monthly fee, not the statutory charges, is the larger number on a Hong Kong hire.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Hong Kong
0$36,477$72,954$109,431$145,9081351020 0$36k$73k$109k$146k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $2,294
3 $7,164$20,844 $6,883
5 $11,940$34,740 $11,472
10 $23,880$69,480 $22,945
20 $47,760$138,960 $45,889

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
7 days
Public holidays
15
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
no statutory maximum
Notice
1 month after probation; 7 days minimum during probation after the first month
Reviewed
2026-09-20

Get a quote for Hong Kong.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $75,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Hong Kong: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $6,640/mo Get a Papaya quote· $6,940/mo Get a Deel quote· $7,040/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

What does an employer actually pay on top of salary in Hong Kong?
One statutory line: the employer's 5% MPF contribution, charged on relevant income up to HKD 30,000 a month. That caps the employer at HKD 1,500 a month, about US$191 at the reference rate used on this page, whatever the salary above the ceiling. At the US$75,000 example that is roughly 3.1% of gross, and the share keeps falling as pay rises.
Why is this figure lower than the 5.777% providers quote for Hong Kong?
Because the published estimates apply 5% to the whole salary. The MPF ceiling means the employer's 5% stops at HKD 30,000 of monthly relevant income. The rest of a typical quote is an employees' compensation insurance premium and the provider's own administrative fee, neither of which is a rate set by statute, so neither is in the ledger on this page.
What does one engineer cost per month through an EOR in Hong Kong?
At the US$75,000 example: US$6,250 of salary, about US$191 of MPF, and the provider's fee. With a published fee of US$599 a month that is about US$7,040 a month in total. Change the salary or the provider in the calculator above and every line recomputes.
Does the employer pay MPF on a 13th month or a bonus?
Yes, where the contract provides one. The MPFA counts 13th month pay, bonuses, commissions and cash allowances as relevant income. It excludes severance payments and long service payments. In practice the ceiling absorbs most of the difference for a salary above HKD 30,000 a month.
What paid time off is statutory in Hong Kong?
Seven days of paid annual leave after twelve months of continuous service, rising with length of service, one rest day in every period of seven days, and the statutory holidays, of which the Labour Department lists 15 for 2026.