Employer of Record in Hungary: what one employee really costs
Hungary, Europe. One software engineer at $40,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +13.0%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $3,966 – $4,466
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 3 days
- per Deel - Hire employees in Hungary ('your next hire could start in as little as 3 days')
Hiring one software engineer in Hungary at $40,000 gross a year costs about $433 a month in statutory employer charges (+13.0%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $3,966 to $4,466 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Hungary
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ HUF 12,714,834 gross / year · HUF at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $3,333 | |
| Social contribution tax (szocialis hozzajarulasi ado) | 13% | $433 |
| Employer on-cost | +13.0% | $433 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $3,767 |
$3,966/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $47,588
- Fee share
- 5.0%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$4,266/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $51,188
- Fee share
- 11.7%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$4,366/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $52,388
- Fee share
- 13.7%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $3,966 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $3,966/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $4,086 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $4,086/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $4,166 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $4,166/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $4,166 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $4,166/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $4,266 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $4,266/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $4,266 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $4,266/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $4,346 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $4,346/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $4,366 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $4,366/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $4,366 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $4,366/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $4,366 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $4,366/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $4,466 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $4,466/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $4,466 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $4,466/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Hungary adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: No employer tax credit applies to this hire = 1.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Social contribution tax (szocialis hozzajarulasi ado)Every employee, on the same base as the employee's own social security contribution, with no ceiling on employment income | 13% | Gross salary , floor HUF 1,162,080 / yr This is the only charge levied on the payslip, and that is the point of the country. The tax authority's own rate table gives the general rate as 13% from 1 January 2022, down from 15.5% before it, and its 2026 guidance states it plainly: 'Az ado merteke az adoalap 13 szazaleka' - the rate is 13% of the base. The same date removed the second employer levy: NAV's notice opens 'On 1 January 2022 the vocational training contribution ceased', with its training tax credit moved into the social contribution tax (nav.gov.hu/ado/szocialis_hozzajarulasi_ado/uj-szochokedvezmeny-2022.-januar-1-jetol, read 20 September 2026). One rate is not a simplification we have made; it is what Hungary now charges. For an employee the base is the same as the base of the social security contribution. There is a statutory minimum base, HUF 96,840 a month in 2026, stated in NAV's information booklet 49 of 16 January 2026 rather than on the rate table (nav.gov.hu/pfile/file?path=/ugyfeliranytu/nezzen-utana/inf_fuz/rejtett/Informacios-fuzetek---Aktualis/49.-A-szocialis-hozzajarulasi-ado). It sits far below any full-time minimum wage in Hungary, so it cannot bind for the kind of hire this page prices. The ceiling the law sets on social contribution tax applies to an individual's own liability on capital-type income, not to wages, so the employer rate does not fall away as salary rises. | NAV (Hungarian Tax and Customs Administration)2026-09-20 |
| Thirteenth month - not required by Hungarian law not in total | — | Carried at zero because the Labour Code creates no thirteenth-month entitlement. Hungarian employers commonly pay a bonus, and the cafeteria benefit system (SZEP card and similar) is close to standard in the market, but neither is statutory. Budget them as market cost if you need a competitive offer, not as a legal charge. | Act I of 2012 on the Labour Code (Munka Torvenykonyve), consolidated text on the National Legislation Database2026-09-20 |
| Local business tax (up to 2%) and innovation contribution (0.3%) - charged on the provider, not on the payslip not in total | — | The cost most likely to appear on a Hungarian EOR invoice without appearing in any employer rate. Two taxes fall on the provider's Hungarian company, not on the payslip. The local business tax (helyi iparűzési adó) is set by each municipality with a ceiling in the Local Taxes Act: section 40(1)(c) caps it at 2% of the tax base from 2000 onwards, and section 39(1) defines that base as net turnover less the cost of goods sold and mediated services, subcontractor work, material costs and direct research costs - wages are not among the deductions, so the salaries an EOR re-invoices sit inside its taxable turnover. The innovation contribution adds 0.3% of the same base under section 16(2) of Act LXXVI of 2014, and section 15(2)(a) exempts micro and small enterprises, so whether it applies depends on the size of the provider's Hungarian entity. Both are carried at zero because they tax the provider's turnover rather than one salary, and named because somebody pays them. Deel's Hungary page also lists a monthly 'additional employer cost' of HUF 15,700 and a one-off pre-employment medical examination at HUF 17,800 as provider line items; neither is traced to a Hungarian official source here. Ask whether any of these reaches your invoice. | Nemzeti Jogszabálytár2026-09-24 |
| Age-based extra leave, one to ten extra days not in total | — | Carried at zero because it buys time, not money, and because it depends on the employee's age rather than the job. The Labour Code adds one working day of leave from the age of 25, two from 28, three from 31, four from 33, five from 35, and continues upward. A hire in their late thirties therefore starts with several days more than the twenty-day base, which matters for capacity planning and for any handover you are costing, and which no provider quote will mention. | Act I of 2012 on the Labour Code, section 117(1) (age supplements to annual leave)2026-09-20 |
| Employer on-cost at $40,000 | +13.0% | $5,200 a year, $433 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
In Hungary the statutory case for a provider is weak and the practical case is still strong. The employer charge is a single 13% line with no ceiling, no thirteenth month and no fund to join, so an entity of your own would face the same simple arithmetic rather than the tangle of Brazil or Belgium. What the entity route adds is a Hungarian company with its own local business tax of up to 2% on turnover, its own accounting and its own registrations, against a hire that starts in about three days through a provider. The crossover therefore comes down to headcount and permanence more cleanly than usual: for one or two engineers the provider fee is the cheaper overhead, and a team of five or more permanent staff in Budapest usually justifies the KFT.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $5,200 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $15,600 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $26,000 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $52,000 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $104,000 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 20 days
- Public holidays
- 11
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- up to 3 months
- Notice
- Thirty days, the statutory base under section 69 of the Labour Code. On the employer's notice it lengthens with service: five days more after three years, fifteen after five, twenty after eight, twenty-five after ten.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-20
Get a quote for Hungary.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $40,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Hungary: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in Hungary?
- The only charge on the payslip is the social contribution tax at 13% of gross salary, with no ceiling and no second payroll levy. On a US$40,000 salary that is roughly US$430 a month on top of salary. Published EOR fees then run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost lands near $4,000 to $4,500 a month depending on the provider.
- Is 13% really the whole employer cost in Hungary?
- For the payslip, yes. Hungary abolished its separate vocational training contribution on 1 January 2022, the same day the social contribution tax fell from 15.5% to 13%, which is why the tax authority now publishes a single employer figure. Costs sit outside it, though: a municipal business tax of up to 2% plus a 0.3% innovation contribution that small and micro enterprises do not owe, both charged on the provider's Hungarian turnover rather than on your employee, and the pre-employment medical examination providers bill. A rehabilitation contribution also applies to larger employers in Hungary, assessed on their own headcount rather than on your payslip. Ask your provider whether either reaches your invoice.
- Is Hungary cheap to hire in compared with the rest of Europe?
- On employer charges Hungary is inexpensive by European standards: 13.0% against Belgium's 34.4%, Sweden's 32.3%, Spain's 32.2% and France's 48.2%. Several countries priced here are lower still, among them Romania at 2.3%, Denmark at 3.3%, Switzerland at 10.9% and Ireland at 12.9%. What is unusual about Hungary is not the level but the shape: because the 13% is uncapped and there is nothing else on the payslip, the figure holds at every salary instead of fading at a ceiling, which is not true of Switzerland or Ireland. Run your own figure through the table above to see the gap in dollars.
- How much paid leave does a Hungarian employee get?
- Twenty working days as the base, plus eleven public holidays. The base then grows with age rather than with service: one extra day from 25, two from 28, three from 31, four from 33, five from 35 and upward from there. A hire in their late thirties therefore starts with noticeably more than twenty days, which is worth knowing before you plan a team's capacity.
- What notice and probation apply in Hungary?
- Probation can be agreed for at most three months from the start of employment, and if a shorter period was agreed it may be extended once, never beyond three months in total. Notice is thirty days as a base. On the employer's side it lengthens with service: five days more after three years, fifteen after five, twenty after eight and twenty-five after ten.