Employer of Record in Taiwan: what one employee really costs
Taiwan, Asia. One software engineer at $45,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the European Commission's September 2026 exchange rate. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +14.4%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $4,488 – $4,988
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Hiring one software engineer in Taiwan at $45,000 gross a year costs about $539 a month in statutory employer charges (+14.4%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $4,488 to $4,988 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Taiwan
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ TWD 1,427,213 gross / year · TWD at the European Commission monthly rate for September 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $3,750 | |
| Labor insurance, ordinary accident premium (勞工保險普通事故保險費), employer share capped | 8.05% | $116 |
| Employment insurance (就業保險費), employer share capped | 0.70% | $10 |
| Labor occupational accident insurance (勞工職業災害保險), employer only capped | 0.25% | $6 |
| National health insurance (全民健康保險), employer share including the average-dependant factor | 4.84% | $181 |
| Labor pension contribution (勞工退休金), employer | 6% | $225 |
| Employer on-cost | +14.4% | $539 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $4,289 |
$4,488/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $53,851
- Fee share
- 4.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$4,788/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $57,451
- Fee share
- 10.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$4,888/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $58,651
- Fee share
- 12.3%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $4,488 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $4,488/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $4,608 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $4,608/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $4,688 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $4,688/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $4,688 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $4,688/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $4,788 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $4,788/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $4,788 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $4,788/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $4,868 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $4,868/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $4,888 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $4,888/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $4,888 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $4,888/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $4,888 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $4,888/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $4,988 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $4,988/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $4,988 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $4,988/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Taiwan adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Occupational accident insurance modelled at 0.25% (manpower brokerage and supply, the provider's class: industry rate 0.18% plus the flat commuting rate 0.07%) = 0.25.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Labor insurance, ordinary accident premium (勞工保險普通事故保險費), employer shareEmployees covered by the Labor Insurance Act; charged on the monthly insured salary, which the official table floors at TWD 29,500 and caps at TWD 45,800 | 8.05% | Gross salary , capped at TWD 549,600 / yr, floor TWD 354,000 / yr The headline rate is 11.5% of the insured salary and the employer pays 70% of it, which is the 8.05% used here. The Bureau of Labor Insurance publishes the rate calendar on its premium calculator: 10.5% from 1 January 2021, 11% from 1 January 2023 and 11.5% from 1 January 2025 (民國114年). The 70/20/10 split between employer, employee and central government is Article 15 of the Labor Insurance Act (https://law.moj.gov.tw/ENG/LawClass/LawAll.aspx?pcode=N0050001, amended 21 January 2026). The ceiling does most of the work on a professional salary: the insured-salary table issued by order of 21 November 2025 and in force from 1 January 2026 stops at TWD 45,800 a month for any total pay of TWD 43,901 or more (https://www.bli.gov.tw/Files/25661), so the employer's bill for this line stops at about TWD 3,687 a month. | Bureau of Labor Insurance2026-09-21 |
| Employment insurance (就業保險費), employer shareSame insured salary as labor insurance, so the same TWD 45,800 monthly ceiling applies | 0.70% | Gross salary , capped at TWD 549,600 / yr, floor TWD 354,000 / yr One per cent of the insured salary, shared the same way as labor insurance, so the employer carries 0.7%. The Employment Insurance Act sets the rate band at 1% to 2% (Article 8) and refers premium sharing back to the Labor Insurance Act (Article 40); the rate has stood at the bottom of that band, 1%, since 1 January 2003. It is collected on the same bill as labor insurance, which is why provider quotes often merge the two into one line. | Employment Insurance Act, Articles 8 and 402026-09-21 |
| Labor occupational accident insurance (勞工職業災害保險), employer onlyEmployer-only cover with its own insured-salary table: floor TWD 29,500 a month, ceiling TWD 72,800 a month | 0.25% | Gross salary , capped at TWD 873,600 / yr, floor TWD 354,000 / yr Since the Labor Occupational Accident Insurance and Protection Act took effect this cover has its own premium and its own, higher ceiling than labor insurance. The premium has two parts, an industry rate from 0.05% to 0.89% and a single commuting-accident rate of 0.07%, and the whole of it is borne by the insured unit; the insured salary is floored at the minimum wage (TWD 29,500 in 2026) and capped at TWD 72,800 (https://www.bli.gov.tw/0106048.html). Employers above a certain headcount are then experience-rated each year on their own claims record. Modelled here at 0.18% plus 0.07%, line 48 of the rate table (manpower brokerage and supply, the provider's class); see the assumption above. | Bureau of Labor Insurance2026-09-24 |
| National health insurance (全民健康保險), employer share including the average-dependant factorEmployees of private businesses with a fixed employer (Category 1); insured amount floored at TWD 29,500 and capped at TWD 313,000 a month | 4.84% | Gross salary , capped at TWD 3,756,000 / yr, floor TWD 354,000 / yr The published rate is 5.17% of the insured amount and the employer carries 60% of it under Article 27 of the National Health Insurance Act — but the employer's share is not 60% of one premium. The NHIA charges the employer for the insured person plus an average number of dependants, set at 0.56 since 1 January 2024, so the employer pays 5.17% × 60% × 1.56 = 4.83912% whether or not this particular employee has any dependants. That is why the health line is the second largest in this ledger, and why it is easy to underestimate: reading 5.17% and taking 60% of it gives about two thirds of the real figure. The ceiling is high enough that most professional salaries are charged in full. | National Health Insurance Administration2026-09-21 |
| Labor pension contribution (勞工退休金), employerIndividual pension account under the Labor Pension Act; contribution wage capped at TWD 150,000 a month | 6% | Gross salary , capped at TWD 1,800,000 / yr Six per cent of the worker's monthly wage into an individual pension account, and the statute writes it as a floor — the employer's contribution shall not be less than six percent — so six is the minimum, not a negotiated rate. The contribution wage follows a grade table issued by order of 24 November 2025 and in force from 1 January 2026, whose top grade is TWD 150,000 a month (https://www.bli.gov.tw/Files/25709); this engine charges the salary itself up to that ceiling rather than rounding it to the nearest grade, which moves the line by at most a few dollars a month. It is the largest single line in this ledger at the example salary, and unlike labor and health insurance it is not shared with the employee. | Labor Pension Act, Article 14 (amended 15 May 2019): the pension borne by the employer shall not be less than six percent of the worker's monthly wage, graded by the Monthly Contribution Classification Table2026-09-21 |
| Arrear Wage Payment Fund (積欠工資墊償基金), employer only not in total | — | Carried at zero because the amount is too small to show as a ledger line, not because the duty is missing: it is real, monthly, and paid by the employer alone. The rate is two and a half parts in ten thousand — 0.025% — of the labor-insurance insured salary, which is capped at TWD 45,800 a month, so the charge stops at about TWD 137 a year, roughly US$4. The fund advances unpaid wages, pensions and severance when an employer shuts down. It is billed on the same slip as the labor insurance premium, which is why it disappears inside provider quotes. | Regulations for the Contribution and Payment of the Arrear Wage Payment Fund, Article 3 (amended 20 May 2015): the employer contributes monthly at 2.5 per ten thousand of the total labor insurance insured salary2026-09-21 |
| Year-end bonus / profit allowance not in total | — | Carried at zero because no statute fixes an amount. Article 29 of the Labor Standards Act requires a business that closed its year in profit — after tax, after covering prior losses and after setting aside dividends and legal reserves — to pay allowances or a bonus out of what is left to workers who served the whole year without fault. That is a duty tied to profit, not a thirteenth month: it carries no rate, no floor and no effect in a loss-making year. Market practice around Lunar New Year is a separate matter and is usually written into the offer, so ask the provider what the contract promises before budgeting one or two months of pay. | Labor Standards Act, Article 29 (amended 31 July 2024): after the business year closes and taxes, prior losses, dividends and legal reserves are settled, allowances or bonus shall be paid out of the remaining net profit2026-09-21 |
| Statutory severance pay on employer-initiated termination not in total | — | Real but contingent, so it is named here and left out of the monthly on-cost. Where the employer ends the contract on one of the statutory grounds, severance under the Labor Pension Act is half a month of average wages for every full year of service, pro rata below a year, capped at six months of average wages. Notice is separate: ten days after three months of service, twenty days after one year, thirty days after three years, or pay in lieu. Ask the provider whether it accrues this monthly or invoices it when the hire ends. | Labor Pension Act, Article 12 (amended 15 May 2019): severance of half a month of average wages per full year of service, pro rata for part years, not exceeding six months of average wages2026-09-21 |
| Employer supplementary health insurance premium not in total | — | Carried at zero because at this page's example there is no gap for it to bite on, but it is the charge most likely to surprise a first-time employer here. Article 34 of the National Health Insurance Act makes the employer pay a supplementary premium on the difference between the total salary it pays in a month and the insured amounts it declared for that month; Article 33 sets that rate at 2% at the start and has it move with the main premium rate, which the authority announces. The gap opens when a bonus is paid on top of the monthly salary, or when pay runs past the top grade of the health table — so a thirteenth-month payment carries a health charge for the employer as well as for the employee. | National Health Insurance Act, Articles 33 and 34 (amended 28 June 2023): the employer pays a supplementary premium on the amount by which salary paid exceeds the insured payroll amount for the month2026-09-21 |
| Statutory annual leave (7 days after one year of service) not in total | — | Paid time inside the salary rather than an extra contribution. The Labor Standards Act grants three days after six months, seven after one year, ten after two, fourteen after three, fifteen after five, and one more day per year beyond ten years up to thirty. Unused days are paid out at the end of the year or on termination, so the entitlement turns into cash rather than lapsing. | Labor Standards Act, Article 38 (amended 31 July 2024): three days at six months, seven days at one year, ten at two years, fourteen at three years, fifteen at five years, rising to a maximum of thirty2026-09-21 |
| Employer on-cost at $45,000 | +14.4% | $6,463 a year, $539 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
A Taiwanese entity means foreign-investment approval, company registration with the Ministry of Economic Affairs, a tax registration, and then six separate enrolments for the first hire: labor insurance, employment insurance, occupational accident insurance and the arrear wage fund with the Bureau of Labor Insurance, health insurance with the NHIA, and a pension account for the 6% contribution. The statutory charges are not the argument against an entity — labor insurance stops at about TWD 3,687 a month and health insurance stops entirely above TWD 313,000 a month of pay. The argument is the administration: four insured-salary tables with four different ceilings, each with its own declaration and adjustment windows, plus the supplementary health premium on anything paid above the declared insured amount.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $6,463 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $19,388 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $32,314 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $64,627 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $129,255 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 7 days
- Public holidays
- 16
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- none in statute; reasonable term by contract
- Notice
- No statutory probation period: the Labor Standards Act has none, and its Enforcement Rules dropped their 40-day cap on 12 June 1997. The labour ministry's interpretation of 3 September 1997 accepts a reasonable probation agreed by contract, but dismissal during or at the end of it still follows the Act's ordinary notice and severance rules. Notice on employer-initiated termination runs ten days after three months of continuous service, twenty days after one year and thirty days after three years, with pay in lieu allowed; during the notice period the employee may take up to two paid days a week to look for work. Severance of half a month of average wages per year of service, capped at six months, comes on top where the ground for dismissal is a statutory one.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-21
Get a quote for Taiwan.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $45,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Taiwan: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much do employer contributions add to a salary in Taiwan?
- About 14.4% at this page's example of US$45,000 — roughly TWD 118,900 a month. That is about US$539 a month: US$1,395 a year of labor insurance, US$121 of employment insurance, US$2,178 of health insurance, US$2,700 of pension and US$69 of occupational accident cover. The rate falls as salary rises, because three of those five lines are already charged at a ceiling rather than on the salary.
- Why do providers quote over 20% when this page shows 14%?
- Because a percentage with no ceiling in it is not the bill. Add the nominal rates — 8.05% labor insurance, 0.7% employment insurance, 4.83912% health insurance, 6% pension and the accident line — and you land near 20%, which is what a quote shows. But labor and employment insurance stop at an insured salary of TWD 45,800 a month and the accident premium at TWD 72,800, so on a salary of TWD 118,900 those three lines are charged on a third to two thirds of the pay actually handed over. The gap between the quoted percentage and the charged amount is the reason to price a specific salary.
- Is the 6% labor pension contribution negotiable?
- No. The Labor Pension Act writes it as a floor — the employer's contribution shall not be less than six percent of monthly wages — paid into the worker's individual pension account, and the worker may add up to 6% more from their own pay. The contribution wage follows the official grade table, whose top grade is TWD 150,000 a month, so the employer's pension line stops at TWD 9,000 a month. It is the largest single line in this ledger at the example salary.
- Does Taiwan require a 13th-month salary?
- Not as a fixed entitlement. Article 29 of the Labor Standards Act requires a profitable business to pay allowances or a bonus out of what remains after tax, prior losses, dividends and reserves, to workers who served the full year without fault — a duty tied to profit, with no rate attached. A Lunar New Year bonus of one to two months is common market practice and is usually written into the contract instead. If one is paid, the employer also owes a supplementary health premium on it, because it sits above the declared insured amount.
- What does an employer of record in Taiwan charge on top of these contributions?
- Its own fee, and at this salary the fee is larger than the statutory charges. Employer contributions come to about US$539 a month at US$45,000, while published EOR fees start around US$599 a month. The all-in monthly cost is therefore roughly US$3,750 of salary plus US$539 of contributions plus the fee — compare the totals in the table above, which already add both, and negotiate the fee, the deposit and the FX margin rather than the payroll charges.