Country fileMMMMKVerified 2026-09-24
MM MMK · Asia/Yangon (UTC+6:30)

Employer of Record in Myanmar: what one employee really costs

Myanmar, Asia. One software engineer at $15,000 gross per year, priced through 8 providers with a published fee, on the European Commission's September 2026 exchange rate. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+0.2%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$1,451 – $1,851
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
7–10 days
per Playroll, Employer of Record in Myanmar: time to hire first employee 7 to 10 business days through an EOR, against 8 to 12 weeks of entity setup plus 2 weeks for a first hire

Hiring one software engineer in Myanmar at $15,000 gross a year costs about $2 a month in statutory employer charges (+0.2%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $599 per month depending on the provider: $1,451 to $1,851 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Myanmar

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ MMK 59,475,000 gross / year · MMK at the European Commission monthly rate for September 2026

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$1,250
Social Security Board, Health and Social Care Fund, employer share capped2%$2
Social Security Board, Employment Injury Benefit Fund, employer only capped1%$1
Employer on-cost+0.2%$2
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$1,252
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$1,451/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$17,415
Fee share
13.7%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Pebl

$1,651/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $399
Per year
$19,815
Fee share
24.2%

Checked 22 Sept 2026

Get a Pebl quote
Papaya Global

$1,751/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$21,015
Fee share
28.5%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Myanmar + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $15,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $1,451 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $1,451/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $1,651 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $1,651/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $1,651 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $1,651/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $1,751 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $1,751/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $1,751 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $1,751/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $1,831 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $1,831/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $1,851 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $1,851/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $1,851 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $1,851/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. — Not available Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 No page for Myanmar
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. — Not available Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 No page for Myanmar
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. — Not available No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 No page for Myanmar
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. — Not available Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 No page for Myanmar
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. — Not available Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 No page for Myanmar
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Myanmar adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
Social Security Board, Health and Social Care Fund, employer shareInsured employees of a registered establishment; charged on monthly wages up to MMK 300,000 a month 2% Gross salary , capped at MMK 3,600,000 / yr Two per cent from the employer and two per cent from the worker under rule 55(a)(i) of the Social Security Rules 2014, rising to 2.5% each for a person first registered after the age of 60. The base stops at MMK 300,000 a month, the ceiling set by Social Security Board Notification No. 56/2014 and not adjusted since, so any salary above it pays the same MMK 6,000 a month from the employer: a flat amount in practice, well under one per cent of this page's example salary. Rule 55 also writes a further 3% employer contribution to a disability, superannuation and survivors' fund and 1% to an unemployment fund, but rule 56(b) makes those payable only from a date the Ministry fixes by notification, and the unemployment scheme had not been implemented when the ILO reviewed it in 2022. They are not in this total; if they are switched on, the employer rate on the capped base goes from 3% to 7%. Secondary source for the ceiling: the ILO paper cited here, which reads Notification No. 56/2014 section 3(a); the notification itself was not read. Social Security Rules 2014 (Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security Notification No. 41/2014, 2 April 2014), rule 55(a)(i): two per cent by the employer and two per cent by the worker; secondary source: ILO, Policy design for unemployment benefits in Myanmar (2022), p. 12: ceiling of insurable earnings of 300,000 kyats per month (SSB Notification No. 56/2014, section 3(a)), not adjusted since 20142026-09-24
Social Security Board, Employment Injury Benefit Fund, employer onlyInsured employees of a registered establishment; employer only, on the same capped monthly wage 1% Gross salary , capped at MMK 3,600,000 / yr One per cent of monthly wages, paid by the employer alone. Rule 58(a) calls it the basic contribution for an establishment when it first registers; rule 58(b) and (c) then move the rate with that establishment's own record of permanent disability and survivors' claims. Under an employer of record the establishment is the provider's Myanmar entity, so the rate that applies is the provider's, not the client's. The MMK 300,000 monthly ceiling is applied here as providers and payroll guides apply it to the whole 3% (a maximum employer payment of MMK 9,000 a month); the ILO paper that cites the ceiling names only the Health and Social Care Fund, so treat the cap on this line as secondary source: provider practice. Social Security Rules 2014 (Notification No. 41/2014), rule 58(a): one per cent of the wages or income obtained by the insured person in a month as the basic contribution for the business centre initially registered; rules 58(b)-(c): rate adjusted with the establishment's claims record2026-09-24
Severance pay on termination by the employer (0.5 to 13 months by length of service) not in total — Carried at zero because it is owed only when the employer ends the contract, not because it is small. The scale in Ministry Notification No. 84/2015 runs by continuous months with the same employer: 0.5 month of pay for 6 to 11 months, 1 month for 12 to 23, 1.5 for 24 to 35, 3 for 36 to 47, 4 for 48 to 71, 5 for 72 to 95, 6 for 96 to 119, 8 for 120 to 239, 10 for 240 to 299 and 13 months from 300 months. Nothing is owed on resignation or on dismissal for misconduct after the third warning. The notification does not say which wage components count. Secondary source: the scale as tabulated by the ILO; the notification itself was not read. Secondary source: ILO, Policy design for unemployment benefits in Myanmar (2022), table 28, severance pay by duration of employment under MOLIP Notification No. 84/2015, and table 27, entitlement by reason for termination under the Employment Contract Template (Notification No. 140/2017)2026-09-24
Earned leave (10 days after twelve months of continuous service) not in total — Paid time inside the salary rather than an extra contribution. Ten days of earned leave once a worker has completed twelve months of continuous service, with proportional leave before that under rule 34 of the Leave and Holidays Rules 2018. On top: up to six days of casual leave a year, and medical leave for a worker with at least six months of service. Secondary source: the ILO summary of the Leave and Holidays Act 1951 and Rules 2018; the Act was not read on an official portal. Secondary source: ILO, Myanmar labour laws and COVID-19, frequently asked questions (2021): ten days earned leave after 12 months of continuous service (Leave and Holidays Act 1951, s. 4(1)-(2)), proportional leave under Rule 34, casual leave of a maximum of six days per year2026-09-24
Employer on-cost at $15,000+0.2%$27 a year, $2 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

An entity in Myanmar means a company registration, then registration of each establishment and its employees with the township Social Security office, and a written contract on the Ministry's template for every hire. The statutory employer charges themselves are light: 2% and 1% of wages, both stopping at MMK 300,000 a month, so MMK 9,000 a month is what an employer pays per insured worker today at the basic rates. What an entity inherits instead is the exit, priced by the Notification No. 84/2015 severance scale, and two rules written in advance: a further 4% of employer contributions in the Social Security Rules that start only when the Ministry fixes a date, and a minimum wage of MMK 4,800 a day topped up by MMK 3,000 of daily allowances since 1 October 2025 (National Committee Notification No. 1/2025, not applicable below ten workers). The employment injury rate follows the establishment's own claims record, which under an EOR is the provider's.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Myanmar
0$31,437$62,874$94,311$125,7481351020 0$31k$63k$94k$126k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrPapaya Global fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$5,988 $27
3 $7,164$17,964 $82
5 $11,940$29,940 $136
10 $23,880$59,880 $272
20 $47,760$119,760 $545

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
10 days
Public holidays
25 · calendar days; 14 occasions, Thingyan is 9
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
up to 3 months
Notice
Thirty days' written notice from the employer, with a sound reason, under clause 15(b)(3) of the Ministry's Standard Employment Contract Template (Notification No. 140/2017), and severance on the Notification No. 84/2015 scale on top. A worker usually resigns on 30 days' notice, or 7 days during probation. Probation may not exceed three months and cannot be extended (secondary source: ILO labour law FAQ, 2021, and Duane Morris employment guide, 2018).
Reviewed
2026-09-24

Get a quote for Myanmar.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $15,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Myanmar: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $1,451/mo Get a Pebl quote· $1,651/mo Get a Papaya quote· $1,751/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

How much do employer contributions add to a salary in Myanmar?
MMK 9,000 a month per employee at the basic rates. The employer pays 2% to the Social Security Board's Health and Social Care Fund and 1% to its Employment Injury Benefit Fund, both on monthly wages up to MMK 300,000. Above that ceiling the amount no longer grows with pay, so at this page's example salary the statutory charge is well under one per cent of salary, while the worker pays a further 2% on the same capped base. Two more employer contributions are already written into the Social Security Rules 2014, 3% for disability, superannuation and survivors and 1% for unemployment, but they start only from a date the Ministry fixes by notification, and none had been found on 24 September 2026.
Which exchange rate does this page use for the kyat?
The European Commission's accounting rate for September 2026, MMK 3,965 to the US dollar, the rule this site applies to every currency the European Central Bank does not quote and no central bank pegs. On 24 September 2026 the Central Bank of Myanmar published two rates of its own: a reference rate of MMK 2,100, and a market trading rate of MMK 3,660 that it calculates as a weighted average of banks' interbank and customer trades. No provider page read states which rate funds its Myanmar payroll, and it matters more than any charge on this page: a kyat salary funded at 2,100 costs about 89% more in dollars than at 3,965, and about 8% more at 3,660. Ask for the conversion rate in writing.
Which providers employ in Myanmar, and do sanctions get in the way?
G-P, Multiplier, Pebl, Playroll, Safeguard Global, RemoFirst, Borderless AI and Atlas HXM publish a Myanmar page, and Papaya Global a Myanmar hiring guide. Deel, Oyster, Remote, Rippling and Rivermate publish none, so they are shown as not available here (all read on 24 September 2026). The sanctions lists read the same day name entities rather than the country: the US Treasury's list includes the state-owned Myanma Foreign Trade Bank and Myanma Investment and Commercial Bank, and bars US persons from financial services to the state oil and gas company MOGE; the EU list names MOGE; the UK list names none of the three. The provider is the employer and carries that question, so ask which bank pays your employee.
What does it cost to end a contract in Myanmar?
Thirty days' written notice with a sound reason, plus severance on the Ministry's scale: half a month of pay after 6 months of service, one month after a year, three months after three years, eight months after ten years, and thirteen months after 25 years. Nothing is owed when the worker resigns or is dismissed for misconduct after a third warning. Probation may last up to three months and cannot be extended.
How much paid leave and how many public holidays are there in Myanmar?
Ten days of earned leave after twelve months of continuous service, proportional before that, plus up to six days of casual leave a year and medical leave after six months of service. The government's 2026 list has 14 public holidays covering 25 calendar days, nine of them for the Thingyan water festival in April.