Country fileAZAZNVerified 2026-09-24
AZ AZN · Asia/Baku (UTC+4)

Employer of Record in Azerbaijan: what one employee really costs

Azerbaijan, Europe. One software engineer at $28,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the European Commission's September 2026 exchange rate. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+17.5%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$2,941 – $3,441
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
6 days
per Deel - Hire employees in Azerbaijan ('your next hire could start in as little as 6 days with Deel')

Hiring one software engineer in Azerbaijan at $28,000 gross a year costs about $408 a month in statutory employer charges (+17.5%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $2,941 to $3,441 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Azerbaijan

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ AZN 47,600 gross / year · AZN at the European Commission monthly rate for September 2026

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$2,333
Social insurance (DSMF), employer share on the first AZN 200 a month capped22%$26
Social insurance (DSMF), employer share from AZN 200 to AZN 8,000 a month15%$332
Social insurance (DSMF), employer share above AZN 8,000 a month n/a——
Compulsory medical insurance, employer share on the first AZN 2,500 a month capped2%$29
Compulsory medical insurance, employer share above AZN 2,500 a month0.50%$4
Unemployment insurance, employer share0.50%$12
Compulsory occupational accident insurance (office staff, risk class 1)0.20%$5
Employer on-cost+17.5%$408
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$2,742
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$2,941/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$35,288
Fee share
6.8%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$3,241/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$38,888
Fee share
15.4%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$3,341/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$40,088
Fee share
17.9%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Azerbaijan + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $28,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $2,941 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $2,941/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $3,061 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $3,061/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $3,141 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $3,141/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $3,141 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $3,141/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $3,241 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $3,241/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $3,241 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $3,241/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $3,321 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $3,321/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $3,341 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $3,341/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $3,341 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $3,341/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $3,341 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $3,341/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $3,441 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $3,441/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $3,441 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $3,441/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Azerbaijan adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: The employing entity is in the non-oil, non-state sector = 1; Salary paid in 12 equal monthly instalments = 12.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
Social insurance (DSMF), employer share on the first AZN 200 a monthEvery employee of a non-oil private employer, on the first AZN 200 of each month's pay 22% Gross salary , capped at AZN 2,400 / yr The first of three bands in the 2026 schedule. Article 14.4 of the Law on Social Insurance, reworded by Law No. 297-VIIQD of 9 December 2025, sets the employer's share for the non-oil, non-state sector at 22% of monthly income up to AZN 200. That is AZN 44 a month at most, whatever the salary, which is why this line stops growing above AZN 2,400 a year. The same table appears on the State Social Protection Fund's own page and in the State Tax Service's announcement of 21 November 2025, which dates it from 1 January 2026. The employee's share on this slice is 3%, withheld from pay. Law of the Republic of Azerbaijan No. 250-IQ on Social Insurance, article 14.4 as reworded by Law No. 297-VIIQD of 9 December 2025 (consolidated text, e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Social insurance (DSMF), employer share from AZN 200 to AZN 8,000 a monthThe slice of monthly pay between AZN 200 and AZN 8,000 15% Slice of gross salary between AZN 2,400 and AZN 96,000 / yr The band that carries almost all of the Azerbaijani employer bill at a technology salary. Article 14.4 writes it as 'AZN 44 + 15% of the part from AZN 200 to AZN 8,000'; the AZN 44 is the 22% line above, so this line charges 15% on the slice between AZN 2,400 and AZN 96,000 a year. At the US$28,000 example, about AZN 3,967 a month, it is AZN 565 a month. The employee pays 10% on the same slice. Deel's Azerbaijan page applies this 15% to everything above AZN 200 with no upper band, which was the rule until 31 December 2025. Law of the Republic of Azerbaijan No. 250-IQ on Social Insurance, article 14.4 as reworded by Law No. 297-VIIQD of 9 December 2025 (consolidated text, e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Social insurance (DSMF), employer share above AZN 8,000 a monthOnly the part of monthly pay above AZN 8,000 (about US$56,500 a year); not reached at the example salary 11% Slice of gross salary between AZN 96,000 and no ceiling / yr ; only when gross ≥ AZN 96,000 / yr New on 1 January 2026. Before Law No. 297-VIIQD the 15% band ran without an upper limit; since then article 14.4 charges the employer 'AZN 1,214 + 11% of the part above AZN 8,000', and the employee 10%. AZN 1,214 is exactly what the two lower bands produce at AZN 8,000 (44 + 15% of 7,800), so this line only adds 11% on the excess. There is no ceiling on it. The State Tax Service presented the change as a cut of the combined rate above AZN 8,000 from 25% to 21%. Law of the Republic of Azerbaijan No. 250-IQ on Social Insurance, article 14.4 as reworded by Law No. 297-VIIQD of 9 December 2025 (consolidated text, e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Compulsory medical insurance, employer share on the first AZN 2,500 a monthEvery employee of a non-oil private employer, on the first AZN 2,500 of each month's pay 2% Gross salary , capped at AZN 30,000 / yr The ceiling here caps the base, not the amount: 2% on monthly pay up to AZN 2,500, so at most AZN 50 a month, and the part above is charged at 0.5% on the next line. Article 15-10.1.2-1 of the Law on Medical Insurance, inserted by Law No. 297-VIIQD from 1 January 2026, moved the threshold for non-oil private employers from AZN 8,000 down to AZN 2,500. The oil, gas and state sectors keep the AZN 8,000 threshold of article 15-10.1.2. Deel's page still prints the old threshold, with the two rates the wrong way round (0.5% below, 2% above). The employee pays the same 2% and 0.5%. Law of the Republic of Azerbaijan No. 725-IQ on Medical Insurance, article 15-10.1.2-1 inserted by Law No. 297-VIIQD of 9 December 2025 (consolidated text, e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Compulsory medical insurance, employer share above AZN 2,500 a monthOnly the part of monthly pay above AZN 2,500 0.50% Slice of gross salary between AZN 30,000 and no ceiling / yr ; only when gross ≥ AZN 30,000 / yr 0.5% on the part of monthly pay above AZN 2,500, with no upper limit, under the same article 15-10.1.2-1. At the US$28,000 example it is about AZN 7 a month. The State Tax Service summed up the 2026 change as the combined medical rate on pay between AZN 2,500 and AZN 8,000 falling from 4% to 1%. Law of the Republic of Azerbaijan No. 725-IQ on Medical Insurance, article 15-10.1.2-1 inserted by Law No. 297-VIIQD of 9 December 2025 (consolidated text, e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Unemployment insurance, employer shareEvery employee, on the whole payroll, with no ceiling 0.50% Gross salary Article 9.0.1 of the Law on Unemployment Insurance sets the employer's tariff at 0.5% of the accrued payroll, and article 9.0.2 withholds another 0.5% from the employee. The 2026 reform left it unchanged: the State Tax Service's announcement says it 'continues in the current manner'. It is missing from the employer ledger on Deel's Azerbaijan page. Law of the Republic of Azerbaijan No. 765-VQ on Unemployment Insurance, article 9.0.1 (consolidated text, e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Compulsory occupational accident insurance (office staff, risk class 1)Every employee; 0.2% for office staff in risk classes 1 to 5 0.20% Gross salary A premium the employer pays to a licensed insurer rather than to a state fund, but compulsory under the Law on compulsory insurance against loss of professional capacity from occupational accidents and diseases, whose article 13.1 caps tariffs at 2%. The Cabinet of Ministers sets them in decision No. 200 of 5 November 2010, amended most recently on 23 February 2026: software development (code J 62) and employment activities (code N 78, the class that covers staffing and employment services) are both in risk class 1, where the tariff for office staff is 0.2%. A software engineer is office staff: decision No. 192 of 29 October 2010 puts managers, specialists and technical staff in that category, and defines the premium base as twelve times the monthly contract salary, with no ceiling. Manual workers in the same class pay 0.4%. Cabinet of Ministers of Azerbaijan, decision No. 200 of 5 November 2010 on occupational accident insurance tariffs, as amended to 23 February 2026 (e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Employee contributions and income tax - withheld, not a cost to you not in total — Carried at zero because the employee pays them out of gross pay, and named because they explain the gap between a gross offer and take-home pay. In the non-oil private sector the employee pays 3% of social insurance on the first AZN 200 a month and 10% above, 2% of medical insurance up to AZN 2,500 and 0.5% above, and 0.5% of unemployment insurance. Income tax for the same sector was reset on 1 January 2026, when the seven-year income tax privilege introduced in 2019 ended: 3% on monthly income up to AZN 2,500 in 2026 (5% in 2027, 7% from 2028), with AZN 200 of it tax-free for incomes up to AZN 2,500, then 10% from AZN 2,500 to AZN 8,000 and 14% above. A candidate comparing offers made before and after January 2026 is comparing different net pay on the same gross. State Tax Service under the Ministry of Economy, announcement of 21 November 2025 on the 2026 income tax and social insurance schedule for the non-oil private sector2026-09-24
Technology park residents - reduced social insurance option, not priced here not in total — Carried at zero because it does not apply to a hire made through an EOR provider unless that provider is itself a registered technology park resident, contractor or direct subcontractor. Article 14.8 of the Law on Social Insurance lets Azerbaijani citizens employed by a technology park resident for software development or system integration choose, for ten years from 1 January 2023, to pay social insurance on four times the monthly minimum wage instead of on their salary. The choice belongs to the employee, is made each year by 15 January and excludes foreigners. For a company that plans a larger engineering team in Baku, that is a reason to price a resident entity against the EOR fee. Law of the Republic of Azerbaijan No. 250-IQ on Social Insurance, article 14.8 (consolidated text, e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Thirteenth month - not required by Azerbaijani law not in total — Carried at zero because the Labour Code creates no thirteenth-month salary or holiday bonus. The money it adds on top of ordinary pay is tied to events: average pay during annual leave, and on a redundancy the notice and severance amounts in article 77, which are termination costs rather than recurring ones. Bonuses and private health cover are contractual in the Baku technology market. Labour Code of the Republic of Azerbaijan, consolidated text (e-qanun.az)2026-09-24
Employer on-cost at $28,000+17.5%$4,900 a year, $408 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

Azerbaijan is a mid-weight ledger with a shape worth understanding before you compare providers. At the US$28,000 example the statutory employer cost is about 17.5% of gross, roughly US$408 a month, so a published provider fee of US$199 to US$699 a month sits between about half of the statutory side and 1.7 times it: neither dominates the decision. The shape is regressive by design. Because the social insurance rate steps down from 22% to 15% and, since January 2026, to 11% above AZN 8,000 a month, while medical insurance drops to 0.5% above AZN 2,500, the employer's rate is about 18.3% of gross at AZN 2,500 a month, 16.8% at AZN 8,000 and 14.7% at AZN 15,000. Senior hires cost proportionally less in levies, which matters when you price a team rather than one engineer. Three Azerbaijani specifics belong in the comparison. The reduced schedule depends on the employer sitting outside oil, gas and the state sector, which an EOR's private local entity does, and the gap to the general 22% schedule is about 7 points of gross at the example. The 2026 reform moved several numbers at once, and provider pages have not all caught up: check that a quote uses the 11% band and the AZN 2,500 medical threshold. And redundancy is a priced exit: notice of 2 to 9 weeks plus severance of 1 to 2 months' pay, both scaled to service, is a cash cost you can budget at the start. A company planning a sizeable engineering team in Baku should also price a technology park resident entity, whose employees may opt into a reduced social insurance base.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Azerbaijan
0$36,477$72,954$109,431$145,9081351020 0$36k$73k$109k$146k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $4,900
3 $7,164$20,844 $14,699
5 $11,940$34,740 $24,498
10 $23,880$69,480 $48,995
20 $47,760$138,960 $97,991

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
30 days
Public holidays
19
13th month
Not mandatory
Probation
up to 3 months
Notice
On a redundancy, notice scales with service under article 77(1) of the Labour Code: at least 2 calendar weeks under one year, 4 weeks from one to five years, 6 weeks from five to ten and 9 weeks beyond ten, with at least one paid day off each week to look for work. With the employee's consent it can be replaced by a payment of 0.5, 0.9, 1.4 or 2 months' average pay. Severance is owed on top under article 77(3): one month's average pay under one year of service, at least 1.4 months from one to five years, 1.7 from five to ten and 2 beyond ten. Either side may end the contract on 3 days' written notice during probation (article 53(1)). An employee resigning gives one calendar month (article 69(1)).
Reviewed
2026-09-24

Get a quote for Azerbaijan.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $28,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Azerbaijan: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $2,941/mo Get a Papaya quote· $3,241/mo Get a Deel quote· $3,341/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

What does an employer pay on top of salary in Azerbaijan in 2026?
For a private employer outside oil and gas, which is what an EOR provider's local entity is: social insurance of 22% on the first AZN 200 a month, 15% from AZN 200 to AZN 8,000 and 11% above; medical insurance of 2% up to AZN 2,500 a month and 0.5% above; unemployment insurance of 0.5%; and occupational accident insurance of 0.2% for office staff. At the US$28,000 example, about AZN 3,967 a month, that comes to about 17.5% of gross, or roughly US$408 a month.
What changed for Azerbaijani payroll on 1 January 2026?
Law No. 297-VIIQD of 9 December 2025 did three things for the non-oil private sector. It added an 11% employer band for social insurance above AZN 8,000 a month, where the rate had been 15%. It moved the medical insurance threshold from AZN 8,000 down to AZN 2,500, so the combined medical rate between those two figures fell from 4% to 1%. And the seven-year income tax privilege introduced in 2019 ended, replaced by 3% up to AZN 2,500 in 2026, rising to 7% by 2028. The first two lower the employer's bill; the third lowers the employee's take-home pay.
What does one engineer cost per month through an EOR in Azerbaijan?
At the US$28,000 example: US$2,333 of salary, about US$408 of statutory employer charges, and the provider's fee. With a published fee of US$599 a month that is about US$3,341 a month in total; with a US$199 fee it is about US$2,941. Change the salary or the provider in the calculator above and every line recomputes, including the bands, which move the employer's rate as the salary changes.
Is a software engineer entitled to 21 or 30 days of annual leave?
30 calendar days when the contract names a specialist post. Article 114(2) of the Labour Code sets a floor of 21 calendar days, and 114(3)(b), reworded by Law No. 332-VIIQD of 30 December 2025, gives 30 to employees classed as managers or specialists in the unified tariff-qualification reference books. The book common to all sectors, approved by the Labour Ministry in 2005 and applied whatever the employer's form of ownership, lists the engineer-programmer and the engineer under specialists. A job title the book does not list is not settled by it, so check the post named in the contract. Public holidays add 19 non-working days under article 105(2), counting five days for Novruz and two each for Qurban and Ramazan, plus 20 January under article 106; a holiday that falls on a weekend moves to the next working day.
What probation, notice and severance apply in Azerbaijan?
Probation is capped at three months under article 51(1), or two weeks on a contract of up to six months, and either side can end it on 3 days' written notice. On a redundancy, article 77 sets notice by length of service, from at least 2 calendar weeks under one year to 9 weeks beyond ten years, and severance from one month's average pay to at least two months. With the employee's consent the notice can be paid out instead, at 0.5 to 2 months' pay. An employee resigning gives one calendar month.