Employer of Record in the United States: what one employee really costs
United States, North America. One software engineer at $120,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, paid in US dollars, with no currency conversion. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +8.0%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $11,000 – $11,500
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Hiring one software engineer in the United States (California rates) at $120,000 gross a year costs about $801 a month in statutory employer charges (+8.0%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $11,000 to $11,500 all-in, before deposits, FX margins, add-ons and health insurance. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to the United States
Price your own hire, line by line.
USD 120,000 gross / year · paid in US dollars, no conversion
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $10,000 | |
| Social Security (OASDI) | 6.20% | $620 |
| Medicare (HI) | 1.45% | $145 |
| Federal unemployment tax (FUTA), net of the 5.4% state credit capped | 0.60% | $4 |
| FUTA credit reduction, California (2026 wages, at least) capped | 1.50% | $9 |
| California Unemployment Insurance (UI), new-employer rate capped | 3.40% | $20 |
| California Employment Training Tax (ETT) capped | 0.10% | $1 |
| Workers' compensation, California class 8859(1) (at least the pure premium) | 0.033% | $3 |
| Employer on-cost | +8.0% | $801 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $10,801 |
$11,000/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $132,000
- Fee share
- 1.8%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$11,300/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $135,600
- Fee share
- 4.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$11,400/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $136,800
- Fee share
- 5.3%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $11,000 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $11,000/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $11,120 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $11,120/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $11,200 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $11,200/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $11,200 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $11,200/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $11,300 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $11,300/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $11,300 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $11,300/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $11,380 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $11,380/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $11,400 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $11,400/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $11,400 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $11,400/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $11,400 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $11,400/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $11,500 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $11,500/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $11,500 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $11,500/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What the United States adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: Employee works in California (state unemployment, training tax and workers' compensation priced at California rates) = 1.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Social Security (OASDI)Employers, on wages up to the 2026 contribution and benefit base | 6.20% | Gross salary , capped at USD 184,500 / yr 6.2% employer share on wages up to US$184,500 in 2026, so at most US$11,439 a year per employee. The employee pays the same 6.2% on the same wages, withheld from salary. The base changes each year with the national average wage index. | Social Security Administration2026-09-24 |
| Medicare (HI)Employers, on all wages with no limit | 1.45% | Gross salary 1.45% employer share on all wages, with no wage base limit. The Additional Medicare Tax of 0.9% on wages above US$200,000 is withheld from the employee only: Publication 15 states there is no employer share of it, so it is not in this ledger. | IRS Publication 15 (2026), Circular E, Employer's Tax Guide2026-09-24 |
| Federal unemployment tax (FUTA), net of the 5.4% state creditEmployers, on the first US$7,000 of each employee's wages in the calendar year | 0.60% | Gross salary , capped at USD 7,000 / yr FUTA is 6.0% on the first US$7,000 of wages; an employer that pays its state unemployment tax in full and on time takes a credit of up to 5.4%, leaving 0.6%, or US$42 a year per employee. The credit is cut in a credit reduction state, and California is one: see the next line. | IRS Publication 15 (2026), section 142026-09-24 |
| FUTA credit reduction, California (2026 wages, at least)Employers paying wages subject to California unemployment law, while California owes the federal unemployment fund | 1.50% | Gross salary , capped at USD 7,000 / yr California owes the federal unemployment fund, so its employers lose part of the 5.4% FUTA credit, 0.3 point more for each year the advance stays unpaid: 1.2% for 2025 wages (Schedule A of Form 940 for 2025, US$84 a year per employee) and at least 1.5% for 2026 wages, US$105 a year per employee, the Department of Labor's potential 2026 reduction for the outstanding advance. The EDD's May 2026 UI Fund Forecast keeps the fund in deficit through 2027 (minus US$22.0 billion projected at the end of 2026), so the advance will not be repaid by 10 November 2026. The same Department of Labor table adds an estimated 3.8% benefit-cost-rate add-on, 5.3% in all (US$371), unless it is waived: it was waived for 2025, and the EDD's forecast assumes it is waived again for 2026. The final 2026 figure is set after 10 November 2026 and paid with the Form 940 for 2026. | U.S. Department of Labor, ETA2026-09-24 |
| California Unemployment Insurance (UI), new-employer rateEmployers with California payroll, on the first US$7,000 of each employee's wages in 2026 | 3.40% | Gross salary , capped at USD 7,000 / yr A declared point inside a published range, not a floor. The EDD assigns new employers 3.4% for two to three years; after that the rate follows the employer's own claims history under Schedule F+ for 2026, from 1.5% to 6.2%. An employer of record is not a new employer and its experience rate is not published, so 3.4% on the US$7,000 wage limit, US$238 a year per employee, stands in for a figure between US$105 and US$434. | California EDD2026-09-24 |
| California Employment Training Tax (ETT)California employers whose UI reserve account balance is zero or positive | 0.10% | Gross salary , capped at USD 7,000 / yr 0.1% on the first US$7,000 of wages in 2026, US$7 a year per employee. The EDD charges it when the employer's UI reserve account is zero or positive and shows 0.0% when it is negative, so a provider with a negative reserve pays nothing on this line. California State Disability Insurance (1.3% of all wages in 2026) is withheld from the employee and is not an employer charge. | California EDD2026-09-24 |
| Workers' compensation, California class 8859(1) (at least the pure premium)California employers must insure; priced per US$100 of payroll by classification | 0.033% | Gross salary , capped at USD 171,600 / yr Workers' compensation is an insurance premium, not a statutory rate. California's plan classifies a leased or provided worker 'as though the workers are employees of the client' (Uniform Statistical Reporting Plan effective 1 September 2026, Part 3, Section III, rule 7, Labor Contractors), so the class is the client's, not the provider's. For a client that develops software for others or sells standard software, that is 8859(1), Computer Programming or Software Development, whose payroll counts up to US$171,600 a year per employee. The approved advisory pure premium rate from 1 September 2026 is US$0.033 per US$100 of payroll: at least US$39.60 a year at the example salary. A pure premium covers expected losses and claim handling only; the WCIRB states that insurer rates are typically higher, so the premium actually billed is at least this figure. A client in another industry takes another class and another rate. | WCIRB California2026-09-24 |
| Health coverage - no statutory premium, but a large employer must offer it or pay not in total | — | No federal or California statute sets a health insurance contribution, so the total on this page carries none. Section 4980H applies to applicable large employers, those with an average of at least 50 full-time employees (including equivalents) in the prior year: they must offer affordable, minimum-value coverage to their full-time employees and dependents or risk a payment once a full-time employee gets a premium tax credit. For 2026 the IRS indexes the amounts to US$3,340 a year per full-time employee (minus up to 30) under 4980H(a) when coverage is not offered to at least 95% of full-time staff, and US$5,010 a year per employee receiving a credit under 4980H(b). Ask the provider which group plan it offers in California, what share of the monthly premium it bills to you, and whether that amount is inside or on top of its fee. For an order of magnitude, from a survey rather than a statute (KFF 2025 Employer Health Benefits Survey): the average single-coverage premium was US$9,325 a year, of which covered workers paid US$1,440 on average, leaving about US$7,885 a year, about US$657 a month, to the employer; family coverage averaged US$26,993, of which workers paid US$6,850. | IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-26 (2026 adjusted amounts: $3,340 and $5,010); IRS Q&A on employer shared responsibility (ALE definition); KFF 2025 Employer Health Benefits Survey (premium order of magnitude)2026-09-24 |
| Section 4980H - whose offer of coverage counts not in total | — | Treasury regulations define the employer for section 4980H as the common-law employer (54.4980H-1(a)(16)), which is not necessarily the entity that runs the payroll. Whether an employer reaches 50 full-time employees (full-time equivalents included) is counted across its controlled group (54.4980H-1(a)(16)), and hours paid as income from sources outside the United States are left out (54.4980H-1(a)(24)). Where a staffing firm that is not the common-law employer offers coverage under its own plan on a client's behalf, the offer counts as the client's only if the client pays the firm a higher fee for an employee who enrols than for one who does not (54.4980H-4(b)(2)). Which entity is the common-law employer in an employer of record arrangement depends on who directs and controls the work; this page does not decide it. Ask the provider whether its fee is higher when the employee enrols in its plan. | 26 CFR 54.4980H-1(a)(15), (16), (24) and 54.4980H-4(b)(2), eCFR up to date as of 22 September 20262026-09-24 |
| California paid sick leave - at least 40 hours or five days a year not in total | — | Labor Code section 246 gives an employee who works in California for the same employer for 30 or more days within a year paid sick days, accruing at not less than one hour per 30 hours worked; an exempt professional is deemed to work 40 hours a week. The Labor Commissioner's guidance, updated 31 December 2025, is that since 1 January 2024 the employer must allow use of at least 40 hours or five days a year, whichever is more. Taken as paid time off inside the annual salary, it adds no cash cost and sits outside the total. | California Labor Code section 246; Labor Commissioner (DLSE)2026-09-24 |
| California State Disability Insurance - withheld, not charged to the employer not in total | — | SDI, which also funds Paid Family Leave, is a withholding from the employee's pay: 1.3% of all wages in 2026, with no wage limit since 1 January 2024. It lowers the employee's net pay and adds nothing to the employer's cost. | California EDD2026-09-24 |
| Employer on-cost at $120,000 | +8.0% | $9,612 a year, $801 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
Employing in the United States without a provider means your own US company, then an employer account in each state where someone works: in California an EDD account for unemployment insurance, the training tax and SDI withholding, plus a workers' compensation policy, alongside federal filings on Forms 941 and 940. The statutory charges are owed either way, about 8.0% of a US$120,000 salary, of which Social Security and Medicare make up 7.65 points. Once that company exists, a PEO becomes the cheaper route: it co-employs staff already on your own books, from US$125 (Deel) or from US$99 (Remote) per employee per month, against published EOR fees of US$199 to US$699, and it cannot be used without the entity. What no law prices can outweigh the charges: a health plan, which an employer with 50 or more full-time employees must offer or risk a payment under section 4980H.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $9,612 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $28,835 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $48,058 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $96,116 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $192,232 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 0 days · none federally; California: 5 sick days
- Public holidays
- 11 · federal list; not owed by private employers
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- at-will employment: no statutory probation
- Notice
- California employment with no specified term is at will: under Labor Code section 2922 it 'may be terminated at the will of either party on notice to the other', a section that fixes no length for that notice; the Department of Labor states that severance pay is a matter of agreement. Statute requires advance notice only for collective dismissals. The federal WARN Act applies to employers with 100 or more employees and requires 60 days' written notice of a plant closing (50 or more employees losing work at one site) or a mass layoff (at least 50 employees making up at least 33% of a site, or at least 500). California's own WARN Act applies from 75 employees and requires 60 days' notice of a layoff of 50 or more employees within 30 days.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-24
Get a quote for the United States.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $120,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for the United States: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in the United States?
- Two parts. The provider's fee, priced per provider in the table above, is not published by state. The employer charges do: in California at this page's example of US$120,000 they come to about 8.0% of gross, about US$9,612 a year or US$801 a month. That is Social Security 6.2% (US$7,440), Medicare 1.45% (US$1,740), federal unemployment at least US$147 including California's credit reduction for 2026 wages, state unemployment US$238 at the 3.4% new-employer rate, the training tax US$7 and at least US$39.60 of workers' compensation. Health insurance comes on top of both.
- Is health insurance included in the US employer cost?
- Not in the total, because no statute sets a premium. An employer with 50 or more full-time employees must offer affordable coverage or risk a payment under section 4980H: in 2026, US$3,340 a year per full-time employee (minus up to 30), or US$5,010 per employee who receives a premium tax credit. Remote, RemoFirst and Papaya describe health cover as mandatory for their US employees and Deel lists it as optional; none of them printed a premium when read on 24 September 2026. For this rule the employer is the common-law employer, not necessarily the one running payroll. Where the provider, as a staffing firm, is not the common-law employer, its plan counts as your offer only if its fee is higher for an employee who enrols, so ask how its fee changes with enrolment. As an order of magnitude, the KFF 2025 survey puts the employer's share of an average single-coverage premium near US$7,885 a year.
- Which providers can employ in the US if my company has no US entity?
- Each of the fourteen providers compared here sold a US Employer of Record when their US pages were read on 24 September 2026, with two limits worth knowing before a quote. Deel's US page says its policy permits only exempt (salaried) workers, so ask Deel whether the role qualifies before comparing its total. Atlas HXM employs only people who already hold US work authorization. Deel and Remote also sell a US PEO, which needs your own US entity.
- Why does federal unemployment tax cost more for a California employee?
- California owes the federal unemployment fund, so its employers lose part of the 5.4% FUTA credit, 0.3 point more each year the advance stays unpaid: 1.2% for 2025 wages, and at least 1.5% for 2026 wages, which takes federal unemployment tax from US$42 to at least US$147 per employee. The Department of Labor's table adds an estimated 3.8% add-on, US$413 in all, unless it is waived, as it was for 2025; the final figure is set after 10 November 2026.
- Is a PEO cheaper than an EOR in the United States?
- On fees, yes, but only once you own a US company. A PEO co-employs people already on your own entity's payroll: Deel prices it from US$125 and Remote from US$99 per employee per month, against Deel's Employer of Record from US$599 and Remote's at US$699. Without a US entity the PEO is not available, and the choice is between an EOR fee and the cost of incorporating and registering in each state where you hire. The statutory charges above are owed under all three routes, each employer at its own unemployment and workers' compensation rates.