Employer of Record in Croatia: what one employee really costs
Croatia, Europe. One software engineer at $40,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.
- Employer on-cost
- +16.5%
- statutory charges on top of gross
- All-in per month
- $4,082 – $4,582
- salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
- Onboarding through an EOR
- 3 days
- per Deel - Hire employees in Croatia ('your next hire could start in as little as 3 days with Deel')
Hiring one software engineer in Croatia at $40,000 gross a year costs about $550 a month in statutory employer charges (+16.5%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $4,082 to $4,582 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.
Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid
Cost engine · preset to Croatia
Price your own hire, line by line.
≈ EUR 34,904 gross / year · EUR at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026
| Per employee | Rate | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | $3,333 | |
| Compulsory health insurance contribution (doprinos za obvezno zdravstveno osiguranje) | 16.50% | $550 |
| Employer on-cost | +16.5% | $550 |
| Cost of employment, before EOR fee | $3,883 |
$4,082/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $199
- Per year
- $48,988
- Fee share
- 4.9%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a RemoFirst quote$4,382/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $499
- Per year
- $52,588
- Fee share
- 11.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Papaya quote$4,482/ month · 1 employee
- Fee / mo
- from $599
- Per year
- $53,788
- Fee share
- 13.4%
Checked 2 Sept 2026
Get a Deel quoteEmployer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology
14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.
| Provider | EOR fee / employee / mo | All-in / mo, 1 hire | Deposit | Countries | Checked | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. | from $199 | $4,082 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from RemoFirst· $4,082/mo |
| Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. | from $319 | $4,202 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rivermate· $4,202/mo |
| Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. | from $399 | $4,282 | Not stated on the pricing page | 185+ | 22 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Pebl· $4,282/mo |
| Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. | from $399 | $4,282 | Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). | 180+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Playroll· $4,282/mo |
| Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. | from $499 $459 billed annually | $4,382 | Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. | 150+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Multiplier· $4,382/mo |
| Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. | from $499 | $4,382 | Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). | 160+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Papaya Global· $4,382/mo |
| Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. | $579 | $4,462 | No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). | 170+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Borderless AI· $4,462/mo |
| Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. | from $599 | $4,482 | Not stated on the pricing page | 160+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $4,482/mo |
| Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. | from $599 | $4,482 | Not stated on the pricing page | 130+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Deel· $4,482/mo |
| G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. | from $599 | $4,482 | Not stated on the pricing page | 180+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from G-P· $4,482/mo |
| Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. | $699 | $4,582 | Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). | 120+ | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Oyster· $4,582/mo |
| Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. | $699 | $4,582 | No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). | 90+ | 2 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Remote· $4,582/mo |
| Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. | Quote only | — | Not stated on the pricing page | — | 24 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Rippling |
| Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. | Quote only | — | Not stated | 187+ | 21 Sept 2026 | Get a quote from Safeguard Global |
Same salary and statutory charges in every row; only the fee segment changes.
What Croatia adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.
Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: The hire is not a first-time employee under article 20(2) of the Contributions Act = 1.
| Line | Employer rate | Base & ceiling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compulsory health insurance contribution (doprinos za obvezno zdravstveno osiguranje)Every employer, on the full gross pay of an employee, as a contribution 'on' the base (na osnovicu) | 16.50% | Gross salary This single line is the whole statutory employer side of a Croatian payslip. Article 14(1) point 1 of the Contributions Act sets the health insurance contribution at 16.5%, and article 20(1) lists it as the one contribution calculated on top of the base, while the pension contributions (20%, or 15% plus 5% for a member of the second pillar) are calculated out of it and paid by the employee. The Tax Administration's contributions page states the same split: 'doprinos na osnovicu: doprinos za zdravstveno osiguranje po stopi od 16,5%'. No ceiling is applied, and that is not a simplification: article 7 point 18 and article 204 limit the maximum monthly base to the pension contributions only. For 2026 that base is EUR 11,958 a month (six times the average gross wage of EUR 1,993, Narodne novine 150/2025), and it caps what the employee pays, not the employer's health line. For an insured person in an employment relationship, article 20(1) lists no other contribution on the base: no separate employer pension, unemployment or payroll tax line is added. | Zakon o doprinosima (Contributions Act), consolidated text NN 84/08 to 152/24, in force from 1 January 2025, articles 14(1) and 20(1); cross-checked on the Tax Administration (Porezna uprava) contributions page updated 8 January 20252026-09-24 |
| Minimum monthly contribution base - employer pays on at least EUR 757.34 not in total | — | Carried at zero because it never binds at a full-time professional salary. Article 21(2) of the Contributions Act says the monthly base for full-time work cannot be lower than the minimum monthly base, and the 2026 order published in Narodne novine 150/2025 sets it at EUR 757.34 (0.38 times the average wage of EUR 1,993). It matters only on a low or unusual full-time wage, where the 16.5% is charged on the floor rather than on actual pay. | Naredba o iznosima osnovica za obracun doprinosa za obvezna osiguranja za 2026. godinu, Narodne novine 150/2025, article 32026-09-24 |
| Statutory severance (otpremnina) after two years - not an annual cost not in total | — | Carried at zero because it is a liability on dismissal, not a payroll charge. Article 126 of the Labour Act gives an employee dismissed after two years of continuous work a severance of not less than one third of the average monthly pay of the last three months for each completed year of service, and caps the statutory amount at six average monthly salaries unless a law, collective agreement, work rules or the contract set otherwise. It is not owed on dismissal for the employee's conduct. Under an employer of record the provider pays it and invoices it back, so read the termination clause of the service agreement before signing. | Zakon o radu (Labour Act), consolidated text NN 93/14 to 64/23, in force from 14 June 2023, article 1262026-09-24 |
| Thirteenth month or Christmas bonus - not required by Croatian law not in total | — | Carried at zero because the Labour Act creates no thirteenth salary and no holiday bonus. Christmas bonuses (bozicnica), holiday pay (regres) and meal or commuting allowances are common in Croatian offers and often come from collective agreements or work rules; they are contractual, so price them as market cost in a competitive offer, not as a legal charge. | Zakon o radu (Labour Act), consolidated text NN 93/14 to 64/23, in force from 14 June 20232026-09-24 |
| Employer on-cost at $40,000 | +16.5% | $6,600 a year, $550 a month |
EOR or your own entity
Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.
In Croatia the statutory ledger is one line, so the entity decision turns on the fee and the paperwork, not on charges. At 16.5% the employer contribution on a US$40,000 salary is about US$550 a month, and a Croatian d.o.o. of your own would file exactly the same health contribution on the same base. What the entity route saves is the monthly provider fee; what it costs is registration, a local accountant, monthly reporting to the Tax Administration and an employer who can defend a dismissal under the Labour Act, against a hire a provider says can start in about three days. Two Croatian points belong in the comparison. The contribution has no ceiling, so a senior salary costs the same 16.5% all the way up. And a first open-ended hire can be relieved of the health contribution for up to a year under article 20(2) of the Contributions Act, which matters more to a graduate programme than to a single senior engineer.
Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.
| Headcount | RemoFirst fees / yr | Borderless AI fees / yr | Statutory charges / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,388 | $6,948 | $6,600 |
| 3 | $7,164 | $20,844 | $19,800 |
| 5 | $11,940 | $34,740 | $33,000 |
| 10 | $23,880 | $69,480 | $66,000 |
| 20 | $47,760 | $138,960 | $132,000 |
Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.
Employment terms that move the cost
- Paid leave
- 20 days
- Public holidays
- 14
- 13th month
- Not mandatory
- Probation
- up to 6 months
- Notice
- Under article 122(1) of the Labour Act the minimum notice on an ordinary dismissal grows with service: two weeks under one year, one month after one year, one month and two weeks after two years, two months after five years, two months and two weeks after ten years, and three months after twenty years, with two weeks or a month more for an employee of 50 or 55 with twenty years of service. Notice is halved for a dismissal caused by the employee's conduct. An employee who resigns for a particularly important reason cannot be held to more than one month.
- Reviewed
- 2026-09-24
Get a quote for Croatia.
The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $40,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Croatia: those are the lines that move.
Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details
Questions people ask before booking a demo
- How much does an employer of record cost in Croatia?
- The statutory employer charge is one line: a health insurance contribution of 16.5% of gross pay. On a US$40,000 salary that is about US$550 a month on top of about US$3,333 of salary, so about US$3,883 before any provider fee. Published EOR fees run from about US$199 to US$699 per employee per month, which puts the all-in monthly cost near US$4,082 to US$4,582 for this hire.
- Why does Deel show 17.10% for Croatia when the law says 16.5%?
- Because Deel adds its own charge. Its Croatia page lists health insurance at 16.5% and an Employer Liability Cost of 0.60%, which it describes as an administrative fee for worker compensation and liability coverage. That second line is a provider charge, not Croatian law, so this page keeps the statutory 16.5% in the ledger and treats anything above it as part of the provider's price.
- Does the Croatian contribution ceiling lower the cost of a senior hire?
- No. The 2026 ceiling of EUR 11,958 a month, six times the average wage, applies under article 204 of the Contributions Act to the pension contributions only, which the employee pays out of gross salary. The employer's 16.5% health contribution has no ceiling, so it stays at 16.5% of pay however high the salary goes.
- Can the employer contribution be zero in Croatia?
- For some hires, for up to a year. Article 20(2) of the Contributions Act removes the employer's health contribution for an insured person employed for the first time, for monthly bases covering up to one year, and the Act defines first employment on an employment contract as a first open-ended contract. An experienced engineer does not qualify, which is why this page charges the full 16.5%; for a graduate on a first open-ended contract, ask the provider whether it applies the relief.
- What leave, probation and notice apply in Croatia?
- Article 77 of the Labour Act gives at least four weeks of paid annual leave, counted in working days, so twenty days on a five-day week; public holidays falling in the leave do not count against it. The holidays act names fourteen public holidays and non-working days, including Easter Sunday. Probation may not exceed six months under article 53. Employer notice starts at two weeks in the first year and rises to three months after twenty years, and severance of at least one third of a monthly salary per year of service is owed on dismissal after two years.