Country filePTEURVerified 2026-09-24
PT EUR · Europe/Lisbon (UTC+0)

Employer of Record in Portugal: what one employee really costs

Portugal, Europe. One software engineer at $45,000 gross per year, priced through 12 providers with a published fee, on the ECB reference rates of 18 Sept 2026. Change the salary and headcount below.

Employer on-cost
+23.8%
statutory charges on top of gross
All-in per month
$4,840 – $5,340
salary + charges + published fee, cheapest to dearest listed provider
Onboarding through an EOR
2 days
per Deel - Hire Employees in Portugal ('your next hire could start in as little as 2 days with Deel')

Hiring one software engineer in Portugal at $45,000 gross a year costs about $891 a month in statutory employer charges (+23.8%), plus an EOR fee of $199 to $699 per month depending on the provider: $4,840 to $5,340 all-in, before deposits, FX margins and add-ons. Prices checked 2–24 Sept 2026.

Disclosure Some provider links on this page are affiliate links: if you become a customer after clicking, the provider may pay us a referral fee. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes the numbers on this page, which come from official sources and are dated. How we are paid

Cost engine · preset to Portugal

Price your own hire, line by line.

employee inatgross / year

≈ EUR 39,267 gross / year · EUR at ECB reference rate, 18 Sept 2026

Per employeeRatePer month
Gross salary$3,750
Social security contribution (Taxa Social Unica, employer share)23.75%$891
Employer on-cost+23.8%$891
Cost of employment, before EOR fee$4,641
Providers to compare (up to 3)At least one provider stays selected

RemoFirstLowest total

$4,840/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $199
Per year
$58,076
Fee share
4.1%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a RemoFirst quote
Papaya Global

$5,140/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $499
Per year
$61,676
Fee share
9.7%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Papaya quote
Deel

$5,240/ month · 1 employee

Fee / mo
from $599
Per year
$62,876
Fee share
11.4%

Checked 2 Sept 2026

Get a Deel quote
Email this scenario

Employer charges from official sources; provider fees are list prices on the dates shown; deposits, FX margins and add-ons are not included. Not legal or tax advice. Methodology

14 providers, one scenario, all-in totals.

All-in = gross salary + statutory employer charges in Portugal + each provider's published EOR fee, for 1 employee at $45,000 a year. 'From' prices vary by country; quote-only providers are listed without a total.
Provider EOR fee / employee / mo All-in / mo, 1 hire Deposit Countries Checked Quote
RemoFirst EOR in 185+ countries from $199 per employee per month, no annual contract. from $199 $4,840 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from RemoFirst· $4,840/mo
Rivermate EOR in 180+ countries from $319 to $639 per employee per month. from $319 $4,960 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rivermate· $4,960/mo
Pebl Velocity Global, renamed Pebl in 2026. Prints $399 per employee per month. from $399 $5,040 Not stated on the pricing page 185+ 22 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Pebl· $5,040/mo
Playroll EOR in 180+ countries from $399 per employee per month; deposit of one month's salary. from $399 $5,040 Fully refundable security deposit equivalent to one month's salary when onboarding an employee (pricing page). 180+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Playroll· $5,040/mo
Multiplier EOR from $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) per employee, plus mandated add-ons. from $499 $459 billed annually $5,140 Refundable security deposit required per employee by the EOR terms (effective 1 June 2026), sized by Multiplier; not on the pricing page. 150+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Multiplier· $5,140/mo
Papaya Global EOR starting from $499 per employee per month, quote-based, 160+ countries. from $499 $5,140 Not stated for EOR on the pricing page (the contractor block states 'No deposit required'). 160+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Papaya Global· $5,140/mo
Borderless AI EOR at $579 per employee per month, no deposit or pre-funding, 170+ countries. $579 $5,220 No deposit: 'No upfront deposits or pre-funding required' (pricing page). 170+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Borderless AI· $5,220/mo
Atlas HXM EOR from $599 through its own entities, plus an Agent of Record at $199. from $599 $5,240 Not stated on the pricing page 160+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Atlas HXM· $5,240/mo
Deel EOR in 130+ countries, starting at $599 per employee per month. from $599 $5,240 Not stated on the pricing page 130+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Deel· $5,240/mo
G-P EOR in 180+ countries from $599, with no minimum contract length. from $599 $5,240 Not stated on the pricing page 180+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from G-P· $5,240/mo
Oyster EOR in 120+ countries at USD 699 per employee per month; refundable deposit. $699 $5,340 Refundable deposit required for EOR team members 'to initiate the engagement and to ensure on-time payments' (pricing FAQ). 120+ 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Oyster· $5,340/mo
Remote EOR in 90+ countries at $699 per employee per month, no deposit. $699 $5,340 No deposit: 'We collect reserve payments in rare, high risk circumstances' (pricing FAQ). 90+ 2 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Remote· $5,340/mo
Rippling EOR bundled with the Rippling platform; custom quote only. Quote only — Not stated on the pricing page — 24 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Rippling
Safeguard Global EOR sold alongside entity setup and payroll; no price published. Quote only — Not stated 187+ 21 Sept 2026 Get a quote from Safeguard Global

What Portugal adds on top of the salary, and where each rate comes from.

Rates apply to the base named in each line; capped lines stop growing above the ceiling. Engine assumptions: The annual gross entered is the employee's whole year of pay, paid in fourteen instalments: twelve months plus the holiday and Christmas subsidies = 1.

LineEmployer rateBase & ceilingSource
Social security contribution (Taxa Social Unica, employer share)Every employee on a Portuguese contract, on the whole remuneration, with no ceiling 23.75% Gross salary This is the whole employer side of a Portuguese payslip, and there is no second line. The social security institute's own practical guide states it in one sentence: 'Na maioria dos casos, a taxa e de 34,75%: 23,75% sao pagas pela entidade empregadora; 11% sao pagos pelo/a trabalhador/a', and its rate table repeats 23,75% / 11% / 34,75% for trabalhadores por conta de outrem. The base is the whole remuneration and it explicitly includes the two extra months: the declaration guide files the Christmas and holiday subsidies under article 46(2)(h) of the contributions code as remuneration subject to contributions. Because the annual gross entered here already contains those two months (see the assumption above), this one rate already carries the contributions on them, and a separate charge line would double count. Uncapped: neither the rate table nor the declaration guide sets a maximum contribution base for an employee, so the rate does not fade as salary rises. Reduced rates exist, but for non-profit employers and specific hiring incentives, not for a commercial employer of record. Instituto da Seguranca Social2026-09-20
Holiday and Christmas subsidies (13th and 14th month) not in total — Statutory, not customary, and still not an addition to the figure above. The Labour Code is explicit on both: art. 263(1), 'O trabalhador tem direito a subsidio de Natal de valor igual a um mes de retribuicao, que deve ser pago ate 15 de Dezembro de cada ano', and art. 264(2), which grants a holiday subsidy on top of the pay the employee receives while on leave. Together they are the thirteenth and fourteenth months. They are carried at zero here because the annual gross entered above is the whole year of pay including them, which is how Portuguese salaries are quoted and how Deel, Playroll and Rippling all describe the arrangement. They do attract social security, and the 23.75% line above is already charged on them. What to watch in a quote: both are proportional in the year of joining and the year of leaving, so a hire starting in July costs roughly half of each in that first calendar year, and a provider that pays them in twelve monthly instalments rather than in June and December changes your cash timing, not the total. Codigo do Trabalho (Lei 7/2009), arts. 263 and 2642026-09-20
Labour compensation funds (FCT and FGCT) not in total — Nothing is owed, and this is a figure provider pages still get wrong: Oyster prints 'roughly 0.925% of gross to the Fundo de Compensacao do Trabalho (FCT)' and Rippling prints a 'Wage Guarantee Fund 1% of gross income'. Decreto-Lei 115/2023 of 15 December ended it. The official fund portal describes the change in its own FAQ: the FCT becomes a closed fund, 'cessando definitivamente ... a obrigacao de realizar entregas para o Fundo', with employers' existing FCT debts extinguished; and for the guarantee fund, 'Ficam suspensas as obrigacoes de admissao de novos trabalhadores e de pagamento de entregas para o FGCT'. The decree took effect on 1 January 2024, so no Portuguese employer has paid into either fund for the salary years this page prices. The obligations behind them did not disappear: half of the statutory termination compensation the funds used to reimburse is now simply an employer cost when it falls due. The two halves differ in kind. The FCT end is definitive (art. 4(a): 'Sao extintas as obrigacoes de adesao e de pagamento de entregas ao FCT'). The FGCT is only suspended, 'ate ao final da vigencia do Acordo de Medio Prazo de Melhoria dos Rendimentos, dos Salarios e da Competitividade' (art. 4(b)), an agreement signed in October 2022 whose targets run from 2023 to 2026. The consolidated decree still carries that wording unamended, and the fund portal's FAQ (item 27) still states the suspension, so a contract signed in 2026 owes nothing to the FGCT. What changes if the suspension ends is set in the same law: 0.075% of base pay and seniority allowances (Lei 70/2013, art. 12(2)). Whether it ends after 2026 is not settled in any text read, so this line is re-read at each monthly review. Decreto-Lei 115/2023 of 15 December, art. 4(a)-(b) and art. 11 (in force 1 January 2024), consolidated text published by the Procuradoria-Geral Distrital de Lisboa ('O diploma ainda nao sofreu alteracoes'); consistent with the Fundos de Compensacao FAQ, items 2 and 272026-09-24
Work accident insurance (seguro de acidentes de trabalho) not in total — secondary source: compulsory for every Portuguese employer and genuinely large, but there is no public rate to quote, so it is named here and left out of the total. The work accidents law, Lei 98/2009, art. 79(1), requires the employer to transfer liability 'para entidades legalmente autorizadas a realizar este seguro' - a private insurer - and art. 81(2) says the standard policy 'obedece ao principio da graduacao dos premios de seguro em funcao do grau de risco do acidente', by the nature of the activity and the prevention in place. So the premium is that insurer's quote, graded by activity and risk; the law sets no percentage and no authority publishes one. The percentages in circulation are provider figures. Deel and Rippling both print a number, and they disagree by almost half: Deel's Portugal page charges 3.15% of salary for it, Rippling's guide states 1.75% of gross income, and Boundless says only that premiums are 'typically a small percentage of gross salary'. On a US$45,000 hire the difference between those two is about US$630 a year, which is why it is a question for the quote rather than a number to publish. Occupational health and safety services are a second charge of the same kind: mandatory, and billed by the provider rather than rated by law. Deel lists EUR 150 a year for it. Deel's headline 27.50% for Portugal is this site's 23.75% plus its own 3.15% accident policy and a 0.60% liability administration fee, all three of which are priced by Deel, not by the state. Lei 98/2009 of 4 September (work accidents regime, version after DL 87/2024), arts. 79(1) and 81(2)2026-09-24
Meal allowance (subsidio de refeicao) not in total — Not an entitlement the Labour Code creates, and in practice not optional either. It exists where a collective agreement or the employment contract creates it, and in the Portuguese market that is almost everywhere, which is why providers treat it as mandatory: Deel's Portugal page lists a 'Mandatory meal allowance - EUR 6.15 per working day'. That figure is the public-sector rate, which the Directorate-General for Public Administration and Employment lists as 'Subsidio de Refeicao EUR 6,15 (a partir de 1-01-2026)', set by Portaria 51-B/2026/1 of 30 January with effect from 1 January 2026. The same figure is the private-sector tax threshold: the IRS Code, art. 2(3)(b)(2), taxes the allowance only 'na parte em que exceder o limite legal estabelecido ou em que o exceda em 70% sempre que o respetivo subsidio seja atribuido atraves de vales de refeicao'. So in 2026 it is tax-free up to EUR 6.15 a day in cash and about EUR 10.46 a day on a meal card, which is why Portuguese employers use cards. Carried at zero because it is a daily amount attached to days actually worked, not a share of one salary; at EUR 6.15 over about 220 working days it is roughly EUR 1,350 a year, near 3% of the example salary on this page. Assume it is in your invoice and ask for the daily rate and the payment method. Direcao-Geral da Administracao e do Emprego Publico2026-09-24
Telework expense compensation not in total — The cost that exists precisely because an employer of record hire is a remote one. Article 168(2) of the Labour Code makes the employer liable for all the additional expenses the teleworker demonstrably bears from using the equipment and systems the work needs, energy and connection costs included, and art. 168(3) requires the contract or the collective agreement to fix the amount when the telework agreement is signed. There is no statutory amount to pay; Deel sets EUR 50 a month on its Portugal page, about EUR 600 a year. Carried at zero because the amount is contractual rather than rated, and because it is paid to the employee rather than to the state. What the state does fix is how much of it escapes tax and social security: Portaria 292-A/2023, art. 2(1), sets the exempt limit at EUR 0.10 a day for home electricity, EUR 0.40 for internet and EUR 0.50 for a personal computer, EUR 1.00 a day in all, raised by 50% when the amount comes from a negotiated collective agreement (art. 2(2)), and counted only on full telework days under a written agreement (art. 4). At about 21 full telework days a month that is roughly EUR 21 exempt, so on a EUR 50 flat amount the rest is taxed as pay. Ask your provider what it fixes, because the article makes silence expensive: without an agreed fixed amount, the reference becomes the employee's actual documented extra spending. Portaria 292-A/2023 of 29 September (Diario da Republica, 1st series, no. 190), arts. 2 and 42026-09-24
Employer on-cost at $45,000+23.8%$10,688 a year, $891 a month

EOR or your own entity

Fees scale with headcount. An entity does not.

Portugal is one of the easier entities to run in Western Europe and still a poor first move. The employer side of payroll is a single uncapped rate, there is no fund to join since 2024 and no payroll tax on top, so the arithmetic an entity would face is the same 23.75% a provider faces - none of the Italian collective-agreement tangle or the Belgian collar split. What the entity adds is the apparatus: a Portuguese company, registration with Seguranca Social and the Portal das Financas, a monthly Declaracao de Remuneracoes, a work accident policy of your own, contracted occupational health and safety services, and a local accountant to sign the filings. Against that sits a hire that starts in about two days through a provider. Two Portuguese details move the crossover later than usual. The probation period is long - 90 days generally, 180 for technically complex or senior-qualified roles, 240 for directors - and during it either side can end the contract with no notice and no compensation, so the risk an entity is meant to absorb is small in the first months anyway. And the two subsidies plus the meal allowance make Portuguese payroll administration fiddly in a way that is cheap to outsource and tedious to learn. One or two engineers in Lisbon or Porto belong with a provider; a team of five or more permanent staff, or any plan to trade locally, justifies the Lda.

Yearly fees against statutory charges, 1 to 20 hires in Portugal
0$56,109$112,219$168,328$224,4381351020 0$56k$112k$168k$224k1351020

Fees grow with every hire; the charges line is owed under an entity too.

HeadcountRemoFirst fees / yrBorderless AI fees / yrStatutory charges / yr
1 $2,388$6,948 $10,688
3 $7,164$20,844 $32,063
5 $11,940$34,740 $53,438
10 $23,880$69,480 $106,875
20 $47,760$138,960 $213,750

Statutory charges are owed either way; the provider fee is the only line an entity removes, against the cost of incorporating and running local payroll.

Employment terms that move the cost

Paid leave
22 days
Public holidays
13
13th month
Mandatory
Probation
up to 8 months
Notice
Resignation takes 30 days' notice up to two years of service and 60 days after that (Labour Code art. 400). On the employer's side a dismissal for economic reasons is notified 15 days under one year of service, 30 days from one to five years, 60 days from five to ten and 75 days beyond ten (art. 363), and carries compensation of 14 days of base pay per complete year (art. 366). Probation is the practical exit: during it either side ends the contract without notice or compensation.
Reviewed
2026-09-24

Get a quote for Portugal.

The lowest published total here, next to the two providers searched for most often (the rule). Totals for 1 hire at $45,000. Ask each provider about deposits, FX margins and mandatory add-ons for Portugal: those are the lines that move.

Get a RemoFirst quote· $4,840/mo Get a Papaya quote· $5,140/mo Get a Deel quote· $5,240/mo

Disclosure Some provider links are affiliate links; they never change the numbers on this page. Details

Questions people ask before booking a demo

How much does an employer of record cost in Portugal?
The statutory employer charge is one line: social security at 23.75% of gross pay, with no ceiling. On a US$45,000 salary that is about US$890 a month on top of salary. Published EOR fees then run from about $199 to $699 per employee per month, so the all-in cost lands near $4,840 to $5,340 a month depending on the provider. Two real costs sit outside that: the work accident policy, which is an insurer's quote rather than a public rate, and the meal allowance, which almost every Portuguese contract carries.
Do the 13th and 14th month salaries add to the employer cost?
Not to the figure on this page, because the annual salary you enter already contains them. Portuguese pay is quoted monthly and the year has fourteen of those months: the Labour Code gives a Christmas subsidy equal to one month's pay, due by 15 December, and a holiday subsidy on top of holiday pay. Deel states the convention on its own Portugal page - the 13th and 14th month salaries 'are included in the total annual salary'. They do attract social security, and the 23.75% above is already charged on them, so counting them again would count the same euros twice. Where they do bite is cash timing and the first year: both are proportional to time served, so a hire starting in July earns roughly half of each that year.
Do Portuguese employers still pay into the Fundo de Compensacao do Trabalho?
No, and several provider pages still say otherwise. Decreto-Lei 115/2023 of 15 December closed the FCT to new contributions and suspended payments into the guarantee fund FGCT, with effect from 1 January 2024; the official fund portal states that the obligation to make payments into the FCT ceased definitively and that employers' outstanding FCT debts were extinguished. So the 0.925% and 1% figures still printed by competitors are not owed for any salary year this page prices. The two funds differ in one respect: the FCT is closed for good, while the FGCT is only suspended until the end of the October 2022 medium-term income agreement, whose targets run to 2026. The decree still reads that way, so a contract signed in 2026 owes nothing; if the suspension ends, the charge that returns is 0.075% of base pay and seniority allowances. The underlying exposure did not vanish: half of the statutory termination compensation those funds used to reimburse is now simply an employer cost when a dismissal happens.
What is not included in the 23.75%?
Three things, all real and none of them a public rate. The work accident policy every employer must buy from an authorised insurer: Deel charges 3.15% of salary for it and Rippling quotes 1.75%, a gap of about US$630 a year on this page's example. The meal allowance, EUR 6.15 a working day at the 2026 public-sector rate, which is also the tax-free limit in cash, roughly EUR 1,350 a year. And the telework compensation the Labour Code requires for a remote hire, which Deel sets at EUR 50 a month; only about EUR 1 a day of it is tax-free under Portaria 292-A/2023. Occupational health and safety services are billed separately again - Deel lists EUR 150 a year. Ask any provider to quote these four as line items rather than inside a blended percentage.
What leave, notice and probation apply in Portugal?
Twenty-two working days of paid annual leave is the statutory minimum, plus thirteen mandatory public holidays, one of which is Easter Sunday. Probation runs to 90 days for most employees, 180 days for technically complex, high-responsibility or specially qualified roles and for first-job seekers, and 240 days for directors and senior management; during it either side can end the contract without notice or compensation. After probation, an employee resigns on 30 days' notice up to two years of service and 60 days after that, while an employer dismissing for economic reasons gives 15 to 75 days by seniority and pays 14 days of base salary per complete year of service.